lifeproof vinyl plank flooring review

LifeProof Vinyl Plank Flooring Review

You want the most stunning floors possible for your home. The kind of flooring that will make your friends and family think you spent a small fortune on remodeling your home.

Only, you didn’t (spend a small fortune that is). So, how do you get that high-end look without the hefty price tag that comes along with them?

The latest trend that many homeowners are going with is luxury vinyl plank (LVP) flooring. But there are so many options in LVP – how do you choose?

LifeProof, formally known as Allure, is an excellent choice in LVP. It has many features that will appeal to both your eyes and your wallet.

Ready to learn more about this great product?

Features

LifeProof Vinyl Plank flooring offers beautiful selections in several different widths of planks. Plus, they are deeply embossed to resemble natural wood grains like oak, hickory, and pine.

It features both traditional wood looks as well as more trendy and rustic looks.

They also have a 6 mil wear layer that is resistant to scratches, marks and skids. So, LifeProof LVP may be an option for homes with children or pets. Though, for those with an active home, looking for a 12 mil wear layer or higher would be my personal recommendation.

These planks also come with an attached underlayment, which means they are warm and comfortable to walk on. (And they are very quiet, unlike hard tiles).

Since LifeProof LVP is antimicrobial, it is also a smart choice for anyone who suffers from allergies. This LVP is specially treated to prevent the growth of odor and stain that can cause mold or mildew to grow on the surface or in the underlayment.

Plus, it is formaldehyde-free and phthalate-free. So, it is a safe product that is free of many of the harmful contaminants that some products contain.

Another great feature of these floors is that they have a rigid PVC core and are 100% waterproof.

If you are looking for flooring in a wet room, or an area prone to flooding, then LifeProof vinyl plank floors will give you the look of natural wood yet hold up much better under the elements.

But, these LVP planks can look great anywhere throughout your home. These planks come in gorgeous shades of gray like Rustic Wood or Lighthouse Oak, and beautiful brown hues like Heirloom Pine and Shadow Hickory.

Back to Top

Installation

One of the many benefits of LVP is that it is very easy to install. In fact, if you like DIY projects, this is one you can definitely do yourself.

You will just need a few simple tools like a tapping block and a soft-faced hammer.

LifeProof’s LVP is designed with floating or interlocking planks that you can install directly over your subfloor.

So, if you are replacing your tile, or other floors, you may not even have to remove them. Simply lay your floating LVP over the existing floor.

However, in some cases, you may need cushioning or a vapor barrier system. When in doubt, you can always ask an expert.

Note: Your existing subfloor should be solidly attached. LVP cannot be installed over another floating floor (in other words, do not attempt to install your LifeProof Vinyl Planks over laminate).

And once you have your planks installed, there is no acclimation time required. You can move all your furniture back in the room and begin enjoying them immediately.

Back to Top

Maintenance

LifeProof Luxury Vinyl is a high-quality vinyl plank flooring that is easy to maintain. It includes many features designed to help it last a long time even in high traffic areas.

It has a solid virgin vinyl layer and ceramic bead enhanced wear layer that makes it an extremely durable product that is resistant to scratches.

With ISOCORE technology, these luxury vinyl planks are difficult to damage. But if you do, simply replace the damaged plank with a new one.

LifeProof’s drop-and-lock end joints make it not only easy to install, but you can also easily switch out a plank if there is some major damage to it.

For routine cleaning, simply sweep the floors, use a dust mop or even a vacuum with a hard floor attachment.

Since it is 100% waterproof, you can also mop your LifeProof floors when you need a deeper cleaning. Just make sure to use a cleaning product approved for LVP on your floors when using a mop.

Back to Top

How to Purchase LifeProof Vinyl Plank Flooring

LifeProof luxury vinyl plank flooring, formally called Allure, is sold exclusively at Home Depot.

Priced per square foot, this flooring is generally sold by the case. The planks generally cost a little less than $3 per square foot and a case covers around 20 square feet.

You can order LifeProof flooring, as well as other popular flooring brands like the Floorte line made by Shaw, online or at your local Home Depot store. However, not all styles are available to ship to your home.

There is also an option to ship your order to your nearest Home Depot location for store pickup. There is no shipping fee for this service.

If you can’t decide which one to choose, you can request free samples to take home. You can also return the flooring for up to 90 days after purchase.

LifeProof Vinyl Plank Flooring comes with a lifetime residential warranty from the manufacturer.

Back to Top

The Verdict

LifeProof Vinyl Plank Flooring is a great option for anyone who loves the look of hardwood flooring but doesn’t want the headaches that come along with it.

It comes in a variety of beautiful wood grain looks. And with today’s technology, the resemblance to wood is so close that your guests may not even realize it’s not real wood.

This LVP is also good for your health. It protects against harmful allergens and is not overladen with harmful chemicals like some other vinyl flooring.

LifeProof is also easy to install and easy to maintain. And at a cost of less than $3 a square foot in most areas, it is also a budget-friendly product.

But you can’t just buy it just anywhere. LifeProof vinyl plank flooring is only available through Home Depot.

What is your favorite LifeProof vinyl plank flooring style?

Back to Top

Jennifer Lester

About Jennifer Lester

Jennifer Lester is a freelance writer, blogger, and home improvement finatic. She loves to write about things that will transform your house into your dream home. Jennifer is a graduate of Texas A&M University. LinkedIn.

363 thoughts on “LifeProof Vinyl Plank Flooring Review”

  1. Avatar

    We dropped around $1800 on our LVP, 2 years ago. What a huge waste of money! We laid it over the original hardwood, flooring (1950 home). It looked good for about 6 months. We started noticing white spots. It was actually chipping, from the flooring, itself. The flooring has shifted and buckled in areas. It is not large dog, friendly. If they run through and slide, you will see the marks. We will be pulling this junk out, within the next month and going to a stone, flooring. This flooring may work for a sedentary home with chihuahua’s but not for active adults with children and retrievers.

  2. Avatar

    This flooring is poor and overstates it’s value. I’m not sure the author has installed the flooring. I was oversold and regret my $1000 purchase. Even the homedepot guy said they have lots of complaints. HD must make a decent margin on this product. It’s not what they claim.

    Becareful. This floor will lift.

  3. Avatar

    My partner is looking at an apartment with LifeProof Vinyl Plank Flooring, but she has serious environmental sensitivities and is concerned about it containing PVC, which is toxic and outgasses; and that it would have biocides and fungicides that are likely toxic. Could Jennifer, or someone with cogent knowledge, address these concerns? Thanks!

  4. Avatar

    Installing Lifeproof rigid core vinyl plank flooring as we speak. The floor looks beautiful but installing it has not been easy and it doesn’t lay flat on concrete subfloors like Home Depot and the flooring company claim. Some seams look great while others are completely buckled. We are laying it in a basement that will be used as a home gym so I’m gonna live with it but probably won’t buy Lifeproof again. We were considering laying it in some our downstairs bedrooms but will not be now. Be careful with this flooring unless you are certain your subfloor is incredibly even.

  5. Avatar

    I invested on this floor ,looks good but does not install easy. The problem is that almost every corner where the floor connects seems to not be completely even. there is a hairline lift on several corners and is just impossible to get completely flush. Another thing is that you have to be extra extra gentle when connecting the floors or they will break at the inner connection..I have installed several floors and would not recommend this floor to anyone,,,very frustrating and you lose a lot of flooring.

    1. Avatar

      Not really sure what everyone is talking about. We acclimated our flooring for two weeks in the house and aside of about 5-ish boards that may have kind of not lined up well but we literally just finished the family room and the living room is almost complete. Smooth install, no problems getting them to set right. No buckles, no seams showing, no gaps. It is just beautiful. We have installed other hardwood floorings and these are the most quiet we have had. And the connection from board to board were easy to get in. You have to be meticulous but if you take your time and line up the snap grids, it works just fine. (Did our whole house 50 boxes.)

      1. Avatar

        Ok, I’m a little freaked out here as I read all of the negative comments. Just got done with demo (tile and carpet) about to correct cracks, holes from truss supports and then put down Level Quick RS Where there was tile.

        Plan to use either Red guard or Quietwalk for the extra moisture protection, still on the fence a little. Currently have a local HD referring to corporate about Quietwalk as it is recommended when purchasing the LifeProof LVP from the HD Online store in the first place but IAW the manufacturer any additional soundproofing will void the warranty.

        I am interested in Quietwalk because of its unique wicking properties that allow the concrete slab to breathe. This of course does concern me a little due to the warranty and points me in the direction of just laying down Red Guard.

        Reading all of the above comments are making the rest of what I mentioned seem like nothing as we have purchased 70 boxes, which we saved for three years to accumulate. It is all still in my garage on the same pallets they were delivered just two weeks ago.

        We have a teenager, a preteen and a six year old. Not to mention a pit bull, pit bull-lab mix, a small boonie dog as well as two birds and a cat all in about 2,500 sq ft of living space.

        I am truly hoping we did not make a mistake in this purchase but must know the truth of this product as I will simply return all of it asking for a full refund or credit applied for something else.

        Please someone, anyone if you do not mind; provide me with some serious guidance on this as I am now not nearly as excited nor confident in LifeProof flooring, which by the way I convinced my wife to choose over tile. Trust me I had my reasons. I do not want to own the economic catastrophe beholden to this product as a mistake. I’ll never get up from under that one.

        1. Avatar

          I’m a contractor for over 20 years. I have installed this product and other much higher end LVP flooring(Armstrong $8 SF, not impressed) and this product has been my favorite to install. I liked it so much that I installed it on my own home. It is a great product, wears well, holds up to my 8 year old and three cats, easy to clean, and looks good. When installing I lock the flooring in, then using a tap block, I tap the plank towards the installed plank and it fully seats the flooring. On the butt seam you will have slight lippage. A few taps with a hammer and block and the seam is perfectly flat. This flooring locks tight. If you don’t take the time and consideration to making sure the flooring is seated properly then the floor can easily be compromised.

  6. Avatar

    I installed Lifeproof in our entrance area about 4 years ago. I specifically went with it due to the waterproof characteristics. I absolutely love it. I am reading all of these reviews about scratching and while the area I did has many throw rugs and infrequently moved chairs, I have never had a scratch or mar.
    I must admit after reading these reviews I’m getting nervous as it will be installed in my active kitchen. However, until someone can show me a better product, I’m going with Lifeproof.

      1. Avatar

        Just an observation: I have to wonder if those of you with scratching and denting are being sold Lifeproof, but being delivered an inferior product. We have dropped things on it, and my two dogs have claws. Not a scratch. I found one tiny hairline scratch in the living room and one in the master bedroom. I’m sure the guy who installed it did that. He was a total of. I slide barstools and a cabinet that weighs around 125 pounds on it, still no scratches.

        1. Avatar

          May 2020 will be 2 years since installing Lifeproof flooring. Stone driveway,3 dogs (2 large). I’ve actually found quite a few scratches, however not from the animals. More from furniture, I do have pads on all of our furniture. I’m not sure how easy it will be to replace a plank, but will definitely try.. Other than the few scratches, I love it!!

        2. Avatar

          I have had mine 3 years now, it does not scratch but is getting wear spots! turning white wear my I get on and off my bar stool at kitchen counter and wear my dogs lay in same spot I am very disappointed with this floor

    1. Avatar

      We just installed 1,000 sq ft of the lifeproof flooring in our home in July 2019. We have 4 dogs, throw rugs, pads under furniture, we sweep and mop a dozen times a day. My floors are soooo scratched from my dogs nails it’s unreal. We had better luck with cheap laminate wood floors from Lumber Liquidators before this. They didn’t scratch and look like garbage after 6 months. We researched these floors for about 2 years before we pulled the trigger and dropped $3,000 on them. Biggest waste of money.

    2. Avatar

      We have had LifeProof luxury vinyl in our home on our main level and bedroom for three years. We LOVE it. We have three cats and a dog and no area rugs and this flooring looks as good as the day it was installed. Our floor is Harrison Pine and truly looks amazing. I was so surprised to see the negative reviews. Our experience has been five star.

    3. Avatar

      Hello. I’ve had Lifeproof LVT in my kitchen, living room, hall, and master bedroom for 2 1/2 years. Not be single problem. It’s just my hibandband I, but we also have two dogs and a cat. And it’s amazingly clean. We dribble all the time, scatter flour–the usual household stuff. I just woke up spills soon after the mishap. We broom sweep it and vacuum it when it needs it. I’ve only actually washed it once!

    4. Avatar
      Frances V Koehler

      I had allure vinyl planks installed over concrete in my basement. Home depot said vapor barrier not needed. The planks were glued to each other, floating. It was a total waste of money. The glue did not hold together even though a heavy roller was used to apply pressure. The glued edges eventually failed and I am left with a ripple effect across the entire floor where edges have come up. There was no water in the Basement. This was a big basement and a very large waste of money. Home Depot now says allure should be installed over a vapor barrier but at the time they said it was not needed. Home depot would not give me my money back as they did not install it even though my installer followed all directions given including rolling the floor with a weighted heavy metal roller.

      1. Avatar

        What you bought was an entirely different Product line. LifeProof has interlocking channels that must be tamped together with a plastic block and hammer.

      2. Avatar

        Not the same flooring these do not glue they snap together. I have large kitchen and open area install 2 years ago with 3 dogs that run like crazy and no scratches.

    5. Avatar

      AJ, please reply how you rectified this. We are about do put LifeProof throughout our entire 1st level of home. How does the floor look, feel, & did it set properly ?
      Thanks,
      Carolyn

  7. Avatar

    This flooring is absolute garbage. As many, many others have said: I have had this floor for 24 hrs and there are scratches and dents EVERYWHERE. If something, anything, touches this floor it will scratch. We are two cleanly adults in this home and we have hardly put it through anything. Moved everything with felt movers and even got scratches from those. A glass fell from countertop height and put an 1/8 in deep gash in the floor.

    Save your money and get something else. Do not listen to the people claiming it doesn’t scratch. All I can say is you will regret getting it.

    1. Avatar

      Agreed.

      We just installed 1,000 sq ft of the lifeproof flooring in our home in July 2019. We have 4 dogs, throw rugs, pads under furniture, we sweep and mop a dozen times a day. My floors are soooo scratched from my dogs nails it’s unreal. We had better luck with cheap laminate wood floors from Lumber Liquidators before this. They didn’t scratch and look like garbage after 6 months. We researched these floors for about 2 years before we pulled the trigger and dropped $3,000 on them. Biggest waste of money.

  8. Avatar

    Horrible floor! They and the salesmen don’t tell you how easily it scratches. When you find out after and complain they tell you anything heavier than the plank itself if dragged across the floor can scratch it. You can’t throw a coat of wax on it or have it refinished some day. You’re stuck with it. Standing water isn’t even supposed to be left on it. Nothing with an acidic base like juice. So if your kid dribbles o.j. on the floor and you don’t notice, it will stain. If your kid leans on a toy truck to push around the floor or your grandmother comes over and uses a walker, or a pebble is stuck in your sneaker, SCRATCHES every where! They and HomeDepot withhold all this information and more.

    1. Avatar

      Exactly what brand, model flooring are you referring to in your post? I see many posts in this thread talking about LifeProof vynal but without addressing style or thickness details. Others are not even addressing what brand or even if its vynal planking. All questions in this forum can be answered simply by reading the lifeproof/product specifications on the home depot app.

      1. Avatar

        Your right Bruce , they are not naming the product they are talking about. I just purchased 54 boxes of the Lifeproof 12mil vinyl flooring. I did a hard scratch test on it with the handle of a butter knife. The mark could only be seen just a little in the right lighting but rubbed it right out just with my thumb. Tested both the sample and the plank. I then rubbed both pieces together face to face real hard and no marks or scratches on either. I think this is great flooring, not sure what others are buying. I’m sold on this lifeproof.

        1. Avatar

          Your experience mirrors mine. I don’t understand these complaints. Maybe they installed an Armstrong flooring that is not Lifeproof?

          1. Avatar

            Sorry I have LifeProof essential oak and it only comes in 6mil. Worst flooring ever! It covers every square inch of my 1985square foot ranch style home. I have 3 chihuahuas my floors are scratched everywhere. Please also understand I live alone, so no heavy traffic No children no excessive wear and tear. Just plain poor quality flooring. I am glad you have not had to experience what the rest of us have. I am still saving so I can replace it all.

        2. Avatar

          I believe you may have purchased the 12mm Lifeproof Laminate floor.. The Lifeproof Vinyl floor has a wear layer measured in MILS,, which is on 6MILS and the industry standard is 12MILS.. That’s why there are all the complaints about the luxury vinyl planks scratching,,,the sea layer is sub par..

      2. Avatar

        I have Fresh Oak rigid luxury vinyl planks, 12 mil thick. I think the planks are 7″ wide. Installed easily. No vapor barrier. I think the surface is ceramicized, which seems to repel dirt, as well as increase durability. Best floor I’ve ever owned.

  9. Avatar

    Not satisfied with our vinyl flooring. It inclicks easily and scratches very easily also. Would not use this flooring again. Would not recommend it

    1. Avatar

      The floor under the LVT has to be level. If it’s not, that could account for the clicking, especially if you have concrete subfloors. Concrete can have little indentations and such. Those indentations may not be noticeable unless you get down on your hands and knees and look at it from the side, with your cheek almost touching the floor.

  10. Avatar
    Jeffrey Shoemaker

    We installed 300+ sq feet main floor entrance hallway, kitchen and bathroom, installed very nicely, looks stunning, waterproof to boot.. highly recommended.

  11. Avatar

    It is really interesting that people are having trouble with Lifeproof vinyl planks.I have had it for two years on my basement floor which is concrete and have had zero problems,no scratches,no anything.Like any flooring if you drag heavy abrasive things it my scratch.People seem to think it’s supposed to be indescribable. No flooring is.You ave to use some common sense about your flooring.Iv’e also read that it is hard to install because you can break the edge locks off.You do have to be a little careful but it is very easy.Take your time and you will not have any problem.

      1. Avatar

        It comes apart regardless. I’m a contractor, professional clothing installer, and a Realtor and about to rip out 15 boxes, of 74 that I bought, because it’s already separating in places, but even worse than that, it’s as noisy and hollow sounding to walk on as cheap 7 mm laminate. If you use any underlayment, your warranty is voided. You’re MUCH better off with a high quality, 12 mm laminate and good underlayment.

        1. Avatar

          Sounds like a poor installment job to me. I have installed countless square feet of this product, over many different surfaces, traffic areas, and sun lit areas. Never have I had an issue with separation when installed according to spec.

          Leave it to a professional installer if you are having that type of issue.

          1. Avatar
            HUGH J BAUERS III

            Hello RRR Services. Have you ever installed this over 1/4″ Masonite? and have you ever heard of Cali vinyl flooring plus? if so which between the 2 do you prefer? Thank you in advance

  12. Avatar
    Madison Swetnam

    Absolutely garbage! I am disabled and use a rolling chair to move around my house. I Specifically was looking for flooring that would stand up to the chair. I was Steered to the Lifeproof flooring by the Home Depot sales associate stating “it is life proof and 💯 guaranteed if any issues”. It scratched easily with sliding a light box across it and did not last for even a year before it started to fray and peel around the edge of planks. Oh and as far as that 💯 guarantee, they send a “independent inspector” out and if the subfloor is not completely level within a 1/4 inch in a five foot span then the guarantee is null and void! I don’t recommend it to anyone!

    1. Avatar

      I too had a similar experience … less than a year and my laundry room is FULL of scratches from sliding the laundry basket around. Now I will admit I don’t sweep every other day but, I don’t think they should call it Life Proof. I will say it does handle water very well, but just too soft.

      1. Avatar

        I got the Scratch Stone for my kitchen six months ago. It has held up well to four German shepherds. Good news is, it hides all the dog hair; bad news is, it hides all the dog hair. Sweeping and quick mop are easy. So far so good.

  13. Avatar

    If I sometimes get a little seepage onto my old tile basement floor do I need a vapor barrier installed first to prevent possible mildew/mold or is that built into the underlay part of LifeProof vinyl luxury planks?

    1. Avatar

      We installed this flooring ourselves over 6 months ago and have not had a single issue. With 17 grands and counting we wanted something tough and it seems we made the right choice. There is always someone visiting and kids from 11yrs down to 6mo here on a regular basis. There is a lil buggy the kids push around that has left scuff marks that mop right up and one day my husband slid a dresser across an area not thinking and it left some deeper scuff marks until he used a sponge and rubbed them right out. You can’t even see where they were now. I don’t understand the bad reviews at all. We love this floor!

  14. Avatar

    Absolute garbage. Scratches SO easy just by sliding a chair,box,garbage can etc. my take don’t buy had much better luck with wood

    1. Avatar

      We are in this same situation! Just put it in 2 months ago, and needs replacing by our doors. Quite expensive, and very disappointing!

  15. Avatar

    We have a concrete floor that is in good shape, but we do not heat the building in the winter and it could easily end up well below freezing. Can we use this product?

    1. Avatar
      Daniel Estabrook

      Certain versions only have a 6mil wear layer. You can tell by their warranty period. The 6mil wear layer versions have a 5yr “light commercial” warranty. The 12mil wear layer versions have a 10yr “light commercial” warranty. The 21.7mil wear layer versions have a 15yr “full commercial” warranty. We’re getting the Alys Oak which is 72″ long and has the thickest wear layer.

  16. Avatar

    I have LifeProof throughout my home. It looks good, but I definitely need to put down some larger area rugs. I was specifically told by the installer NO jute-backed rugs. But I was also told no vinyl backed. What’s the best option for area rugs? And are those rug pads vinyl? I want to make sure I’m putting down something that won’t mess up the floor. Thank you. Home Depot has been no help and the buying experience was horrible. I’m half-way sorry that we went with LifeProof. But too late now.

    1. Avatar

      Curious why the installer would say no vinyl backed rugs? Doesn’t make sense to me. This flooring is very hard to scratch or mar. I would double check on that .

      1. Avatar

        Thanks Byron, I agree. But he was firm on no jute-backed or vinyl. Many of the non-slide things for under rugs are also vinyl, so I’m still bare-floored and not loving it. This article also says to clean with approved products, but gives no suggestions. It never feels clean when I walk barefoot no matter how much I sweep or damp mop. So far, I’m not a fan.

        1. Avatar
          Elizabeth Sands

          I bought Ruggables and the rug pad is fine for the LifeProof LVP flooring. I found out what the Ruggable pad is made of and it’s compatible. I love the flooring and love Ruggables as the rugs are washable and very low maintenance like the flooring. I have both in my beach house!

    2. Avatar

      I actually put Evoke vinyl in but as far as rugs you can buy felt mats to go under the rugs from Home Depot , Amazon etc it look up hardwood safe rugs.

  17. Avatar

    This flooring comes in only 4 patterns plus another 4 that are the same, but reversed. It would seem simple enough to put one of each in a box of 8. That is not the case. Some boxes had 6 or 7 of the same and I ended up with a very imbalanced load. I returned 2 boxes that were all the same and 2 more on the next load. They were just put back on the pile for the next person to deal with. They don’t allow you to go through boxes in the store (because opened boxes are not saleable, I’m told). The only option then would be to order lots extra and return the extras in opened boxes.

    I would have returned the lot, but I had already started flooring. The first batch I picked up was reasonably balanced. Except for this, it is good flooring. I would not recommend it for anyone wanting more variation, especially over large spaces, or don’t want the inconvenience of sorting and returning flooring.

  18. Avatar

    We just purchased LifeProof waterproof rigid vote vynel plank flooring. Can you please be specific with names of some cleaners that are safe to use & won’t hurt the flooring?
    Thank you

      1. Avatar

        The maintenance instructions say do not use vinegar. I called the number and was told two products that are neutral ph, that is not too acidic or basic. Home Depot sells both. We bought the one the company customer service lady says she uses: OdoBan No Rinse Neutral pH Floor Cleaner. Zep also has one approved cleaning product.

  19. Avatar

    Is this Lifeproof vinyl truly allergy proof. It appears vinyl can outsource for some time with Dioxin. is Lifeproof FloorScore IAQ certified?

  20. Avatar
    Andres Rodriguez

    Under installation it states that “once installed, no acclimation is needed…” My question is: is there acclimation required prior to installation? Thank you.

    1. Avatar

      There is no acclimation needed before or after with this flooring. we installed it in our kitchen same day as purchasing.

  21. Avatar
    Eric S Seaberg

    After I ordered all my supplies, Home Depot did not carry in-sore the color I wanted, it took 6 weeks for flooring to arrive. The transitions I ordered had a delay in shipment. I laid out almost my whole house while waiting. A week after I finished Home Depot said the shipment is now back-ordered. No biggie, I had to install all baseboards and shoe anyway. Two weeks later, yesterday, I get an email that Home Depot cancelled my backorder. What do I do now that I have no transitions to install in the color I need if Home Depot is the only place I can order from?

    1. Avatar

      I just had installed Lifeproof Trail Oak vinyl planks. And bought a Shark NV800C vacuum. It has a the DualClean feature. The Floor setting causes the bristle and soft brush rollers to spin more slowly than on the short or deep pile carpeting. Can either or both brush rolls really damage Lifeproof vinyl planking? If so, one solution might be to buy a replacement bristle brush roll and trim the bristles.

  22. Avatar

    In new construction the subfloor is 5/8″ plywood. Do I need to lay another layer of plywood before installing this?

      1. Avatar

        One and 7/8 plywood underlay is crazy! McKrackin must sell plywood. I installed over 3/4″ underlay and love the results and the wear. Used Lifeproof.

        1. Avatar

          Same here. I had to laugh when I read that. One layer of 3/4″ plywood is fine. We used the old subfloor that was already there, but replaced a few pieces that had been damaged at some time before we bought the house. It was water damage.

    1. Avatar

      Can I install this flooring directly over the old glue that was previously used for carpeting? All the old existing carpet and padding has been removed. Also, if that is not advisable could I use underlayment – so I would not to have to scrape off the old glue? If so what underlayment would be recommended. Thank you in advance.

    2. Avatar

      Yes, obviously with the proper cups under each leg and leave your piano in place once situated. We’ve had no problem at all with baby grand.

      1. Avatar

        Oops, did not realize this is a LIFEPROOF forum. We have NuCore. But our first choice was LifeProof if they had our color and the wear layer was at least 12, preferably 20.

        1. Avatar

          I’m at a loss between NuCore and Lifeproof…. The NuCore flooring I’m looking at is titanium. Do you like the NuCore?

        1. Avatar

          On Monday night July 23, 2019, our basement had a flood due to a flash flood type rainstorm. We wet vacuumed and dried the floor but there is water underneath the flooring. Should we rip out the flooring or try to use an industrial fan to dry the basement area? Thanks.

  23. Avatar
    Ranelle Grant

    We had the flooring put in. It’s nice and looks amazing. BUT, the reviews that say it’s hard to damage and it’s scratch resistant. Didn’t test it in a house with people living in it. It scratches super easy and sucks because I’m constantly tiptoeing on it to make sure I don’t scratch it. Felt is on the bottom of all chairs and furniture. I sweep and mop. But if you move the laundry basket over to pick up something or it scratches. The only way to not scratch this floor so it’s scratch resistant is to not use it. Very disappointed!

    1. Avatar

      I read your review and was surprised. So I took my sample of Lifeproof Beacon Oak Light Vinyl Plank Flooring and tried to gouge or scratch it with a sharp metal file with no luck. Then I tried to use the file to sand it with no luck. You cannot tell that I made any attempt to damage it. Not saying I could not find a tool in my shop that would scratch or damage it, but no way a laundry basket would do any damage to the ceramic enhanced surface of this Vinyl Plank Flooring that I am holding.

      1. Avatar

        the reality is, you can’t trust half the reviews you read online. I’m sure there are people here with legit complaints. But I’m equally sure that the other half are people with an ax of some sort to grind. (social media folks working for companies selling alternate products, is one example).

        (Yes, believe it or not, many companies hire social media people to manage their reputations online. Sometimes that effort can bleed over into doing things that are less than ethical on forums such as this)

    2. Avatar

      We took a sample to try to destroy and watched a demonstration on a large plank without any damage. We just installed it throughout the entire house and there are scratches everywhere and, all furniture have pads. Less than 24 hours in and it’s all damaged. Very disappointing!

    3. Avatar

      What the fork product did you purchase? I have three cats and two LARGE dogs, and my floor is warm, hides the dirt well (I sweep daily and can’t believe the mess that I am only seeing int he dustpan), is impervious to drips from the water dish, and doesn’t have a scratch on it!

  24. Avatar
    Tina Rosenthal

    We just had lifeproof flooring installed & love it. My question is what type of padding should we use under throw rugs with rubber on the back & the best place to purchase it?

  25. Avatar
    Deborah A Shipley

    Can i place this over tile? I have Italian tile all on main floor. Want to re-do with the lifeproof flooring.

      1. Avatar

        If you install this over tile, you need to float an embossing leveler compound over the top of the tile to fill in the grout lines or they will show up through the lvp after a while

  26. Avatar

    How well does this flooring perform when the conditions are dry? I have baseboard electric heating in the winter and it can get very dry.

  27. Avatar

    I would not install this product over concrete basements. We installed ours over a 6 ml vapour barrier, as per Home Depot instruction in January. We were told we would void our warranty without the vapour barrier. We got really cold temperatures in February and now have buckled flooring. A flooring inspector came and did a report and said that we did not leave the 1/4 space required, that isn’t true, we did. They denied our claim and now we will have to go to Home Depot directly or our house insurance.

    I would not buy this product ever again.

    1. Avatar

      Update:

      The weather has warmed up and the big gaps that appeared are now narrowing. Weather has a lot to do with this flooring, both cold and warm.

        1. Avatar

          This flooring was installed in our new kitchen, and it scratches so easy! There are even marks under the kitchen wastebasket. Kitchen chairs were a nightmare. Moving the refrigerator out to clean behind it, disaster.

    2. Avatar

      Your experience is counter to expectations that product should shrink at colder temperatures. The backing on lifeproof promotes airflow underneath to evacuate moisture and a moisture barrier may have interfered with this process.

      I suggest you remove the moisture barrier and see if that improves the performance in the next winter.

  28. Avatar

    Can you use LifeProof flooring in a sunroom that is built over an elevated deck? It will get 20 degrees in the winter so I didn’t know if it would separate with temperatures fluctuations.

    1. Avatar

      This product will not perform well for the sunroom you are considering. The temperature changes are too great for the specifications needed for this tile. Carpet, Porcelain or rubber tile should be better choices.

  29. Avatar

    I’m planning to install this in a new house. Do I need to put an underlayment on the subfloor or can I just lay the flooring? It says the underlayment is included.

    1. Avatar

      No, it comes with underlayment… if you add more you will avoid the warranty. I just bought $3000 worth of this floor.

      1. Avatar

        Never use felt or tar paper under vinyl ! It has a petroleum base and the fumes trapped under anything vinyl will damage it. This is also true for vinyl siding.

  30. Avatar
    Richard Barton

    When installing this floor in a bathroom, should it be placed under the toilet or up to the toilet? Does it expand and contract like most floating floors do? If installing it under the toilet can the toilet be secured down tightly to avoid leaking?

    1. Avatar

      LifeProof™ can be installed under toilets; leave proper expansion space
      around flange and use a premium waterproof 100% silicone caulk. Do
      not anchor toilet through the material.

  31. Avatar

    I am considering this flooring for use in a cabin which will not be heated when unoccupied during winter. Installation guide indicates it should not be used in this way. Is it possible that it can perform adequately under these conditions?

  32. Avatar

    I want to install Lifeproof Vinyl floating floor on concrete. I also have a slate pool table in that room. Wondering if that will still work or not? Thank you

    1. Avatar

      I installed over concrete and have a baby grand piano on it. I’ve had no issues. I recommend putting felt pads under furniture in case you need to move it.

  33. Avatar

    We have the slate look in our bathroom and I really like it. However, when I damp mop it I love it! It is not shiny shiny – just looks rain washed and it deepens the pattern. NOW is there a product i can use to maintain that look?

    1. Avatar

      LOL, you made me think of Armorall… But I highly advise against using Armorall on your floor… Unless you really want to slip and slide and crack your head open on the floor.

  34. Avatar

    I just had this installed in a small bathroom. It looks horrible. We used the Breezy Stone color. All photos show an even toned product with no variation of color between planks. Now I have a bathroom with one length that stands out like a sore thumb. I wish I could post a picture. It is not acceptable on any level.

    1. Avatar

      The best part about this flooring is it’s easy to replace damaged planks. So, just replace it with one you like better!!

  35. Avatar

    Are there any patterns that are available in both the waterproof LVP and water resistant LVP? I am interested in the waterproof for the bath but don’t need that level of protection for the surrounding home office, bedrooms and hallway where water resistant would be sufficient. Husband would like it to all match in color and pattern. Thank you.

    1. Avatar

      Considering installing LVP over in-floor heating (geothermal hot water). Current engineered hardwood is delaminating, either due to temperature (water enters system at 103 degrees F), defective product or badly installed underlay. Floor has to be taken up to see the cause.

      Question is what temp is LVP designed for?

  36. Avatar

    What about the PVC in the LifeProof Vinyl Flooring? I understand the PVC is quite toxic, so am concerned that it is in this flooring. Anyone know if the levels are problematic or what amount of PVC is in this flooring?

    1. Avatar

      PVC is used in every home from the PVC plumbing you use for water to the raincoats you put on and the IV tubing used at hospitals. I personally wouldn’t let that sway my decision.

  37. Avatar

    Home Depot said LifeProof vinyl plank can be laid directly on cement, but I have read that leveling must be done first? Thank you.

    1. Avatar

      We had to level ours out in some areas. There are still some areas that feel hollow when we walk on them. The installer told us that it will eventually conform to the floor beneath. It’s been a few months however and it hasn’t conformed. I still like it a lot despite that drawback.

    2. Avatar

      Only if the concrete is not smooth. Lvp can accommodate more unevenness than laminate without failing. Slight humps and dips are ok.

  38. Avatar

    Yes, install flooring after the cabinets are set. Cabinets should sit on your solid sub-floor or solid finished floor. Run the new flooring up to the cabinets and cut to size so the kick-plate covers the edge; shouldn’t even need a shoe molding unless you want to run one.

  39. Avatar

    Installed the in-stock Seasoned Wood Multi-Width approximately 1 year ago in my apartment complex laundry and entryway area. Installed approximately 300 sq. ft. over plywood subfloor. Many issues with the product. The lock flanges are very flimsy and break easily. Not well designed. The wear layer does not clean up well – stains easily, water spots are left no matter how clean the mop water. The attached pad/underlayment makes the product feel spongy, cheap. Much better options out there. I’ve used Lumber Liquidator CoreLuxe product that looks better, cleans better and contains a much better locking flange design.

  40. Avatar

    My wife and I just put Lifeproof in our house and it’s beautiful. We have 3 kids and my wife does daycare, and it holds up great. Went in easy and is just an all-around great floor. No complaints and I’m very sensitive to smells and chemicals, and it has treated me great.

    1. Avatar

      1 year later from this post, are you still happy with the floor? I just installed 700 sq ft of it in my basement. I love the look and the install was easy. I scratch tested this product against many other LVPs out in the market, including ones that have a 24 mil wear layer. From my observance the lifeproof won even though it has only a 6 mil wear layer. The only thing I can think is most others use a urethane wear layer that is very soft regardless of its thickness and the lifeproof has ceramic beads in it’s wear layer. Reading some of these reviews freak me out, so I am curious if you are still equally as happy 1 year later. Thank you in advance.

  41. Avatar

    We want to use this product for our main floor renovation including a new kitchen. Is there any reason it cannot go under the kitchen cabinets? I understand a “floating floor” should be able to shift slightly. Will putting the new flooring under the cabinets prevent this? Am I better off putting this flooring down after the cabinets are installed?

    1. Avatar
      Eric De La Garza

      I would recommend installing the cabinets first then installing the floor. While all situations may not require one, a very small expansion gap should be left around the perimeter during installation as an extra safety precaution.

      These gaps can be covered by base, base shoe, or caulked. Once again, depending on the product you select installation method, and individual circumstances you should always refer to the manufacturer warranty for detailed information on each floor.

    2. Avatar

      Be careful though if you have crown moulding for your cabinets – I have 3/4″ red oak flooring installed under the fridge. The cabinets are installed on the sub floor. That 3/4″ puts the cabinet above the the fridge up just enough so that if I were to install the moulding I have, it wouldn’t fit with the adjoining cabinet above the dishwasher. Hindsight……

  42. Avatar

    I can’t get the flooring clean. I use a spin mop and mop it three times, the first pass is the worst but the next 2nd and 3rd look the same. People’s feet get dirty-feeling walking on it without socks. Not sure what’s going on? Is it the ink coming off? Not very happy with this.

    1. Avatar

      I have a click vinyl floor that is 2 yrs. old. I did find a slight residue on the surface when installed. So after some research I discovered that Dawn foaming dish soap has a neutral ph, actually the same as the expensive vinyl flooring cleaner. I usually put a drop of Dawn foaming dish soap in my spin bucket. It doesn’t streak and has removed the slight residue from when the floor was new. I love this product and will lay it in my basement next week. I live on a farm and I’m constantly running in and out taking care of animals and tracking in the outdoors. It cleans up well and looks as good as the day I laid it. Good luck!

  43. Avatar

    We had a plumbing problem and water got under our seasoned wood lvp and came up between cracks. Should we replace the flooring even after we put fans around and had plumbing issue resolved? I am concerned about mold and mildew forming on the backing. Ty

  44. Avatar

    How does this flooring stand up to heat? Looking at all flooring options for a hot yoga studio. Bamboo is used a lot, but there are also issues with it. With LifeProof being anti-microbial and 100% water proof, if it can stand up to heat it would be perfect!

  45. Avatar

    Hi, My association has strict soundproof requirements. Do you happen to have the 2 soundproof ratings for the underlayment? I am ready to order but can’t without those numbers.

  46. Avatar

    Has anyone used this product to replace the flooring in a motorhome? I cannot find anywhere where the weight of it is stated.

  47. Avatar

    Can this be laid directly over “sheet vinyl”? The sheet vinyl was peeling back by tub. That piece, about 12″ X 48″, has been removed. Contractor has used some kind of patch, possibly plaster, to feather it out. Doesn’t seem right.

    1. Avatar
      Eric De La Garza

      Typically cutting out the loose areas of the sheet vinyl is all you would have to do. A feather finish product or self-leveler would be all you need if there was a concern of a low spot in the sub-floor. Plaster patch would not be ideal to use with Lifeproof but you should always refer to the product information.

  48. Avatar

    Looking to install where pets are notorious for having accidents. Although it is waterproof, should we be concerned about pet urine getting between the interlocking planks?

    1. Avatar

      I can not 100% tell you no, but I can tell you my daughter gets out of the shower and gets out soaking wet leaving the floor soaking wet and you there has been no damage so I do not believe that it has gotten between the planks. I believe it stays above on the surface as long as it has been installed according to directions.

      1. Avatar

        How do you know water is not getting under the tile? I want to know if you can put a sealer on it. Can’t get an answer.

      1. Avatar

        I keep seeing the words, “…if it is installed correctly.” What recourse would we have if we have it installed by Home Depot, who is the only company selling this brand, and pet urine seeps through even a tiny bit, leaving a remnant of enzyme, luring the pet back to the same spot and remarking it? We pet owners are seeking a TRULY liquid-proof product.

        1. Avatar

          After many weeks of researching these types of flooring, I am returning to say that, the way these floor planks join together…WHEN INSTALLED CORRECTLY, no liquid, including urine, will seep through…period. Just make sure the installer (or yourself) seat the planks properly. The water will eventually evaporate and you can just clean the water spot by rubbing it. Urine, though I couldn’t get our furkids to urinate on demand (hahaha) will simply sit on top, but CAN stain it if not removed “within a reasonable amount of time.” So unless your pet urine goes unnoticed for a long period of time until it dries, you should be fine. This is the exact reason we gave up on carpet and have gone with waterproof vinyl planks (rescue dogs).

          Let me add, though, that unless you caulk at the baseboards, water WILL be able to get under your flooring that way, but will still not damage your flooring. You can either take it up, let the substrate dry out real good, reinstall your flooring, or depending on how bad your flooding is, use commercial dryers and dry it out.

    2. Avatar

      I have not purchased these floors. I can tell you most items that are “waterproof” are NOT urine proof. Call the manufacturer directly.

  49. Avatar
    Marion Scott Ratliff

    I am remodeling my kitchen. This floor does not have to acclimate from what I understand. Just bring up to room temp. We were going to use tile under the cabinets. Now we are going to install the Lifeproof Biscayne herringbone tile. Since this does not have to acclimate like a normal laminate and is waterproof I thought we could put the flooring in first under the cabinets. Will it be ok to put this under our new cabinets? I didn’t think this would be a problem talking with the salesperson at HD? Thanks

    1. Avatar

      I wanted to install cabinets over our flooring. Just spoke with our installer – he said since it contracts and expands – it will void the warranty. I’m disappointed because I specifically asked the HD rep about this and she said “no problem”… Now I wonder about my refrigerator. My washer and dryer. My dining room table – they are all heavy. Is that going to void the warranty as well? Kitchen cabinets are attached to the walls, not the floor. Most will be shimmed to level, so I’m really confused about this warranty – which I cannot find on the HD website… just spent a lot of money – now having second thoughts.

  50. Avatar

    I’m using double vanity with granite top in bathroom. The vanity is on legs so you can see directly under vanity which means I need to do vinyl flooring under the cabinets to the wall. Am I going to have buckling problems? I’m reading do not put this flooring under cabinets. Well, a 72″ double vanity with granite top is pretty darn heavy and is a type of cabinet.

    1. Avatar

      Cecilia,

      You can place this under “legged ” cabinets the same as furniture without worry. The only reason they recommend not placing under cabinets is to prevent cabinet removal in the event of needing to replace any damaged planks.

  51. Avatar

    I’m looking to purchase Lifeproof Russet Meadow Hickory from Home Depot but cannot find how/where to purchase moulding to match…

    1. Avatar

      Under the toilet. You can never get flooring perfectly fitted up to the toilet. As a realtor, I see these DIY mistakes all the time.

  52. Avatar

    I started a project and had to stop, because when we moved the furniture back onto the new flooring it split at the seams under the weight. We were hoping it was just a bad area, but it happened everywhere. The locking system is also difficult to install and it breaks easily. It looked great until we moved the furniture back in.

    1. Avatar

      You’re absolutely correct, locking mechanism isn’t anything to write home about. Lifeproof looks very appealing but the locking mechanisms aren’t up to par. Breaks very easily and a few were broken right out of the box. $3 per sq ft, I expected more.

      1. Avatar

        Agreed! I would say it is a “precision” product, meaning not much wiggle room and it is not necessarily DIY proof. We started installing ourselves and maybe started man-handling it a bit to get rid of some gaps and ended up crushing the clay like locking mechanisms at the seams which results in buckling at the seams

  53. Avatar

    Considering replacing my entire first floor with lifeproof. The trouble is my family room is currently carpet and my kitchen and foyer are ceramic tile. We don’t want the hassle to break up the tile so we would like to put the lifeproof right over it. If we do that the floor will be higher than our family room sub floor (without the carpet). Any ideas on how to make the floors even? Our kitchen, foyer and family room all flow together. Thanks!

    1. Avatar

      I had the same issue. I removed the carpet and had new 3/4 inch plywood put down over the existing subfloor which raised the floor in the carpeted areas. Also if you have a grout lines in your ceramic tile floor you should consider putting down a self- leveling product to fill in the grout lines.

    2. Avatar

      I removed my tile in my foyer before installing, air compressor with an air chisel gun worked wonders. Wasn’t bad at all to do. If you have doors and raise the floor they will need to be cut down and make sure the baseboard is where it should be. I removed all the base prior to install. Also be careful with the locking mechanism for lifeproof, needs a little more to be desired for in that department. Good luck.

  54. Avatar

    I have a small bathroom. It’s a long hallway (10×3), then I have to pass the toilet and into a small linen closet which would make that 10×5. Would you remove the vanity and install under it or not? Also, most of the LVP are 7″ wide or 8″, and there are a few I don’t like that are multi. Is this flooring worth installing in a small bathroom? I do like the multi gray Sterling oak. Dark would make the bathroom look smaller, and I don’t want the gray to be too light. Any suggestions would be helpful. I do plan on installing myself to save money.

    1. Avatar
      William Handley

      Hi Patricia. Your choice is perfect for bathroom applications. Actually, it’s perfect for all indoor applications. I’m currently doing our whole home in it. Sterling oak in 1 bedroom, Choice oak in 2 other bedrooms and Alpine Backwoods in all the other areas. It’s easy to install so you’ll have no problems. YouTube has some good videos with tips. I think you’ll find your color choice to be just the right shade, without making the room look small from being too dark.

      As for your cabinetry, it will not go under the cabinets. Just run it to the edges of the base and trim it out with baseboards or quarter round.

  55. Avatar

    I’m looking for decking for our swimming pool project, would LVP be suitable? Slippery when wet? Salt water pool, would it stain or degrade the product? Sunlight a problem?

    1. Avatar

      Hi Tony. LVP is not for outdoor use. However, lifeproof does make a porcelain wood-look tile that is for outdoor/indoor use and is more slip resistant than normal tile. I think it would be perfect for your desired application.

  56. Avatar

    I’ve been experimenting with a sample. The “scratches” made by pets and wood chairs have all been removed with a vigorous rubdown with Simple Green and a rough cloth. They obviously were not gouged into the surface, but were just material applied to it.

    1. Avatar

      We have a 215# dog and we want to know if this flooring will hold up. I’ve read a lot of comments about scratching.

      1. Avatar

        Hello, 215 pounds..wow! We have a BullMastiff 150 pounds and an Olde English Bulldoge. They play very hard with each other and we have not seen anything as far as scratching is concerned. I feel that people who are getting scratched flooring must have a serious abrasive ie. sand,tiny pebbles or something because our dogs can’t destroy it.

  57. Avatar

    I have an ‘office’ room which I use for multiple purposes, including electronic building and repair, which means I use soldering irons in the room and the occasional drop of hot molten solder may accidentally land on the floor.

    I asked one of the sales people at the local Home Depot if LifeProof flooring would be damaged by solder droplets. They could not answer my question but gave me a sample piece I took home and tested.

    With a soldering iron just inches away from the flooring sample I dropped numerous large droplets of molten solder on it. Once cool enough to touch, I easily popped the solder balls right off the flooring. The rosin flux from the solder remained on the flooring and I used a paper towel soaked with acetone to wipe off the rosin.

    For the final test, I showed my wife pictures of the solder and rosin and asked her find those places on the sample flooring….. she could not. The flooring looked perfectly fine like I had done nothing to it. That sold me on using the LifeProof flooring for my room.

    As far as the scratching others have reported, I did not test for that on the sample I had, but where I will be using it the only furniture movement will be office chairs, one with rollers and one without rollers.

  58. Avatar

    I live in Hawaii and the product is sold at my local store. I’m having some trouble understanding what is meant by temperature control. Average temperature during the day is 80 F, and we do not run an AC in the house. Is this product able to be installed without air conditioner? The trade wind does a good enough of a job cooling the house in the evenings.

    1. Avatar

      I think when they state temperature control they mean that the foam backing is a great insulator for those who are like me and live in Illinois!

  59. Avatar

    We installed this floor throughout our entire house, and within the first week it has scratched horribly just from moving furniture around. Very disappointed every time I look at my living room floor.

    1. Avatar

      We have a lighter shade of the flooring so the scratches didn’t show up at first but we did find our dining room chairs caused some scratching. I bought some felt tips for the chairs so I’ll see how those do. We also have dogs, but have had no problems with scratches from their nails. We tested a number of samples and types of flooring before we chose this one and this resisted scratching better, by far. But not scratch-proof, unfortunately.

    2. Avatar

      We layed the flooring throughout our entire house as well. Beautiful flooring but not scratch resistant as advertised. We have scratched in our kitchen from the chairs even after we placed caps on the legs to prevent scratches. You have to treat these floors delicate. Not what I was looking for living in the state of Alaska where we have harsh winters and bring all sorts of stuff inside on our shoes.

      1. Avatar

        I installed Seaside Oak, a fairly dark brown-gray, throughout the bottom level of my home and had the same problem. After some trial and error, I found that a light application of mineral oil made the scratches almost completely disappear.

  60. Avatar

    I’m using this floor in a salon, although I’m happy about waterproof and durability I’m concerned that color stain from hair color will stain it. Is there a protective coat I can put on to help fill without changing the look of the floor? Like a sealant of some sort? What do you recommend?

  61. Avatar

    We have installed Life Proof flooring in the living area which includes a wood-burning fireplace. Is the floor flammable? Do we have to cover it to prevent damage from sparks?

  62. Avatar

    I’ve read comments elsewhere about DIYers saying this floor is difficult to install as the tabs break off easily. Anyone have that problem? Also we have a heavy tredmill. Will this cause the flooring to buckle? Thanks!

    1. Avatar

      I just installed ~1100 sqft in our home during the renovation and it went together without a hitch. I will say I have installed other products before, both laminate and vinyl. The interlock mechanism used is not the finest I’ve seen on this type of product, but I had no problems. I honestly used just a non-marring rubber mallet on about 90% of the install, tilting the tiles into the previous and then laying flat. Once the tongue is in the groove I hammered on the face of the plank with the mallet at a sweeping angle and it generally slides right in. Invest in a puller bar for tight spaces such as against walls, otherwise a 2×4 worked fine in other areas I needed it without any damage to the planks and their tongues/grooves.

      We went with the Seaside Oak and it is very nice, the wife was very happy. I will say that I would like to see the wear layer made thicker. We found numerous scratches from furniture and appliances, even though they all were either on rollers or plastic/felt feet. In the several years we had Coretec at another home, we never experienced scratching like this even with 2 children and our dog so invest in a touch up kit.

      Ease of install 7/10
      Cost of product (as compared to others) 9/10
      Ease of scratching and damage 6/10

      All in all a pretty good product for the money. I especially liked the underlayment, it makes the plank feel very nice under foot. Not too spongy but gives just enough, better than laminates with a good 3-in-1 underlayment.

  63. Avatar

    I’m wondering if this particular type of flooring will stand up to ice melt when people track it in to the store that I plan to put it in?

    I know that I’ve encountered small problems with PVC type materials in the past ( i.e. Plank decking). Could you please tell me you have tested or know the reactive implications of ice melt and this floor?

  64. Avatar

    Can you tell me about the possible VOC’s and/or dioxin content of this vinyl? How bout off gassing of these chemicals?

  65. Avatar
    stephen m duplissis

    I plan on using this product on the wall above the shower. Can I use some sort of adhesive? If so, what do you recomend?

  66. Avatar

    We are looking to install this in our laundry room. We have a drain in the middle of the floor that we would need to cut out and likely caulk around. Can this be done?

    Previously we had linoleum (which we just pulled up).

  67. Avatar

    We just put this flooring all through our house and the floors were uneven. We were told there was no need to make the floor even as this type of flooring is very giving and should not be a problem. Just wondering if anyone has had issues and will there be any problems down the road by not leveling the sub floors?

    1. Avatar

      Mine was not installed correctly and is now buckling. It should have been leveled and has even cracked. In one spot it has no give. Make sure you level it. I have to have reinstalled.

      1. Avatar

        Dan, How did you remedy the situation? We just had this product professionally installed and within two months time with minimal traffic, we have buckling and uneven seams. I’m now not sure how to correct the situation. Should we just get some new planks? Or replace the entire floor with a different brand?

        Thanks for your reply.
        Gwen

  68. Avatar

    At what degrees should house be at all times for this tile? Thinking of installing in summer house which is shut down for winter. House is in New England by the beach. Will moisture from basement affect these tiles?

    1. Avatar

      Yes, absolutely. As long as those appliances are properly installed and maintained, you will have no trouble with the lifeproof vinyl. In fact, it should perform better than hardwood flooring in the case of a leak. As with any flooring material though, be sure to keep it as clean and dry as possible as this will extend the already great lifespan.

      1. Avatar

        My concern in this case is not for leaking since the flooring product claims to be waterproof, but for the “dents” made by the weight of the appliances through their supporting feet. Given the softer nature of this flooring material, I’d be concerned about denting and other damage to the top surface. It would also make moving the appliances harder if they get embedding into their dents.

        Does anybody have any experience with this?

        1. Avatar

          We had this installed in the kitchen, living and dining rooms last fall. We have a heavy refrigerator and a stove on it. After 9 months, there is a very shallow, almost imperceptible dent under the refrigerator. However, that has not prevented the fridge from being pulled out to clean. By the way, the flooring is slick enough so that its easy to pull the appliances out. Vinyl flooring we had before was always sticky from humidity and stained from the appliance feet. This is great stuff.

        2. Avatar

          Actually, Home Depot suggested to install AROUND the appliances. I would do so, because vinyl will expand and contract due to temperature, and if you have it pinned by heavy things like appliances, it’ll have nowhere else to go but buckle.

  69. Avatar
    Karen Schwarztrauber

    We installed Lifeproof in our sunroom and it is wonderful. Easy to install and looks great.

    Caution, if the installers do not follow the directions and take their time, ask them to leave. It isn’t worth the hassle if not done correctly.

  70. Avatar

    Can you install over tile if you fill in grout joints even with the tile, thus eliminating removing tile, etc? Thank you.

    1. Avatar

      David, there’s no need to fill in the grout joints unless they’re abnormally deep. The expansive cushion on the bottom of the bottom of the lifeproof vinyl flooring is designed to easily fill such gaps.

  71. Avatar

    Can this flooring be applied in a three season porch in Massachusetts? As of now, there isn’t a heat source in this area.

    1. Avatar

      Gayle, lifeproof vinyl flooring is only designed to be used in a temperature controlled (or indoor) environment. Performance of the floor will be greatly decreased especially in the MA climate.

  72. Avatar

    Hi! How hard is it to replace a damaged plank of lifeproof vinyl flooring without taking the whole floor apart?

    Thank you!

    1. Avatar

      I was just at a flooring store talking to the flooring guy. He said if you have floating floor, you have to start at the wall closest to the plank you want to remove and remove all the way from the wall to the plank.

    1. Avatar

      Susan, as long as the thermostat is kept below 85 degrees Fahrenheit, the floor should perform well. You may experience a decrease in efficiency, but it should be minimal. It is a more efficient option than carpet.

  73. Avatar

    Can I install this product in a sun room? Looked at it in Home Depot and the back of the plank says it cannot be installed in a sun room. Is this true?

    1. Avatar

      We just had one room installed and we already have a scratches on it from moving a piece of furniture and vacuuming. We are not happy and going to contact Home Depot and the company. Not impressed with the 100% lifetime residential warranty and 0% worries. Not the case! We hope they honor that warranty.

      1. Avatar

        I would love to hear. We just installed it throughout our entire new home first floor and we have scratches EVERYWHERE! It makes me cry just looking at it. So utterly disappointed. For a few dollars more, I could have had real hardwoods!

        1. Avatar

          Nicole and Michele, sorry to hear of your poor performance with lifeproof vinyl flooring. Home Depot should honor the warranty as long as proper installation procedures are followed. I will warn you, however, that the floor you installed will, under almost any circumstance, outperform real hardwood. The lifeproof vinyl has a wear layer made of ceramic which is much more resistant to scratches than hardwood. If you’ve experienced issues, you may want to speak with a flooring expert to better understand the care and maintenance of your floors. I wish you the best with the warranty and finding something to better suit your needs!

    2. Avatar
      William Handley

      Nicole, I have seen many mixed reviews about scratches in this flooring. We have a ninety pound pit bull and kids. We haven’t gotten a single scratch in ours and have had it down for almost 9 months. We’re doing the rest of our home in it.

      I suggest you buy a case, lay it throughout your home and give it a trial run.

  74. Avatar

    I sell Lifeproof Luxury Vinyl Plank every day, and it is by far the most frequently purchased flooring system we offer. I’ll try to address some of the questions that have come up, but you can also go to any of the Lifeproof Vinyl Plank listings at homedepot’s website (such as “Sterling Oak”, our bestseller) to Search through the questions/answer section posted at the bottom of each listing. Use keywords to narrow down which topics you wish to view, like “heated floor” or “island”. Halstead, the maker of Lifeproof, is very good about actively responding to consumer questions. They can also be reached directly using their 800# which can be found in the documentation also provided within the listing.

    Just to correct a couple of points made in this article: 1) The author refers to “6mm” and “12mm” when in fact she means “mils”, NOT millimeters. One mil = 1/1000th of an inch… 2) Since LVP is a floating floor system, it cannot be installed over any other floating floor system, which eliminates laminate from the list. Only solidly attached flooring systems like glued-down sheet vinyl/linoleum, nail/glued hardwood, or ceramic tile are appropriate flooring substrates for LVP.

    Proper leveling is everything when installing vinyl, because over time even the thickest planks (Lifeproof is approx. 7mm thick) can depress into holes or old grout lines lurking beneath it. Take the time to level out your old floor, or your wood or concrete subfloor flaws, using a product like LevelPro (which is self-leveling) or one of the premixed patching compounds that come in a pint or gallon size. The size of the issue determines which type of product would work best. They all dry quickly so that you can proceed directly to your install, often within the same day.

    Re: Heated floors… According to the mfg., you can install LVP over a properly imbedded floor heating system. They say: “This product can be installed over radiant heat concrete subfloors. The radiant heating system must be cast 1/2 in. below the surface of the concrete slab and should be operating at least 2 weeks before installation. Set the temperature of the radiant heating system to 68°F 48 hours before, during, and 72 hours after installation. You may gradually raise the temperature starting 72 hours after installation. The finished floor surface must not exceed 85°F (29°C) for the life of the floor. Because radiant heat creates a dry heat that can lower interior humidity levels, it may be necessary to add a humidifier to maintain the humidity level between 30-85% to prevent damage to the vinyl floor. Consult with the radiant heat system manufacturer to ensure that the system is compatible with vinyl flooring.”

    Re: Installing LVP underneath thing, the mfg. says: It’s typically fine under standard rolling appliances, but specific concerns should be reviewed with your installer. However, LVP should NOT be installed underneath an island or underneath cabinets due to the danger of the weight damaging the click-lock system. Instead, install around those fixtures.

    Re: Outdoor areas or non-temperature controlled rooms or structures… installing in those scenarios would void the Lifeproof warranty.

    1. Avatar
      Floor Critics

      Hi Mia – Wow! Thank you for this helpful, awesome comment. And, for that matter, all of your other helpful contributions. 🙂

      I’ve updated this guide with corrections re: mil (NOT mm) & the clarification re: installation over existing floors.

    2. Avatar

      Just a question about the leveling. Would I need to try and level the grout lines so they are the same height as the ceramic tile? Currently mine are lower than the ceramic tile, which is how most ceramic tile is. Thanks for any advice you can provide.

  75. Avatar

    How is sound proofing? Looking to instal in a condo with concrete between floors. WIll I have any issues with unit below me?

  76. Avatar
    Bob Schumacher

    Can this product be used in a RV where the temperature can reach 90 degrees in summer and also – 15 degrees in the winter?

    1. Avatar

      I installed Lifeproof Vinyl in my motor home on a good level floor and it has buckled in the center of the floor. It was not glued down except under the living room slide, other wise it floats. The temp. in Arizona heat can be as much as 118 during the day time. Can this be fixed or did I use the wrong product ?

  77. Avatar

    I am remodeling a kitchen. Everything in the kitchen is removed. Is it allowed to install the waterproof vinyl plank flooring under the new counters, refrigerator, oven and dishwasher without violating the lifetime warranty?

    1. Avatar

      Do not install your flooring under kitchen cabinets. People often replace flooring to update a kitchen but only replace cabinets when doing a major remodeling.

    1. Avatar

      I have the same question as Christiane – I want to install an electric heating system under the vinyl floor. Will it work and will the warranty be valid. I don’t want to create an odor because of the underlaying heat.
      Please respond asap as I am ready to purchase a floor and Christiane has been waiting since 4-21.

      1. Avatar

        Christiane and Matt, I think you will find the answer to your question in other comments, but to summarize, lifeproof vinyl flooring works very well with radiant heating. You must, however, keep the floor temperature below 85 degrees Fahrenheit to avoid damaging the floor and likely voiding the warranty. Check with your installer or representative for humidity concerns.

  78. Avatar

    I’ve heard so many negative comments about hardwood and big dogs. This is one of the reasons we are considering lifeproof. I noticed a comment about scratches from furniture and how its not as hard as hardwood. Thoughts?

    1. Avatar

      I am also considering lifeproof vinyl. Worried about how it scratches. We have had Mannington with a diamond finish. It was a very bad flooring, had to be extremely careful.

      1. Avatar

        This is what I am wondering also. I have 5 dogs. I don’t want to spend over 6 grand to replace our floors just to find out it is going to be full of scratches.

        1. Avatar

          I have 9 very active dogs & I’m wondering about the floors scratching as well! I’m with Cindy, don’t want to spend the $ if they are going to look totally horrible! Thanks for your time.

  79. Avatar

    We just installed Essential Oak vinyl plank flooring in my father’s bedroom. He occasionally has urination accidents on the floor. What product is best to clean this mess the morning after? Also, if we want to make the floor look with a gleam, what product should we use?

  80. Avatar

    Hi,
    I love this LVP but I definitely want the least toxic option out there. Are there pthalates in the Ocala Oak line? Thank you for your help

  81. Avatar
    Cary Clifford Congleton

    What kind of underlayment can I put down on the floor, I have a large area rug. I don’t want to damage this beautiful floor.

    1. Avatar

      My understanding is that it’s rubber matting that should always be avoided, as it can discolor LVP. Also, make sure and use “feltie’ type furniture protectors under everything, including floor lamps, magazine racks, and of course under sofa and table legs.

  82. Avatar

    we are looking at putting this in our mud room/ playroom. It’s also off the pool and people will be walking on it between the pool area and to get to the nearest bathroom. Water may set on it for a few hours while we are in the pool. also getting wet from snowy boots coming in off the garage. Would water being on it for a few hours damage it?

    1. Avatar

      This product is 100% waterproof, mold and mildew proof. It can be used in bathrooms and kitchens, it would be perfect. I just did the bathroom floor about 2 months ago. Getting ready to do the kitchen soon. Got appliances coming first. Its a great product, the underlayment in built right into it and you should be able to install it right over your existing floor. I say go for it!

    2. Avatar

      LifeProof is completely waterproof, so it is highly recommended for those areas that will be experiencing lots of water and moisture. It also has a lifetime residential warranty.

    3. Avatar

      Water may make its way down to your subfloor, and will eventually dry off, but there’s a mold/mildew inhibitor on both the top and bottom of Lifeproof planks. Water does no damage whatsoever to the planks themselves, even if long submerged.

  83. Avatar

    We pulled up linoleum because there were two layers. Some of the backing is still attached to plywood base. Can we install Life Proof Rigid Core Luxury Vinyl flooring right over it or do we have to scrape it off?

    1. Avatar

      Either scrape it off, or use a self-leveling compound to create a level surface on top of the old torn layers prior to installing LVP. All vinyl, no matter how thick the plank, can eventually reveal flaws in an uneven subfloor.

    1. Avatar

      Other than assuring that the concrete is well leveled, Lifeproof can go straight down with no additional underlayment—above or below grade, and in any room of the home. Additional underlayment can actually void the Lifeproof warranty.

  84. Avatar

    Would like to glue down the click vinyl plank flooring on my steps. Would it ok to use PL 400 or some other adhesive?
    Bill

    1. Avatar

      Lifeproof is not designed for stairs/steps, so any install you do would be at your own risk. However, you can in many cases buy a Cap-A-Tread system that matches the Lifeproof, and it installs beautifully on stairs.

  85. Avatar

    Some of the information in your article is INCORRECT!!! I have learned this the hard way. My customer was told at Home Depot that this Lifeproof Flooring would be IDEAL and PERFECT for their front porch. This porch is NOT climate controlled, and gets direct sunlight. It also suffers temperature variations.

    The Installation instructions inside the packages of flooring state very clearly to NOT use this product in an area prone to flooding or overly wet. Also that it is NOT suitable for areas that receive direct sunlight. Area MUST be climate controlled.

    I verified this information through the 800 number to the manufacturer who explicitly told me to NOT use this product as was directed by the “experts” at Home Depot.

    That said, I have used this product successfully on a concrete basement floor that was dry, and climate controlled. Install is straight forward and reasonably easy. I scraped the hell out of my knuckles several times installing it. So watch out for that.

    1. Avatar

      Thanks for your comment, Jon. Could you point out what sections of this article are incorrect by your estimation? I appreciate your help in making sure this page is a positive resource for Floor Critics readers. 🙂

      1. Avatar

        I left a comment earlier addressing a couple of errors, and the poster above is correct about the topics she covered. These and many other consumer concerns can easily be researched right on the HD website, in the Q&A section located at the bottom of each listing. Going to the Lifeproof Sterling Oak listing, for example, there are currently several hundred questions and answers, and you can use a keyword search box to narrow down your inquiry. The manufacturer, Halstead, is great about addressing consumer questions, and fellow DIY-ers chime in a lot too… with varying degrees of accuracy, lol.

        The poster above notes that info given in the HD showroom is at times inaccurate, and that’s a factor of ongoing training of new associates, unfortunately. Misinformation happens, but by studying that Q&A section, which is a wealth of information, and taking any lingering questions directly to the company’s toll free number (located in the documentation also posted in the listing), you’ll insure you’re picking the right product for your application, and laying it down properly.

        1. Avatar
          Floor Critics

          Thanks, Mia. I’ve updated the guide to remedy the errors you pointed out, and appreciate the helpful criticism!

  86. Avatar
    Deborah Leonzi

    We would like to install lifeproof luxury vinyl flooring in our family room. this room is used daily. we have 2 sofa bed couches, a treadmill, and a flat screen tv and heavy stand, plus other misc. items. will all this weight be too much on this type of floor? Will this do any damage to the floor? Thank you

    1. Avatar

      Lifeproof planks can handle 250 lbs per square inch. But always use either felt or vinyl protectors under all furniture feet, or use vinyl cups (never rubber, which discolors LVP) that can help distribute the weight of furniture pieces with stiletto type feet. That would be true for hardwood or laminate, as well.

  87. Avatar

    I have existing tile that is ceramic tile on my floor and would like to install lifeproof flooring over without removing the tile. Is this ok to do?

    1. Avatar

      You can! However it’s advised to use a patching or leveling compound to fill in grout lines before you lay down the planks, as even the thick planks can eventually sink into those enough to be seen, especially in high traffic areas.

      1. Avatar

        we installed over our tile and did not fill in the grout lines and have had no issues whatsoever. The LVP layer underneath is thick enough that nothing was needed other than the planks

        1. Avatar

          how wide was your grout lines? Home Depot grout lines more than 1/4 inch wide will need to be filled in. I have grout lines that range from less than 1/4 to 3/8 of an inch.

  88. Avatar
    Khara A Peregrin

    We are interested in putting LVP in our basement. We haven’t had flooding but if for some reason that ever happened are you able to uninstall the flooring dry it out and then reinstall the same flooring or would that flooring be trash?

    1. Avatar

      It would be trashed. It happened to us from Hurricane Irma.

      We had just put down Lifeproof and we flooded. The floor was ruined, all the locking rails broke off. We pulled up rinsed and dryer to re use. It would not lay flat and lock together.

      However we are still going to install again and just say the heck with it. Once in 35 years flood.

  89. Avatar

    Hello we are considering this product for our laundry room, which does have afternoon sun from the window in the door.

    Question: Will the appliances mark the flooring over time? Just wondering if I should consider ceramic instead.

    With thanks, Darlene

  90. Avatar

    What about using it on a wet slab? A wet slab as in it doesn’t have moisture barrier under it. This is a old house built in 1953. Do i need a vapor barrier? Or can I install it directly on the slab?

  91. Avatar

    Where is lifeproof made? Reason I’m asking: I want to buy it in the USA and take it to Canada, will need to know this to avoid duty. Also, a company web page needs to be available – not just home depot site.

    1. Avatar

      Per Halstead (the manufacturer), the product is made in China.

      The website can be found here: mydiygenius.com

  92. Avatar

    I am looking to put down a radiant floor mesh for heating in my kitchen. Can this product be put over the top of that like tile, wood or laminate can? It seems to have a much softer underlayment and we were worried about this.

  93. Avatar
    Charlene James

    I plan to install lifeproof in my home. I want to add an underlayment to increase height a little. What kind will be compatible with lifeproof lvp?

    1. Avatar

      Any additional underlayment would void the warranty of Lifeproof, due to the problem of ‘popping’ the click-lock system.

  94. Avatar

    I have radiant floor heat throughout my house. Can I install this product over a think concrete slab that has 120 degree water flowing thru tubes in it?

  95. Avatar
    Elaine Cerullo

    I love the look of the Alys Oak but there is only one picture at the home depot website. I would like to see more before I spend 4.39 sq ft. The other pictures shown are of other/similar floors. Where can i find more completed projects using that specific floor?

  96. Avatar

    Put down flooring and jammed ends – it will not lock & has a ridge. This is in the middle of the floor in one spot only. Any ideas on how to make it lock down?

    1. Avatar

      I had a lot of ridges and issues due to a subfloor the was far from level. I was able to get all but one ridge out by very slowly going along the ridge, applying the weight of my knee resting on a rubber sanding block (no sandpaper) and tapping from the side. The weight flexed the planks to better match the contours. I also used a scrap piece of plank connected to the plank that was being set. This will keep you from damaging the plank.

  97. Avatar
    Teresa Vincent

    Is there any place that stocks Lifeproof Ridgid core luxury vinyl flooring “Fresh oak” color within a 100 mile radius of sacramento? Home depots don’t stock it and said it would take at least 2 weeks to special order it.

  98. Avatar

    I’m thinking about installing the LVP LifeProof flooring in my basement. I don’t have a flooding issue or any water issues there. Do I still need a vapor barrier? If so, what is recommended?

  99. Avatar

    What is the actual thickness of the wear layer? I don’t see that information on the Home Depot website or in the product brochure. Thanks.

    1. Avatar

      Lifeproof can only be installed in a temperature controlled environment. Driving a car onto it would also risk popping the click-lock joints.

  100. Avatar

    If you install this flooring in a basement that floods, let’s say 1/4 inch to one inch of water, how does the concrete underneath dry?

    1. Avatar

      Sadly not a great idea to install any flooring in a basement that has active water. As you probably guess, it will not evaporate quickly, and the chance of mold or fungal growth increases with each exposure. You’re better off spending the money on water mitigation up front, then improving the cosmetics of the room.

  101. Avatar

    We are thinking about installing this in the next home in place of tile and / or wood. My question is this: When you put your furniture in place and it has been sitting there for a while, and then the wife decides to rearrange the room, will the furniture leave a big imprint like it does in carpet? If you slide your furniture around instead of lifting it up, will this stuff tear?

    1. Avatar

      It will scratch very easily. Just pulling out the chairs at our kitchen table left big scratches in the floor. It is less than a week old and looks horrible.

    2. Avatar

      Thank you for your question. Furniture will not leave an imprint. We recommend using a dolly, protective sheets or plywood to move furniture. Furniture should not be dragged across the floor.

    3. Avatar

      Some of your furniture will definitely imprint the top of the floor. Once imprinted, no way to get it out. Go check out samples at Home Depot, you can see what kind of force is needed to make a permanent mark. The product isn’t super soft, but softer than a hardwood or tile/stone/etc.

  102. Avatar
    Kathleen Richardville

    Can I use this flooring in a home that we use seasonally? When it is closed up in winter, temps get very cold – then of course warmer in Summer. Will this flooring warp?

  103. Avatar

    Can I put it down then put a toilet on top of it, or must I first make many intricate cuts to get the flooring around the toilet without going under the toilet?

    1. Avatar

      It’s recommended to make your cuts and place around toliet. I used a jig saw and traced my cuts prior, worked out perfect. At the worst case scenario, you can fill any small gaps with cualking for appearance.

    2. Avatar

      You can actually install the life proof LVP under the commode. The only cuts you will need is around the flange.

      “Flooring can be installed under toilets. Leave proper expansion space around flange and caulk. Do not anchor toilet through the material.”

      That’s from the installation guide. Or take my 18 yrs experience as your guide. I always avoid caulking around the base of commodes. IF there is the rare case where you’re getting a leak from under the commode, the caulking will keep it from being noticed before it becomes a much bigger issue. But like I said, it’s rare to leak under a commode, but better safe then sorry

  104. Avatar

    Is there a product that will put a shine on this vinyl flooring without requiring repeat maintenance applications?

  105. Avatar

    I have a room (10.3ft by 17.5ft) and it’s uneven by about an inch from the outside to the middle of the room. Will the Lifeproof vinyl flooring work? The current flooring is 8×8 inch ceramic tile. Is that my best option, or should I use something else??

    1. Avatar

      Yes, the Lifeproof will work just fine. I just finished an area last night that was 1″ off as well. I just made very precise cuts and made sure my 1/4″ spacers were staying in place. Also, I’m using 9/16″ moulding so that’ll at least give it an extra 1/16″ inch of overlap. You shouldn’t have any problems.

  106. Avatar

    Recently installed this vinyl flooring. Looks great and was easy to install. Chose it because it is waterproof. Installed in a back porch area where people come in from the outside. We have noticed that since winter and snow has started the floor has started to look splotchy after cleaning. Do not know if this being caused by salt being dragged in off of boots/shoes from the outside. If so, is there a cleaning treatment that can be done to protect the floor and give it a clean fresh look?

    1. Avatar

      I like this product, want to install outside deck (it’s a covered deck but dose get rain and some snow), temperature range 30 degrees to 80 degrees coastal New Jersey , if I install what can I expect. Even installed outside warranted temperatures, your opinion on how this product will perform, and longevity

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *