coretec plus vinyl plank review

Review: COREtec Plus Vinyl Plank Flooring

The cat is out of the bag when it comes to high style flooring on a budget. Most people have discovered the benefits of luxury vinyl plank flooring.

With so many choices, how do you know which one to choose? Despite its newfound popularity, you can still have the edge over your friends with one specific brand – COREtec Plus vinyl plank flooring.

This gorgeous luxury vinyl plank (LVP) flooring looks more realistic than virtually any other brand. And it offers something that none of its competitors do.

So, if you want to be on budget and on the cutting edge of flooring design, check out COREtec vinyl plank flooring.

What is COREtec Plus?

COREtec Plus is a high-quality luxury vinyl plank flooring that is manufactured by US Floors. With high-end design and construction, it looks and feels like hardwood floors.

In fact, when you pull the planks out of the box, you might even think they are engineered hardwood planks. COREtec looks that much like hardwood.

Unlike some of the other LVP products on the market that use simulated graphics, COREtec has real texture and real graining.

These planks also have a micro bevel edge for a true, hardwood flooring look. But the great part is that with COREtec, you don’t have the same maintenance issues that you would with solid or engineered hardwoods.

COREtec Plus comes in a variety of beautiful wood grains including rustic looks, multi-tone planks, and even extra wide and extra-long planks. So, there are plenty of different design styles that will work with COREtec LVP.

Not only do these planks look extremely realistic, they also have many great notable features.

Back to Top

COREtec’s Vinyl Plank Flooring Design

COREtec LVP is designed with a patented construction that makes it highly durable and extremely attractive.

Each style of COREtec Plus vinyl planks features a 0.5 mm wear layer that protects your floors even in high traffic or commercial areas. As a bonus, it helps make this product easy to clean and maintain.

Underneath the wear layer, COREtec vinyl planks have a luxury vinyl top layer. This layer is highly resilient and made of virgin vinyl.

Below the layer of vinyl is the heart of the matter – COREtec’s core structure. This well-constructed inner core is very stable and will not expand or contract in normal conditions like other products do.

This LVP also comes with an underlayment made out of cork. The cork layer adds extra insulation to your floors and absorbs sounds, making it quiet to walk on.

COREtec’s design is a patented product exclusively for USFloors.

Back to Top

Installing COREtec Vinyl Planks

A great benefit of COREtec LVP is that although it looks like hardwood flooring, it is much easier to install. In fact, if you are somewhat handy, you can even do it yourself, and save even more money on your flooring project.

Unlike many of the other types of luxury vinyl, COREtec planks do not require any acclimation.  Plus, there is very little floor preparation needed before laying the planks.

Since COREtec is a floating floor, you can easily install them over your current hard surface flooring. And since they come with an attached cork underlayment, you don’t even need to lay one first.

COREtec’s cork underlayment also helps to hide any subfloor imperfections. And with its resistance to mold and mildew, your family is protected from effects of these allergens.

To install COREtec vinyl planks, make sure that your subfloor is clean, dry, and clear of debris.  Your subfloor must be flat and structurally sound.

You’ll need a few simple tools (most of which you probably have already) like a tape measure, hammer, and blue painter’s tape. You will also need a crosscut power saw and a tapping block.

Once you have your COREtec planks and supplies, the process is pretty simple. Full instructions from the manufacturer on how to install these floors can be found here.

Back to Top

Maintaining COREtec Floors

COREtec vinyl planks are highly durable and easy to maintain. But if you want to get the most out of your floors, there are a few general rules to follow to prevent damage.

First, when you move furniture on your floors, always use a hand truck or furniture dolly. It’s also a good idea to put felt pads under pieces of furniture that you frequently move.

For floors in sunny areas, use drapes or blinds to shield your floors from sun damage.

To clean your COREtec floors, simply use a broom or vacuum with a hard surface attachment. For deeper cleanings, a damp mop works well.

However, you should avoid harsh cleaning products and chemicals. Instead, use a diluted pH neutral cleaner like Bona or Hilway.

Allow your floors to dry after mopping and make sure to clean up any spills quickly.

Back to Top

Different Styles of COREtec LVP

COREtec features a variety of beautiful styles of their vinyl plank flooring.

COREtec Plus Design uses a variation in colors and sizes of its planks. It is the brand’s original line of LVP.

This style comes in both 5” and 7” wide planks that are 4’ long. With this style, you can create a really custom, authentic-looking floor design.

The COREtec Plus HD line is extremely realistic-looking because it uses a registered embossing technique. The surface of each plank mimics the graining of wood.

It also has thicker planks at 8.5 mm and comes with realistic-looking four-side painted micro-beveled edges.

COREtec Plus XL and XL Enhanced are the largest luxury vinyl planks on the market at 9 inches wide by 6 feet long. Because these planks are larger, they are more expensive than the other options.

Back to Top

In Conclusion

If you are looking for a well-made, high style product to install in your home, then COREtec vinyl plank flooring may be the answer.

Its patented design is highly durable, so it stands up to things that wood can’t. Plus, it doesn’t warp or shift like wood.

Yet, it is extremely realistic looking. With specialized embossing and a variety of styles, it is hard to distinguish it from solid or engineered hardwood flooring.

COREtec vinyl plank flooring is easy to install – you can even do it yourself. And it is easy to maintain.

Would you try this flooring in your home? Do you have any personal experience with this brand? Let us know in the comment section below.

Back to Top

Jennifer Lester

About Jennifer Lester

Jennifer Lester is a freelance writer, blogger, and home improvement finatic. She loves to write about things that will transform your house into your dream home. Jennifer is a graduate of Texas A&M University. LinkedIn.

215 thoughts on “Review: COREtec Plus Vinyl Plank Flooring”

  1. Avatar

    I did a LOT of research before I decided on Coretec Plus Flooring. I purchased the 7″ wide planks and had it installed about 8 months ago when I replaced the flooring in the home I purchased. I am very happy with the purchase. It’s holding up very well, even when my five-year-old grandson comes over and plays with his toys on the floor. It’s very durable! I see no scratches, dents, or scrapes at all.

    I would very highly recommend Coretec Plus vinyl flooring and would not hesitate buying it again.

  2. Avatar

    We installed COREtec Gold Coast Acacia in our entire southwest facing, with large windows, San Diego condo. We have two large dogs.
    – we like the matte finish for a shiny finish looked horrible with constant sunlight (glare).
    – very comfortable to walk on
    – yes you can tell when it needs cleaned, we then clean it. Which is very easy.
    – no it doesn’t scratch very easily even with two large dogs and sliding furniture.
    – way better than the wood we replaced (remember- two large dogs)
    – this a condo with ocean views and we never would install a poor quality product
    – very confusing are the disparity of comments

  3. Avatar

    I am considering either a Cortec Plus Premium or Cortec Pro Plus HD. Are any of these reviews for either of these products?

  4. Avatar

    Absolutely LOVE this flooring. We have the Coretec plus 7 inch wide planks. The color is Margate Oak ( now discontinued) I installed this myself on my entire first floor. I didn’t use any transition pieces between rooms and it is one continuous floor throughout. Lays great forward or backwards. We’ve had this now for 2 years and it has held up very well and still looks brand new. I’d like to address some of the concerns of other people.
    1. Cupping: I’ve installed my fair share of laminate flooring over the years. The main cause for cupping is when the installer keeps tapping the block with the hammer after the piece has been fully seated, and not leaving the proper gap at walls and door jambs. My floor has zero cupping over 1300 sq ft.
    2. Shows dirt easily: Can’t understand how this is the floorings fault, but dirt is dirt and will be there regardless of flooring type. Our floor is.very dark and yes, it shows every bit of dirt.
    I just get out the broom and dust pan and sweep. When it get too bad, I’ll use the Bona cleaner with microfiber sweeper. Flooring does show foot prints easily ( skin has oil). I just use the Bona cleaner every few days and wear socks most of the time.
    3: Scratches easily: I keep my floor clean, but also have a Great Pyrenees dog, and 3 cats.. It’s funny watching my dog slip and slide trying to get traction when the doorbell rings . The only scratches on my floor are from when she was a puppy and was chewing sideways on the floor on a couple of spots thinking it was real wood. . I also have a small dent in the kitchen area from when I dropped the mixer. I have felt pads on all of my furniture, and the kitchen table chairs are slid in and out everyday.
    Summary: Everyone who comes to our house comments on how nice the floor looks. If you do choose a dark color, be prepared to notice the dirt more.. It’s a fair trade off for the benefit of the appearance in my opinion.
    Follow the manufacturer’s installation instructions, and don’t over seat the planks. Only use recommended cleaners. ( We use the Bona Stone, Tile and Laminate floor cleaner )
    If we ever decide to move again, I’ll definitely be installing this flooring.

    1. Avatar

      Thanks for such a thorough review. I’d love to get your opinion on the texture/grooving. I have the large store sample and when I place the short edge on the wall under the window, you see the very distinct regular pattern of the grooving. When I turn the board 90 degrees with the long side running under window along baseboard, and the sunlight hits it, the pattern is barely noticeable.
      Obviously light in everyone’s home is different and changes throughout the day, but my concern is that seeing a consistent distinct ridged pattern might give less of a “woodlike” look that we are trying to imitate. I have a few other samples of other brands with a more scattered ridging, but not sure the colors or quality are my top choice… so I’m on the fence.
      Thanks for any thoughts!!

  5. Avatar

    Installed Conway Oak, COREtec Pro Plus Enhanced Plank ourselves on our entire second floor and in the entire den over concrete slab, to include our bathrooms. We have had it for over a year now, it’s very durable, easy to clean, water proof and we have had zero issues with it. It looks as if it’s brand new still. We have a dog who is always running around, no scratches made anywhere. We have bamboo flooring in the living room and it’s less durable for sure. Only reason we haven’t replaced it with coretec is because it’s still relatively new. We plan on using more cortec at the farm. Like the manufacturer recommended always use felt padding on furniture, otherwise it’s an amazing flooring product. Those who have issues with it may have some knock off brand, got ripped off, or just bad installation. I wouldn’t get the cheap coretec base model, then again I wouldn’t go with anything cheap for my home, stick to mid grade.

  6. Avatar

    We just installed almost 1300 sf of CoreTec Plus. Horrible. Sound is loud and my flooring dealer did not install it properly. Every other step makes a squishy noise. If your dealer shows you this product, don’t walk away…..run.

    1. Avatar

      Squishy sounds mean the installer did not check the level of your floor and should have used a leveling product before installing the floor. In other words, they were not true professionals, but just a bunch of people installing floors. The product is exemplary and cannot be held responsible for irresponsible installers.

  7. Avatar

    We just moved into our custom home a month ago. Our builder recommended luxury vinyl because it is a raised house with a “floating” floor and tile would be very expensive. We bought from a reputable company. The floor didn’t look like the sample when it was put down, but I wrote that off as a small sample does often look different.
    WELL…after a month in the house…it NEVER looks clean, shows EVERYTHING, and is literally crumbling. It is a grey floor. Feels like there is sand all over it. If I walk barefoot from the bedroom to the kitchen and back, I have to wash the bottoms of my feet because they are dirty. I can washed a section of the floor SEVEN times with a ph neutral cleaner and the terry mop cover (I have a few) is filthy in the same color of grey as the floor each time. A rep from the store is coming out next week. We are going to have to completely replace the entire floor in the whole house.
    The stuff is VERY fussy. I have felt pads under every piece of furniture and chair.
    I would NEVER recommend this stuff to anyone.
    Having read the other reviews online in assorted places, I think we will try to make them pay for us to put something else in.

    Remember the Chinese drywall scandals? Well, I believe this is the Chinese vinyl flooring scandal. I don’t know what is in this stuff and what am I breathing from the out gassing? Just got my oriental and Aubusson rugs back from cleaning. My cleaner says to not put them on this floor as it will ruin them from the dust of the crumbling. So, one room now has rolled up rugs. Not what I expected for my first Christmas in my first really nice house.
    People- beware.

    1. Avatar

      I believe I had the cortec plus XL installed a few years ago after a house fire. After installation the floor immediately started cupping. We filed a claim through the floor company we used. After several months and a visit from the claims inspector our floor was deemed a factory defect. The floor was replaced and is doing the same thing it did the first time.
      The flooring company has stated we can only make one claim. Now I’m stuck with an ugly cupped floor. It’s so bad it looks like tiny hill in my hallway🤦🏻‍♀️

      1. Avatar

        Since the floor can be removed and replaced, I suggest hiring a flooring professional (a real one) who can take the floor out and make sure it is not overseated (tapped on too much when installing) and is given enough room along the edges of the room for the walls to expand and contract. Talk to and go look at three jobs minimum. Better yet just go on Angie’s List and find someone.
        I hope someone can fix this problem for you.

  8. Avatar

    I appreciate everyone’s comments, although it would be helpful to tell us which product you love or hate! Coretec seems to have a few different floors, and many colors! Thanks for helping!

  9. Avatar

    Just installed and major regret . Shows every mark and drop of water and scratches . Seams don’t go together property . . DON’T do it.

  10. Avatar

    Has anyone installed the COREtec Plus Enhanced Tile (12″ X 24″)? I am considering installing in the entire house, but don’t want to make a mistake with over 2K ft of flooring.

  11. Avatar

    CorTec flooring is the worst flooring I have ever had. I cannot believe the money I put out for a more durable floor. The installation was completed last weekend. We haven’t even moved in the furniture and there are many obvious scratches. Every little thing scratches it. I feel like we should walk around with felt on the bottom of our socks. It also always looks dirty. I am greatly regretting not sticking with cheaper laminate.

  12. Avatar

    I am considering Coretec Plus Brockport Oak as part of our upcoming remodel. After reading a ton of specs on all the different Luxury Vinyl Plank floors, I ended up picking Coretec for a few reasons. First, I like the sturdy 8mm thickness. Some brands I liked the color of but we’re only 5.5 mm thick and seemed flimsy. Didn’t have the 20 mil wear layer either, only 12 mi. Also we need floating floor as it’s an old house from 1958 that has some linoleum tile that likely has asbestos glue at the least. Safe if covered, it’s inert unless disturbed by scraping it up, which means expensive removal costs for safety. Our floors are concrete slab underneath and are stable and level, so no issues there.

    Also, we have four cats in a small house and one of them can make some serious mess. So want something much easier to clean than the nasty, nasty cream shag carpet that is on there now.

    Many reviews of other brands had a lot of reports of planks coming up or arriving badly chipped. If the worst thing people are complaining about is spots or footprints, this will be a grand improvement for our house. The Brockport Oak looks pretty natural, unlikely to show dirt, and neutral enough to complement any paint changes we might make over the years. I do not mind putting pads or couch coasters under heavy furniture (we don’t have any particularly huge pieces anyways).

    What would you recommend we put under bookcases? Maybe rectangular boards underneath? Or if bottom is flat is no padding ok? Not talking floor to ceiling or anything, but we do have books.

    Will let you know how it comes out. Will be several months. Gonna buy the flooring now because my builder’s supply place is having a lovely sale in October. Flooring will be last in our remodel, so don’t expect a quick review. We did order a couple samples, and I can post what they feel like, and am gonna stress and scratch test them first. Water damage is unlikely, I live in a dryer part of Texas with a house that will never flood.

    1. Avatar

      We bought the CoreTec because of the the MIL wear layer but it didn’t help. Scratches everywhere and we haven’t even moved in the furniture yet. The thought of how much we spent makes me sick.

        1. Avatar

          Our full board sample of Rocky Mountain oak dented easily when we dropped a light wrench on it. Pro gen LVT did not dent. We are having serious doubts about buying this product. It also didn’t stay snapped together. Two sample pieces had slightly damaged edges that prevented a tight seal. So disappointed because the samples look beautiful. I’m afraid to try it. It will cost over 3k for 700 square feet

          1. Avatar
            Cesar De Los Reyes

            Just completed installation of this brand and type and model. On co rete slab, have dragged furniture around as and holding up well so far and no scratches. Used a reputable flooring company with Brazilian installers. Let’s see …

  13. Avatar

    Just curious if anyone has installed this product right over a concrete floor? I have an enclosed porch that has a concrete slab on grade which is currently carpeted with a thicker pad underneath. Which acts as a great insulator in the winter months were you don’t feel any cold through the flooring on your feet. With this product having only a cork backing does it act as a barrier against the cold coming through the slab? I don’t want to install this stuff if it doesn’t help prevent the whole room from being frigid during the cold winter months coming up through the concrete slab.

    1. Avatar

      I’ve had this floor for over a year and am very happy with its insulated properties during our winter months of 40 degrees. It’s on concrete and it is warmer than the previous carpet that was on the concrete slab.

    2. Avatar
      Theresa Gonsalves

      Hi.. By now you probably have decided on your project. I have installed Coretec Plus XL Enhanced – Appalachian Pine on top of a concrete floor. It has been over a year and it is still in great shape. As I read the comments, I was wondering if we received the same product. It is comfortable to walk on, I can easily see spills even after having been down for a minute (I spilled soda on the floor under the bed and was too lazy to clean it up until I moved the bed a month later) and it cleaned up easily. I haven’t gotten any scratches either. I do have one dent that was caused by my kid dropping a 25 lb bar-bell weight directly on it. I have extra and it can be replaced so I am not stressed.
      I do have one issue with it and that is with what most are saying… I live in Las Vegas and it does show the dirt so I am constantly cleaning it. It also looks kind of dry. I do use the suggested products. I recently took an extra piece and applied a light coat of quick shine floor finish. It made it look absolutely gorgeous. Not too shiny and it doesn’t show the dirt. We are completing an outdoor she-shed and I have enough to put down on the floor in there and I will do the complete floor with Quick Shine as a further test to make sure it doesn’t damage the flooring. So far it is holding up and truly looks amazing.

  14. Avatar

    I renovated my home and had Coretec flooring installed in the basement because it is not cold to the touch and it is supposedly “waterproof”. Shortly after it was installed, my sump pump backed up. I cleaned it up with the wet vac and had a new sump pump installed. In that process a couple boards were removed. I hired a contractor to reinstall new board. What we found is that while the top of the board is “waterproof”, water can still seep into the floor between the seams…..and apparently it can spread as I have so far removed 1/3 of floor trying to figure out how far it had spread. And if water sits there for awhile, guess what you get???? MOLD! I just called the consierge service for Shaw and was told that I need to remove the floor, dry it out and reinstall it. Lets just say I am not happy. So I ask them what to do with the mold….answer…..we are not responsible for that. The rep says that if the floor ever gets wet, you need to remove it and dry it before reinstalling it. Buyer beware. I asked how is one to know if water underneath if the product is supposed to be “waterproof”? No answer…..just pull it up and dry. This product is very deceptively marketed and unless you are happy pulling your baseboards to check and see if anything seeped in every time water gets on the floor, be prepared to have a mold farm in your house.

    1. Avatar

      No deception on coretec’s part. It is reasonable to assume that an entire floor of any manufacture would be removed in a flood situation like a sump pump failure. The waterproof means the Coretec floor planks can be removed, cleaned, dried and reinstalled. “Waterproof” only addresses the plank and not the prevention of water below the laid floor. All of this information is in the Coretec Website.

      All other floors would need to be 100% replaced, so having to clean, dry and reinstall a $10,000 floor seems a small thing to me.

      If you want the wood look with 100% waterproof for the floor and the subfloor, then you need to install wood-look tile.

    2. Avatar
      Theresa Gonsalves

      Most contractors and flooring companies say if drenched in water the floor should be completely removed and dried out. That is with any of these “waterproof” floor products. Your contractor should be aware of this as well as your insurance company.

  15. Avatar

    Can you please tell me. Do I need to off gas Cortec large Tiles? I plan on doing my 2 bathrooms soon. Have picked the color but cannot find the answer to my question…any where. 🙁 I have MCS so must be very careful so need this answer. I have even contacted the company without them ever getting the answer for me. The company must know since they know everything else about it. PLEASE help so I can continue with my project. Thank You…

    1. Avatar

      Jan, did you have the Cortec installed? How did it go? My kids are very sensitive, so I’d love to hear if it was well tolerated. Thanks!

  16. Avatar

    https://coretecfloors.com/en-us/products/coretec-plus-7-plank/blackstone-oak-vv024-00707
    having read all of the reviews, the above link is what we’ve ordered. it is very neutral, which is what i want and will go into a living room, kitchen, dining area and den.
    we have four dogs….
    and we are going through costco. this stuff is not cheap, but the local flooring is even more expensive…
    we are replacing laminate. this is not a fancy house. i’m okay with a floor that isn’t high gloss but i’ve had hard wood and am not doing that again…….i have heavy furniture but i have rugs everywhere……
    i hope i don’t hate this.

    1. Avatar

      I have this exact flooring, but got it cheaper than that!! I love it, but it does get scratches at times from dog bones with sharp edges, but nothing noticeable unless I’m down on my hands and knees cleaning them. Watch little stones stuck in shoes because it will cause little marks.

    2. Avatar

      I installed this exact same flooring 2 years ago and I can honestly say it was money well spent. It looks as good today as when it was first installed. I have 2 very busy grandkids and one english bulldog. Not even the tiniest sign of scratches or wear.The flooring has been put through its paces. Very easy to clean and maintain, and it is trully waterproof. Just a very good product.

        1. Avatar

          I’m with you Melissa!! I guess more people with problems are entering Cortec than those that shopped and read reviews and purchased with no problems. Are we just seeing people with problems and tons are satisfied? On a new build and so much floor, ya just wanna be happy!

          1. Avatar
            Theresa Gonsalves

            Lisa.. I love this product. I am very picky. I purchased the Coretec Plus XL-Enhanced in Appalachian Pine. I live in Las Vegas. I don’t have the problems many have mentioned. I did mention above that I have one dent because my son dropped a 25 lb weight directly onto it. I do clean it with the Shaw product and I just tried Quick Shine on some left over floor pieces ( I still have enough to do another two rooms…over ordered.) and the Quick Shine added the light shine that I wanted. If you want to contact me for pictures, feel free to do so.

    3. Avatar

      So how do you feel now?? We just priced out some core tech plus today for 1450 sqft…. about to pull the trigger until I started reading this forum. 3 dogs, kid on the way and full remodel underway. Curious to know. Our old Laminate seems peeled up due to the dogs’ nails, sliding around and running in every main pathway.

  17. Avatar

    I recently built a new home and did all Cortec Plus through out. I have been in the house only a week and already hate it. It is so dull and every drop of water leaves a spot. I love to go bare foot and it feels like walking on sand. I am sick!!!

    1. Avatar

      I do agree that it does feel like walking on plastic while going barefoot (because that’s what the wear-layer basically is!). However, I’m kind of used to it, but I do really miss the feel of the hardwood under-foot.

      However, I DO NOT miss the instant scratches and denting of the hardwood. Between the scratches from the dog’s nails, dents from dropping utensils, and scratches from sliding chairs, our maple floors went to crap in 2-3 years.

      As for the “dull” feature, I think of this as “matte”. We have the ivory oak (a light-colored floor), so maybe this is an advantage (the dark flooors tend to show more water spotting). Frankly, our previous hardwood showed everything, so I don’t miss it any longer.

      As with anything, there are tradeoffs…

  18. Avatar

    These reviews are clearly in the love it or hate it, so it is confusing. Thinking about putting COREtec Rocca Oak in two basement bedrooms. Want waterproof flooring with the insulation that COREtec seems to provide since it can be chilly down there. I guess I would put felt pads on furniture, but my 13-year old sleeps down there and feel sure he may destroy anything.
    We figured if it worked in the bedrooms, we would put it in our large tv room downstairs as well. We’ve gotten water in there from the stairwell door just once in 7 years (we live in PNW so downpours can be frequent), so we definitely want waterproof floors. I was also thinking about for the laundry room that connects to TV room, but am worried about weight of appliances damaging floor. Of course, the salesperson gives glowing reviews but I’m wondering if anyone has used COREtec in a laundry room. Thanks.

  19. Avatar

    Worst product we have ever had. We live on a lake and only have one small dog under 10 lb and our floor is scratched everywhere. We have only had it a year and a half and are going to need to replace already. It is absolutely not durable, scratch resistant or waterproof. We got water in our basement and the planks literally crumbled when we pulled them up. We also get lots of spots showing up on the floor and dull spots here and there even though nothing was spilled. We have only used the recommended cleaners and run a Roomba daily. And despite pads under furniture it still dents the floor from the weight of couches and chairs. This product does not hold up to normal wear and tear.

    1. Avatar

      Heather, what type of Coretec flooring did you install? They have Coretec Plus, Coretec Enhanced, etc. I’m looking at this brand so would love to know which one you had trouble with.

  20. Avatar

    Very hard to keep clean. Scratches easily. Water
    spots if you drip water. Very disappointed! Considering replacing.

    1. Avatar

      I agree with Sue. I don’t find it easy to clean at all. I end up on hands and knees with a Mr Clean sponge to try to get spots off. And there are so many scratches already. I put this in my whole house and with the new baseboards too, it was $9,000. I wish I had gone with engineered wood. What a huge mistake.

  21. Avatar

    Our vet’s office remodeled and got Coretec pro plus in a darker color and it looks great. You can order 3 samples for free, so I would recommend getting them and “testing” them out. We just got our samples in the mail and I tried scratching it with keys and it did not do anything. We have three dogs and cats and we foster, so once we get ours installed, I will post a review. I think we are going with Monterey Oak Coretec pro plus. Also, they already told us to use Hillway or Bona cleaner only because it’s ph neutral. Nothing is perfect but I have done lots of research and Coretec seems to be the leader in this type of product. Fingers crossed.

    1. Avatar

      Thanks for your review. Any follow up? Can I get the name/contact info of your vet? I’m trying to figure out if I should take the plunge into coretec. Thank you again

  22. Avatar

    I am looking at Coretec Plus in Rocky Mountain Oak. I have a large sample and continue to walk on it to see how I would like and compare the haze look that most have complained about. What I know is that dark colors of most type flooring will show prints. I am removing laminate I had on my floors since 2006 due to water damage. When I would clean my laminate, it was beautiful for about a week or so, and I would wear footies to keep oils from my feet from showing on the floors. So even on my light laminate floors, I could see my footprints. Hard to clean as well.

    I have a southern view and get a lot of sun. My laminate NEVER faded. My concern is will the CORETEC fade?

    Also, hardwood has its pros/cons too (as everything in life does). They are hard to clean, footprints show up on them as well. The great thing about hardwood is they can refinished 2-3 times depending on layer!

    As one commenter said, no floors are perfect. I do believe it is finding what is perfect for you. With that being said, it is a 50/50 chance.

    1. Avatar

      Did you install the Rocky Mountain oak. We are considering it in our basement but the negative reviews regarding dents and scratches concerns me. Our sample dented easily when we dropped things on it to test it out. Pro gen by tarkett did not easily dent, but we don’t like the look or color. The COREtec looks so nice

  23. Avatar

    I have some ten year old 12″ square vinyl tiles in black slate with slate texture that look a little dated but are in perfect, like new condition, despite kids and dogs. I mop it with a Murphy’s Oil Soap solution, about 1/4 C in 4 gallons of warm water. I do not rinse. The floors look great for a couple weeks, then I sweep and mop again.

    I want to buy 1,500 sf of Coretec. Will Murphy’s Oil Soap, in a water solution, hurt Coretec floor finish?

  24. Avatar
    cheryl klenow

    I am thinking of installing COREtec plus ivory coast oak very light in my Florida home.

    Looks like wood grain but light wood grain. I have two small dogs. This is a kind of wood-look that would not show footprints. I have read so many negative reports. I cannot believe it. It would cost me quite a bit to have my living room and all bedrooms done. But I do not move furniture. Any thoughts? This is a light white look.

    1. Avatar

      We had the Ivory Coast oak installed in April and just finished a re-model of our house. Yes, we did things backwards. We have had paint spills, and other construction going on, and everything cleaned up well. We have 2 dogs, an 80 pound lab mix, and a 10 pound mix. I have not noticed any scratches from their nails, and clean up is easy. Yes, the finish is dull and sometimes footprints show, but I never thought of that as an issue. I can’t say enough good about this product. I would definitely do it over again!

  25. Avatar

    The title of the article is the ‘pros and cons of” but the author didn’t include any cons because she is attempting to be an “influencer” and gain the praises of this manufacturer and others to line her pockets. It’s an advertisement, not a genuine opinion.

    1. Avatar
      Floor Critics

      Hi Steve,

      Thanks for your thoughts! All of our reviews are written objectively, and without compensation or incentive from manufacturers (we don’t accept paid-for review offers).

    2. Avatar

      Steve I agree… glowing reports the floor cleans it’s self it’s so perfect…. makes me look to 30 other sites where real moms have mopped the floor and comment on their findings.

  26. Avatar

    I’m considering buying Coretec cork back flooring. After reading all the comments I’m so sure. It seems if you go with a darker color you see more marks from shoes and water spots. I want to go with a lighter color and wonder if this will be a issue. Also my biggest concern is hollow sound or clicking sound when walking on it. It would be installed on a concrete slab. I want my floor to sound solid.

    Any help here would be appreciated.

    1. Avatar

      HATE IT! Husband thought this was the way to go in entire house we bought/Reno’d. It looks AWFUL. Dull, dull, dull & shows every footprint! Thank goodness we are downsizing so have lots of big Oriental rugs/runners/areas. I DO NOT RECOMMEND! A garage maybe..in the home? BIG mistake!

      1. Avatar

        I have been considering this in my living room. Wow, I am not sure now. Are there other floorings that you feel will look better, and be scratch and water resistant?

      2. Avatar
        Patty Woytassek

        We also hate this flooring!! It shows every footprint! And after being on my hands and knees scrubbing this floor it looks dirty!! Never again!

        1. Avatar

          This was in a beach home on Hilton Head that I visited recently. It looked great! I didn’t notice any problems and want to install it in my home now, too.

    2. Avatar

      Hi Jacqueline, in 2016 we installed a glued down, dark Mannington floor which showed footprints, dirt and water spots immediately after mopping. We hated it. The glued boards separated so gaps could be seen and with 2 very large dogs the drool spots were noticeable even after mopping.

      Just recently, we installed a lighter color rigid core, click coretec flooring with the cork backing. My husband was also worried about a hollow sound because we have a fairly large house with cathedral ceilings. The floor is on subfloor and we hear zero hollowness or clicking. And, the coretec product is far superior in quality and looks more real.

      We haven’t had the floors very long but the footprints are not as noticeable and the feel of the floor has a more “real feel”. Feel free to email me in a few weeks. The process of picking out flooring can get overwhelming. Good luck with your floors.

    3. Avatar
      Janine Guarriello

      We removed our hardwood flooring due to scratches from our dog. We installed Coretec Waddington Oak wide plank flooring. It is absolutely wonderful!

      We get so many compliments. Friends find it hard to believe that it is not wood flooring. It does not scratch, it’s easy to clean and always looks beautiful. I have recommended this flooring to other people and they are satisfied as well.

      1. Avatar

        We’re looking to install Waddington oak as well.. Beautiful color!
        I’m seeing reviews about some of the coretec products scratching easily and leaving footprints. What has been your experience with that so far?

  27. Avatar

    Has anyone installed the Coretec Plus Plank HD in Sherwood Rustic Pine? I’m reading a lot of reviews where customers say their floors look dull and hard to clean. Looking for some feedback before I purchase. Also have a 90lb lab.

    1. Avatar

      With that big dog I wouldn’t get Coretec if I were you. I used to recommend their products to my clients but no more. Big dogs seem to tear their floors up too quickly. Now I recommend Flooret’s rigid LVP line to all of my clients. That’s what I’d recommend for you too with a large dog.

    2. Avatar
      Christine Combs

      The installers are laying ours as I type. I researched thoroughly before deciding on a Cortec plank. My reasons for choosing this were 1-the highest wear layer (20ml) that I could find. We have a Pitty that loves the inside much more than outside. 2-She is also a digger which resulted in muddy paws occasionally and more often, simply wet feet. (Regular laminate not an option and carpet had to go.) I chose a dark color to work well with our fireplace colors, furniture, as well as muddy feet. 3-I also wanted a quieter, softer step (dog again) and found that the cork back would provide both. They are halfway through a 15×30 living room now. They have walked in tennis shoes, handled, pounded and hand wiped all over and I have yet to see any prints. It’s too soon to tell, and I’ll update if my review changes any , but so far I love it! It really is a beautiful floor.

  28. Avatar

    Reading lots of comments about the floor being “dull” or “hazy.” I wonder if that varies by the finish. We were looking at Red River Hickory and Dakota Walnut, and these samples look dull. We are also looking at Carolina Pine and Gold Coast Acacia and those sample do not look dull. I would love to hear from anyone who has any of these as to what you think of them. Thank you!

    1. Avatar

      Hi Glen, the haze on floors comes from using the wrong cleaning product. I know this because it happened to me. Once I went with a recommended cleaning product the haze went away. You can also use warm water with cider vinegar to clean your floors.

      1. Avatar

        This product’s maintenance instructions specify using a *neutral* pH cleaner. Vinegar is certainly NOT neutral.

      2. Avatar

        Vinegar is expressly mentioned as not to be used on the Coretec Site.

        If you use a cleaner not specifically noted by the manufactured, expect bad results.

        Everyone should stop following the latest Pinterest recommendation and read up on what the product you spent money on recommends you use for best results.

  29. Avatar

    Very difficult to keep clean and we don’t even have pets. We were told to use Armstrong Once ‘N Done for cleaning purposes with just one of those stick push pads like E-cloth or Norwex. Junk gets stuck in the crevices and grooves and I swiff it first but that doesn’t really work, so I have to vacuum first. Had to put felt pads on every single chair and piece of furniture that is on that floor. Also was told that the floor was UV protected which it isn’t. Now I have to keep my curtains closed. Nice.

    1. Avatar
      CoretecFan-not-a-sales-person

      The PDF you submitted is for Shaw Flooring products not Coretec. It does have Coretec in fine print in the upper corner, but every mention throughout specifically says “Shaw” over and over again. If it is not mentioned on the Coretec site, I would be leary of following any directions for cleaning my premium priced, brand new floor.

      Go here for how to care for your Coretec floor from the people who actually made it:
      https://coretecfloors.com/en-us/faqs

      1. Avatar

        Shaw bought US Floors, which owned Coretec, in 2016, so maybe that’s why they were given Shaw Flooring info for Coretec products.

  30. Avatar
    Hilary Barrett

    We had a kitchen sink leak in Dec 2018 that damaged our engineered hardwood floors. Since our whole downstairs was hardwoods, our insurance paid to have our whole downstairs flooring replaced. We researched for over a month before choosing CoreTec Enhanced Manila Oak. I love the light color, how realistic it looks and the beveled edges. My only complaint after 2 months of having it, is the haze look it has.

    We have 3 big dogs and we are a family of 7 so lots of foot traffic. This haze makes paw prints constantly show! I mop, they look beautiful and then not even 5 min later when foot/paw traffic comes through, they look dirty with all the smudge prints. I can’t figure out how to clean this haze off to prevent the smudge foot/paw prints from showing up. I googled “how to get paw prints to stop showing up on LVP flooring” and discovered this is a common issue, with other brands too. I will continue to find a solution. If CoreTec Enhanced Manila Oak floors didn’t have the haze, I would say they are perfect.

    1. Avatar

      After cleaning floors with detergent/cleaner, rinse the floors with water only mop and will remove the haze. If there is a lot of build up on the floors from cleaning agents, it may be best to use a sponge mop (water only) to get a good clean. Side note: same as if you clean countertops with a cleaner they should also be wiped with water only (actually indicated in the directions.)

  31. Avatar

    Did anyone get the COREtec Plus Premium 9″ flooring? Wanted to see if anyone reviewed that particular one? Thanks.

  32. Avatar
    gerald downing

    Purchased 300sf of Coretec tile, 18″x24″ with cork backing. Shaw’s product claims it is waterproof. Well, the product cupped on the edges which was installed over a brand new linoleum floor. There was no moisture or direct sunlight that their inspector said caused the product to cup. It was the cork that swelled from regular humidity. All cork swells and is not waterproof because it swells. The width of the cork underlayment was 18″x24″ which is a lot of cork to be covered. Had to throw it away. No help from Shaw.

  33. Avatar

    I agree with the comments regarding dull and “dirty”. My mistake was to choose a rustic-look floor. It is hard to clean. I should have read reviews first. We were sold on the waterproof feature. My mistake!

    1. Avatar

      Agree, it appears dirty and filled with smudges. I have 2 small dogs and walk around in socks or slippers 99% of the time. Shoe free house. Highly disappointed… I researched these floors but it wasn’t until I had them installed (1300 SF) and experienced the smudges, and tried to see if others experienced this and lo and behold, seems like a known issue. $12K later and waiting years to make the “right” choice, I wish I had gone with hardwood floors for the same price. So much for ease of care, wear and durability if it looks dirty all the time it negates all of that.

    2. Avatar

      Just got the Coretec Vinyl Floor and I am soooo disappointed ! Shows all footprints and is way too dull and worn looking! Would not recommend!!!

  34. Avatar
    Mary McCarrick

    Is coretec dent proof? Planning on having many parties. Also, if it is not dent proof how do you rearrange furniture?

    1. Avatar

      Stay away!!! This stuff is incredibly easy to scratch. If you’re going to rearrange furniture you’ll be sorry.

  35. Avatar

    Understand that no rugs with rubber or latex backing are to be used on Coretec flooring? Can you use these types of area rugs if you use a felt padding?

    If there is an area rug that is NOT rubber or latex backing, can you put that rug down without a pad and not scratch the floor? What do you recommend for an area rug on Coretec?

    1. Avatar

      I’ve had my Manila Oak Cortec for almost a year and I LOVE LOVE LOVE it. I had about 1000 sq ft put in my walkout basement. There’s a bedroom and large quilting room, bathroom, laundry room and tv area. Tons of snow just outside as well. I have felt pads on furniture that needs to be moved. I’m buying another home and installing Cortec in 2600 sq ft. It holds up so well under traffic and 2 dogs as well. Everyone comments on it when they see it saying “I love your wood floors,” then I educate them on vinyl.

      1. Avatar

        Hi Susan~ What style/color/quality wood plank did you get? I’m very concerned about the above comments stating it looks dull after cleaning.. I’m thinking of the lighter variety of wood colors.

        Thanks,
        Diane

      2. Avatar
        Hilary Barrett

        Susan, what do you clean your Manila Oak floors with? Our whole downstairs is Manila Oak and I love it minus how it easily shows paw prints. I can never seem to keep them looking clean with the haze it has which allows paw prints to constantly show.

  36. Avatar

    Got Coretec LVP flooring through COSTCO and Shaw and had them install it August, 2017. We got the Ivory Coast oak color for our 750 sf condo. It was every bit as expensive as real hardwood would have been BUT its superiority became very evident not long after we had it installed. The day after Christmas, 2017, we awoke at 5 a.m. to the sound of dripping water and walked into the living room to find almost 1/2 inch of water covering the entire area!

    An under sink water filter had failed and had been squirting water for an unknown length of time. We immediately shut off the water main and proceeded to mop up using every towel we owned. We were afraid we would have to redo all the flooring but once it dried NONE of the planks buckled, mildewed, discolored or needed to be replaced. It has been over a year since that day and our floors still look great. They REALLY are waterproof.

    I’d hate to even imagine the issues we would have experienced had we gone with hardwood. We love them. They are easy to keep clean, look natural and worth the money.

  37. Avatar

    I installed Distinction IPE on my 1st floor and stairs. It has been 6 months and I only have a couple scratches. This is a dark floor, and as others mentioned it is dull and shows footprints easy. Every time I clean it wet it looks great. HD and colors. Dry it looks boring, dull, and dusty. I probably voided my lifetime warranty by top-coating the floor with Rejuvinate All Floor Restore from Home depot. This product made the colors pop out and gave a nice shine to the floor like clear-coated lumber. Looks 10x better than out of the box.

    Six months later the topcoat is showing some wear… mostly from where my boy dog has been trying to mark his territory around the furniture. I clean it up with the Rejuvinate LVT cleaner and it works great, but eventually I miss a spot for a day or few and after I clean it the top coat has been damaged. This brings back the dull finish, and I need to be careful not to overlap the top coat I applied or it will be visibly shinier. But after all I would do the same thing again, but maybe apply 2 coats to the floor. This was done by using a 12″ x 24″ microfiber flat mop (like an oversized Swiffer) and working my way out of each room one at a time. Pour a 1/4″ line of coating every 2-3 feet and swab the deck following the grain of the planks.

    My only complaint installing the product was that there were more defects and small scratches from people who packed the boxes. They were stacked randomly face to face, then cork to face, etc. They were not stacked by machine! Self install turned out better than the so-called wood floor installers that crawled around with dirty knee-pads, and kept trying to work it like a wood floor.

    You are better off installing it by yourself than using a flooring contractor… unless the installer has done a few LVP floors previously.

    BTW: Anyone who gets gaps didn’t take the time to click and tap the interlocking sides / ends first. Manufactured click and lock is not idiot proof, but take the time and look at your seams prior to running the next course or you will create your own problems… you can’t just smack it into place after it is down.

    Happy with the product for my house, but not sure about rental property installs.

  38. Avatar

    I bought coretec plus XL 9″ x 6′ plank and a absolutely love it. When buying this product I didn’t like the enhanced xl beveled edge in this size. It wasn’t realistic looking to me, being a floor finisher. I own a 120 lb Rottweiler who is very rough and floor is holding up very well. Also get a lot of compliments on this floor.

    1. Avatar

      How are you loving your floor almost 1 yr later? I’m looking at brown low variation Alexandria Oak no GREY floor let me know

  39. Avatar

    I absolutely HATE my Coretec and we spent a ton to get it in our entire house. The dull finish always looks dirty and it shows every single footstep. It never looks clean. I care for it as recommended and it always has streakmarks, smudges and prints. Biggest regret ever. I can’t believe it is allowed to be sold.

    1. Avatar

      I’m wondering what your color was as well. We are getting ready to install Duxbury Oak in coretec pro plus. Did you install a really dark color?

    2. Avatar

      If I can save one person from not buying these floors, please read the reviews. These floors are horrible and Cortec does not stand by their product. Mine were completely scratched after the first month.

      1. Avatar

        I am considering both products. In your professional opinion what about the floret flooring makes it superior? The flooring people near me say the 20 mm wear layer vs 40 in flooret doesn’t mean anything in scratch resistance or wearability. I have 3 large dogs and need flooring that I won’t want to replace in 3-5 years.

    3. Avatar

      Karen, I’m with you on this. My floor shows every footstep and never looks clean. I’ve been on my hands and knees too many times trying to get rid of water spots and tracks left from “socked” feet and tennis shoes. I really hate this stuff.

    4. Avatar

      Karen I could have written your review! Exactly my complaint. I spend way too much time cleaning! Grrrrr.

    5. Avatar

      This product is crap. I use the recommended cleaner, and I still have shoe tread marks, paw prints, drips, dents, everything. You have to mop it several times a day and then it only looks good when is still wet; otherwise, it is dull. And as soon as one person or pet walks on it, all of your hard work is gone.

    6. Avatar

      We hate ours too. We have a really dark color to match all our woodwork. Always looks dirty. Wish we never did this.

  40. Avatar

    I had purchased a trafficmaster water proof flooring from Home Depot in attempt to replace the cheap laminate I purchased there two years ago. I spent over $1000 to have a 300 s/f area done and a year and a half later just couldn’t take it any more. My floor started to reek from my 15 year old Jack Russel Terrier having accidents. Oh believe me, I cleaned up with neutralizers and pet defense cleaners, but that did not stop the order. As well, my laminate swelled up everywhere…

    So I went back and pretty much had to do my own research on the materials. I started to install the Traffic Master LVP and the edges where very brittle and easy to break. I had gaps that wouldn’t close all the way and the flooring felt really hard and cold. So I started to go with my gut and returned the flooring. After I continued to research I came across COREtec again. I had a friend who didn’t like COREtec because of the price, he was the one who suggested HomeDepot, lol.

    I decided to take the plunge and paid extra to get the COREtec. I have the Red River Hickory COREtec Plus. And me and ESPECIALLY my wife and Dog love the flooring. It’s been about a year now and no more nasty smell, very easy to clean but still have a couple of scratch marks only because I dragged a box across it which had a staple underneath. The same box scratched my garage slab as well, lol (my fault). Overall I absolutely love my COREtec floor and would highly recommend this product to all who are looking for a stable LVP floor. The price is worth the extra expense in my book.

    1. Avatar

      Has anyone installed CoreTec Plus Carolina Pine? Thinking of installing in 1300 sq ft condo, including kitchen. Any comments appreciated.

      1. Avatar

        That is exactly what I’m looking at. It’s not super dark so I don’t think the shoe tread would be an issue.

      2. Avatar
        Clay Schmelling

        We installed it in the kitchen and love the warm color and the rustic look of it. It does have dark areas as well, so I made black walnut thresholds into the surrounding rooms and it matches very well. One of the cats like to be frisky and runs in there and spins on the floor. We put it in an old 1890 victorian and it looks a lot like the old tongue and groove subfloor might have looked after so many years of wear. We are happy with it.

        1. Avatar

          We’ve been looking at various LVPs for many months from Home Depot Lifeproof to retailers Paradigm and now COREtec Plus. We live in a humid climate but have ac on most of the time. Reviewers here are lovers or haters of COREtec so I am very confused.

          We have no pets and houseguests occasionally so the wear is not heavy. I am concerned about the description of haze, the swelling of the cork strata and fading in sunny rooms. We have a modest budget for 2000sq’. Currently there is a $3.99 sale on some of their Pacifica line at American Carpet One and we are very inclined toward the Ash Koa or Rosewood they carry. Reviewers suggested Costco (which we are big fans of) but wonder if they carry a lesser level? Any comments will be much appreciated. Thank you.

  41. Avatar

    We had Cortec HD installed in the lower level of our home about 6 weeks ago. We live on a lake with a 40 lb lab mix and have a hot tub that is right outside our door, so lots of water exposure and pets. Replaced linoleum and carpet with this product and love it. Yes, we have to vacuum it daily as we can see the black dog hair much easier now. Yes, we have felt pads on all of the furniture legs. No scratches from the dog or shoes so far. We had Tigerwood cherry floors in our previous home with children, dogs and a pool and decided never again due to scratches, water exposure and fading. No flooring is perfect for every situation but we are happy with our decision.

  42. Avatar

    I have COREtec One installed, it is the best Flooring I have seen. The bad reviews I see must not be COREtec One, they have to be knock off LVP flooring. We have Labrador Retrievers and they can’t scratch it. Furniture sliding across it has not scratched it. I recommend COREtec one by US Flooring to everyone.

  43. Avatar

    I’m just so confused now, how can some people say the flooring is terrible & scratches easily & others who have had the flooring for years say it’s still perfect with no scratches??? It sounds like there are good & bad batches of this flooring!

  44. Avatar

    After reading all comments, I need help. I am wanting to install Coretec Plus Premium, in Nobel Oak. Any comments or suggestions are very much appreciated. Thank you in advance!

    Debbie. Mentor Ohio

  45. Avatar

    I have Cortec Plus XL. Just installed. It is beautiful, no scratches even after furniture moved in. I clean with the Hilyer cleaner. Beautiful. Not sure why others had issues. I had it professionally installed, 1900 square feet. Love it!

  46. Avatar

    I installed a CoreTec PLUS Weathered Concrete VV033-01803 or 50LVT1803 18.5″x24″ planks 10 months ago in the kitchen/bay area. It has performed flawlessly! EXCELLENT stuff! Locked tight, no scratches. Look beautiful. I am going to do a workout room with it now. LOVE IT!

    1. Avatar

      I recently had coretec plus installed in my master shower walls and shower pan. I love it. Next week im having my pool drained and having it done with the coretec.. Also throwing around the idea of getting the neighbors to chip in and have our whole street done!

      1. Avatar

        We had our street done last week. It looks great! This winter even rode over with chains on and guess what, no scratches! My neighbor had his teeth removed and replaced with the white marble coretec plus HD and his smile looks fantastic and guess what, no scratches!

  47. Avatar

    Has anyone purchased the Coretec ONE?

    Just read a lot of reviews but not on that one. This one does not have a backing on it.

    1. Avatar

      We had Coretec One installed on bathroom, kitchen, family room and hallway floors. A 1/8″ cork sheeting is layed down on top of the subfloor first, with the Coretec One on top of that. The Coretec Plus has the cork integrated into the planks. Three months, no scratches from the GSD chasing our cats. We keep sand and dirt cleaned up as this is very abrasive. I applied felt pads on all furniture to help protect it. Easy to clean, beautiful grain and color.

  48. Avatar

    Have coretec plus premium. Installed only months ago. My main concern was sound below. This has dampened the sound as much as any flooring product could – easily 50% QUIETER OR MORE. Trom research it is the best product around for that, and for a kitchen (didn’t therefore want solid wood, pure cork…). Looks great, but then I don’t have any dogs, or kids… yet.

  49. Avatar

    Hi, just wondering if you have installed your Coretec floor and how satisfied are you with it? We are getting ours installed this week. I had done prior research but did not find this page until today. Now I’m having second thoughts. Scary to think I might have made an expensive mistake.

    1. Avatar
      Bonnie Gramllich

      Margaret.. I’m in your shoes just now. Worried sick. What did you end up doing and how did you like it? I’ve ordered Rustic Slate vinyl tiles. Thanks, Bonnie.

      1. Avatar
        Richard Griffiths

        Hi Bonnie, we are planning on the same tile as you mentioned. Did you put it down and if so, how is it working out?
        Dick

    2. Avatar

      I just had it installed in my living room and hall yesterday. It is beautiful but now, after reading some of these reviews, I’m worried I might have made an expensive mistake. Keeping my fingers crossed!

  50. Avatar

    We have an entire house of Cortec Plus Dakota Walnut. They are full of scratches and I agree are hard to keep clean. The worst problem by far is that the floor is separating and bulging in places. The separations get full of sand and gravel and even a shop vac won’t get them out. The bulging areas where it looks tight look terrible. We would remove it but it was expensive, the company should replace it. The idea is good, I have four dogs… but they need to follow through.

    1. Avatar

      Haha… you must have had a team of chimps install it. Either that or you’re the competition spreading FUD. Coretec doesn’t even make a Dakota Walnut silly head.

  51. Avatar

    Coretec is the oldest and best LVP on the market. I don’t know why people on here think they can drag appliances across ANY FLOOR and not leave damaging marks or scratches. THIS ISN’T CONCRETE FOLKS! Coretec takes the same precautions (coasters on furniture, children playing with ice picks) as any other flooring. Having said that, IT IS WATERPROOF CHEMICAL PROOF SPILL PROOF WARP PROOF as opposed to wood being none of the above.

  52. Avatar

    I am not writing this to bash any product. I bought and installed the COREtec Plus 7 Inch Wide Plank, Color Name/Item Alabaster Oak, Thickness 8 mm. It looked very pretty. We put it in the entire house. After much research it seemed like it was the perfect fit. Well, bringing the appliances in the house was a mission since everything seemed to scratch or scuff the floors. Like others have expressed, everything leaves a mark, even drops of water and when you used damp cloth or mop as suggested it is very hard to leave free of marks. One major con – this particular color is matte finish. I wanted shine and did not realize that.

  53. Avatar
    Linda M. Kitchens

    I am currently considering either CoreTec Plus HD or engineered hardwood. The 100% waterproof, pet and kid proof sounds awesome. Retail store says they are so easy to upkeep and I am almost 70. We do live in a wet area but we have a dehumidifier installed under house and have had not trouble with 100% solid hardwood floors. The house is 12 yrs old, but we have lived here only 4 years. I can touch up dings on hardwood with a pen and it is so nice. I occasionally use Bona and a swiffer, but mostly just vacuum.

    Now I am confused by some loving CoreTec Plus and others totally disappointed. I am leaning back toward engineered wood manufactured by the same company who made our solid hardwood. Our solid has been discontinued just this year. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

    1. Avatar

      I just had COREtec Floors installed as they were highly recommended by my builder. I am extremely disappointed! I wish I had seen them installed somewhere prior to purchasing, but only samples were available. I should have considered that a sign that there were no floors of COREtec to view, I suppose. These floors are dull and lifeless. I guess that makes sense as they are PLASTIC, which is how they look, feel and sound. Such an expensive mistake. I am angry and sick over this decision. My daughter keeps cleaning them in hopes that I like them better, but there is no washing the ugly off of these floors. Now I am rug shopping to cover them, so even more money. I am so embarrassed and ashamed of them that I do not even want anyone to come over.

      1. Avatar

        Hi there,

        I am sorry you were disappointed in the floors. I’m wondering if you would not mind saying what color/model you installed?

        Thanks,
        Amy

  54. Avatar

    Thinking about putting CoreTec Plus in our cabin in north Idaho. Cabin is not heated for most of the winter. Will this be a problem?

    1. Avatar
      Kevin with Abbey Carpet

      Yes, this could be a problem. Temperatures need to be maintained between 65° and 85°. Coretec’s biggest problem is sunlight, it cannot handle direct sunlight for very long. Temperatures exceed its tolerance and it will expand on you.

      1. Avatar

        I could not find any information on temperature requirements. This would definitely pose a big issue for our seasonal homeowner who wants to use in a unheated 3 season room. Can you direct me to that information so I can properly educate them on this? Thank you!!

  55. Avatar

    I’m amazed that anyone is having issues with Coretec. I believe it’s the best product on the market. I installed it in my all seasons room about 3-years ago. The room is used daily. It still looks the same as it did the day I installed it, with the exception of one small ding from dropping a hammer off of a ladder while working on the ceiling.

    When I go on vacation in the winter, I turn the heat off in room, which get to about 45-degrees. It has never separated or buckled. Very pleased. I will use it again when I remodel the master bathroom.

    Anyone considering purchasing Coretec and is worried by some of the reviews here, I did a lot of research before I bought it in 2014. There is no product that is better on the market. Compare the specs. See for yourself.

  56. Avatar

    I have Coretc in three rentals and a commercial retail store. It has held up perfectly and as expected. What a bunch of whiners on this forum. A grain of dirt scratched your floor? Several people spouting off here seem to be professional product bashers. Go get real jobs you whiners.

  57. Avatar

    Trying to install the COREtec plus weathered concrete lvt. The planks are 24 x 18.5 inches. I’m going over a perfectly level ceramic tile floor. (Didn’t want to chisel out old floor). I have installed many floors. This is the most difficult floor I have ever installed. The 18.5 inch side is very difficult to ‘tap’ flush. The width of the plank torques and it is not an easy fit. I have spent over 20 hours on 850 sq ft and still not happy. The narrow planks are much easier. I am now looking at glueing down this floor. It would be much easier to trim the locking part from the tile and glue down. Has anyone used glue to install these tiles?

    1. Avatar
      Kevin with Abbey Carpet

      Yes, you can clue coretec down with a cork adhesive. You can’t start on exterior walls or your longest walls. Typically with the tiles you need to do a 3-4-5 triangle and start in the middle of the floor and work your way out.

  58. Avatar

    Initially I loved the floor as I put it in a craft room. Thought it would be perfect, but little did I know that the flooring can’t stand any type of wheeled chairs. The minute layer of vinyl peeled off and the flooring seemed to separate and come up. Finally had to put masking tape on it so it wouldn’t come up anymore. We had a representative come out and inspect the flooring. They asked all kinds of questions which I answered honestly including how I cleaned the floor, how often and with what. I only used Ph neutral cleaner and a vacuum. End result–denied my claim. I see lots of advertisements on the internet with wheeled chairs, so they should fix their advertising. I am really unhappy with the manufacturer. Don’t buy any of this flooring. Fortunately my dealer took care of me at their expense. I am most grateful.

  59. Avatar
    Arleen Mallon

    Installed vinyl plank in Carolina pine. Love the look but hard to keep clean. Every drop leaves a mark and when wiping up drops of water or spills leaves a lot of streaking. Have to clean a whole area just to get rid if the streaks. Don’t think I would install again because of the maintenance.

  60. Avatar

    The salesman claimed that the Cortec vinyl planks were waterproof, pet proof, kid proof, and scratch resistant. Having lost just about everything to the Harvey floods, this product sounded ideal as I tried to put my house back together. Even before I moved back into my house, there were scratches throughout. Putting felt coverings on the bottom of furniture has not kept the floors from scratching. My grandkids can’t bring their toys out of the bedroom to play because they cause scratches. The floors look pretty, as long as nothing is placed on them or people/pets don’t walk on them. VERY VERY disappointed in the product.

  61. Avatar

    We were thinking of putting this floor in a condo where the noise factor is a problem. Wood and tile are not allowed. What is the noise factor of this floor? Will the people below be able to hear us walking in high heels?

  62. Avatar

    Wow! Was about to purchase COREtec plus for my home…but these reviews! My *main* thing is that the floor is durable, easy to clean, and won’t scratch with my 70lb pup!

    1. Avatar

      We now have three dogs, a old golden retriever and two wild golden pups. They are crazy players, all three, zooming through our house. Not a scratch on our Coretec Plus floors, and very easy to deal with training accidents with these floors.

  63. Avatar

    Two years ago, we decided to install Coretec Plus Nantucket Oak throughout our cottage. We have two large labs that visit regularly, and at one point had nine show dogs in the house at the same time for a weekend dog show. I also have seven grandkids (ages 2-13) who spend time at the beach house. Needless to say, there is a ton of sand that gets tracked in. After two years, there is not a scratch. I love, love, love this floor. As soon as people come in the house, they remark about how much they love our floors. I plan to install Coretec in our other house soon.

    My only word of advice is to heed the advice about maintaining heating and cooling at consistent levels. Also, we had our floor professionally installed. A local restaurant did not, and there are now gaps between the planks. Unless you really know what you are doing, spend the money to have it installed correctly.

    1. Avatar

      It’s good to see a comment like this. We also live at the beach, not so many dogs or grand kids but my husband is a messy chef and sometimes I think he lives in a barn. We are remodeling after Hurricane Florence in NC, trying to make the right decision for our floor, small living room, kitchen combined around 500 sq. I am confused after all the negatives. Looking at Carolina Pine.

  64. Avatar

    Have had the flooring for 6 months. I have a 45lb dog and have not experienced any scratching at all. Floor is easy to clean. I used a mop and light pad for cleaning. I use Bona to clean but am going to try vinegar as suggested. My problem with the floor is I don’t have the shine as I did with wood floors. However my wood floors were really damaged by my dog. That was my reasoning for getting vinyl plank floors. For this reason I am happy I went with Coretex flooring!

  65. Avatar

    We installed COREtec Plus in June of 2017. The color is “Distinction Ipe” which is a darker color. We chose it because it coordinated nicely with our existing oak hardwood, we have a dog, kids and a pool, plus it had great reviews. As many have said, it scratches easily. I invested in felt pads on all chairs, but if one little piece of sand gets under it, you wind up with a white scratch. I’m very disappointed. I would NOT recommend this flooring. Anyone have a product that they recommend for hiding the scratches? I have no problem with stains or footprints as others have mentioned. I use OdoBan ph neutral, no-rinse. Online ordered a gallon from home depot – shipped to store for free. It’s concentrated and I think the gallon will make a lifetime supply. It seems to work well for cleaning.

    1. Avatar

      Hello, sorry to hear you are unhappy with your floor. I am so excited about CoreTec but then get so scared when reading reviews like this.

      I am also on the fence about color and Distinction IPE is my front runner, do you have any pictures in your rooms you could share with me? The only one I can find is the one stock photo from Coretec. If so please send to me at (removed – posting personal phone numbers prohibited). Thanks!

      1. Avatar

        I came back to this website to see if anyone had posted a fix for the scratches. To clarify my scratching issues – it happened with the dining chairs. We installed felt pads on all of our furniture. But if a dining chair gets a grain of sand/tiny gravel under it and an adult drags it with their weight on it, it leaves a very noticeable white scratch. I suppose it’s scratching the clear wear layer and it shows because our color, Distinction IPE, is dark.

        Also, the scratches are perpendicular to the graining, so it shows even more. The flooring is run throughout our open-concept living/dining/kitchen areas and really is beautiful – it’s a matte finish and is easy to keep clean. The areas that we walk on are still in beautiful shape and it is 1-1/2 years later. I don’t have trouble with streaking or spots or anything like that. It gets dripped on every time I load the dishwasher. I usually just spot clean with a damp paper towel. My heart just sinks when I look under the dining table, and because of that, I would not recommend. If anyone has an easy way to buff out the scratches, please let me know.

  66. Avatar

    I originally wanted to install Home Depot’s Lifeproof Fresh Oak ($2.99/sq. ft.), but the guy who is going to install it told me that the wear layer isn’t very good. He steered me over to Coretec. I haven’t installed anything yet, but am reconsidering the Coretec based on the comments here that it is susceptible to scratches–I have 3 Shih Tzus, and one of them likes to scratch and “nest.” Am I better off getting the cheaper LifeProof option or Coretec? Or should I be looking at another brand altogether? I’m staying away from carpeting because the dogs are seniors and occasionally have accidents. Thanks!

    1. Avatar

      Mannington is the most scratch proof, they have a video where they take a quarter and scratch a competitor floor and then theirs and it does not scratch. I thought ok maybe a gimmick or trick in the video but nope, I did it myself with my two samples and I could NOT scratch the Mannington. Lower price point all same thickness etc.

    2. Avatar

      We had Cortec Plus LVP Quincy Oak installed in our kitchen and bathroom 6 mos ago. I used Bona Stone, Tile & Laminate Floor cleaner as spelled out in their maintenance instructions. After 6 months, I started seeing spots, worn areas where we do walk and now the floor is dull in places. The mfr said I was using the wrong cleaner (even though it is exactly what their website said to use) and sent me a bottle of cleaner to use that was supposed to fix the problem. It didn’t fix anything. Now they are sending someone out to “look at it”. Like some of the others I spend a lot of time trying to make it look clean. Not satisfied at all. Sorry I bought it.

  67. Avatar

    Wow! We have just settled on COREtec Plus HD and now I’m second guessing our decision. No pets and just the two of us and a grandson before and after school. We want the beveled plank look as that is what makes it look more realistic and somewhat match the hardwood we have had for 25 years. More info from those who have this please..

    1. Avatar

      We have had the Cortec floor throughout our home for 11 months now. We have moved to a retirement community so there are no young children in our home. We did have a dog and now we have a cat. I took quite a long time to pick out our flooring and we are very happy that we settled with the Cortec product.

      My husband and I love, love, love it! It is easy to keep clean and we have received numerous compliments on the flooring. It looks beautiful and I’m really much happier with it than when I had hardwood floors throughout my other home. It seems much sturdier to me – if that makes any sense. Of course we did have a big dog then which probably contributed to some of the floor scratching. I hope you enjoy your flooring, I think it is the best purchase that we have made in our new home.

  68. Avatar

    Anyone have an issue with cupping with COREtec? I’m a contractor and we installed 675sqft of it on a basement floor (concrete) in a new home. The directions state that you DO NOT have to put a vapor barrier down, so we didn’t. It’s cupping bad. And it isn’t even being occupied yet.

    1. Avatar

      I am having a problem with scratches from my little dog. We have only had our COREtec floor for a week and my dog scratched the floor. I thought it was suppose to be more durable. We have the luxury COREtec.

      1. Avatar

        We are having the same problem with our COREtec floors. We just moved in April 12, 2018 and builder is denying the scratches which are evident to everyone else. Not happy!

    2. Avatar

      I installed 2000 sq ft and it cupped, was told it was a manufacturer flaw so the company replaced it. Now I think it’s doing it again, am not impressed. Did you replace?

    3. Avatar

      We had a professional install for over 2000 sq ft of the Coretec Plus XL planks.

      Less than 6 months later there was some cupping. The manufacturer replaced all the floors at no cost.

      Our new floors have been in 11 months and are fantastic. We have found the floors to be comfortable under our feet, easy to clean (we vacuum and light mop) and have received many, many favorable comments from friends and family.

      Our experience has been nothing less than excellent.

      1. Avatar

        I’m a retired general and ceramic tile contractor with 39 years of experience, and also an International Code Council building inspector. I installed several hundred square feet of COREtec Plus in a friend’s house and now within a year it has developed gaps in heavy traffic areas. The local distributor was annoyed that he didn’t get the job, and incidentally underestimated the quantity by 25%. I called the manufacturer to have them send out a rep to determine the problem and they will only deal with the distributor. How did you get the factory to inspect the cupping problem?

    4. Avatar

      I’m not sure if “cupping” is similar to “peaking”, which is the issue we’re having with the butt ends lifting just enough to break the flat lie of the planking. It is inconsistent throughout the floor (two levels at about 950 sq. ft.) No sunlight hits the floor and 1/4″ expansion room was left consistently around the edges. The flooring contractor has been informed and say that they are waiting to hear from the manufacturer’s rep. Not satisfied with their slow response. Has anybody else had this problem?

  69. Avatar

    Cortec plus was installed and when I spot cleaned the area, it left a streak area where it was spot cleaned. Used just a damp cloth and you can see where it was spot cleaned. How do you eliminate this problem? What type cleaner is best and type cloth to use?

    1. Avatar

      Once and Done by Armstrong is the best thing to use on it. Or vinegar and water. Don’t use anything else. A lot of cleaning products are wax-based and can ruin the floor. Hope this helps you.

    2. Avatar

      OdoBan is a great inexpensive product. Make sure it’s the “No Rinse
      Neutral pH Floor Cleaner”.. Home Depot carries it (less than $10/gal.)
      My local store doesn’t stock it so I bought online (no shipping) and picked it up at the store. I just use an inexpensive mop & frequently rinse it out.

  70. Avatar

    We purchased CORTEC XL-E about a year ago and absolutely love it. A quick damp mop and done! No left over foot prints, but we’ve been careful not to walk back through a room right after mopping it, until the floor is dry. Especially love the cork-padded backing, and the feel of the “wood” as it’s not super slick like ceramic. Surprised at the negative comments. True, if you want really “shiny” wood like you get with true hardwoods and coats of “poly” applied, then CORTEC XL-E is not for you. We’ve found CORTEC-XL-E to be a great product, especially for seniors!

  71. Avatar

    This stuff is terrible! Biggest mistake ever! Just installed Coretec Plus flooring and it scratches extremely easily. Any little grains of sand or dirt or even plastic pads under your furniture will scratch the floor. I have felt pads under my furniture and it still somehow scratches when moved. Water stains, footprints, etc. all show.

    Run far away from this stuff!

  72. Avatar

    I’ve been in my house one month. I have felt pads under all furniture because I was told to be careful when moving big items because they may scratch. I was also told this floor would not scratch from pets. This isn’t true. Not only scratches, but also is very hard to clean. Water marks stain.

    Also big claim is to mop with just water. I called manufacturer and I was told to do this while using one or 2 tablespoons of cleaner with water. Makes me wonder just how sanitary this floor really is. I want it taken out. Very unhappy.

    1. Avatar

      I’ve had my floor for 2 years. I can mop my floor 3 times and you can wipe it with a wet white rag and it’s black. My grandkids walk and crawl on it and they get covered with a black film-like greasy dirt. Anyone who walks on it barefoot ends up with black feet.

  73. Avatar

    We bought COREtec flooring in February 2017. I agree about the scratching. We were careful about moving furniture but a grain of dirt underneath left a huge scratch. Also, my husband installed the floor TWICE as it gapped so much between planks. It still gaps but I just stopped looking at it. I would definitely NOT recommend this flooring. Next time I will go with a tried and true product instead of the latest and greatest.

    1. Avatar

      Funny you say this, since COREtec is the company that invented LVP. More “tried and true” than other brands.

  74. Avatar

    I did not see these comments before I settled on Coretec. They just finished installing 24 hrs ago and you can see every foot and shoe print like a previous comment stated. Also, my dog has already scratched it up. It may be that the core of the product is good, but the surface layer is horrible from the perspective of showing EVERYTHING. Also, you have to be sure there is no dirt on the floor before you attempt to move anything even if you have the felt furniture guides underneath the item. I am now going to have to invest a lot of money to have rugs everywhere in the home. Not worth the cost of materials and installation. Should have stuck with carpet even though I have 2 cats and a large dog and bad allergies. I cannot recommend.

      1. Avatar

        I currently installed the Core Tec HD XL and am discovering scratches as well. This was currently installed in January. Is there any product that can be placed in the flooring to reduce this. The flooring is suppose to be somewhat scratch resistant.

  75. Avatar

    Had Coretek flooring installed this spring. Sales person told us it was the latest and best. I cannot say how disappointed I am. Right now i have a barefoot print that I cannot get off my floor. I see scuffs and scratches and smudges, right after I’ve cleaned it. There is NOTHING about this floor that is easy to take care of. I hate it.

  76. Avatar
    kathleen huntsinger

    Just had cortec vinly flooring installed on Friday. This is Sunday and am finding scratches on flooring. It is only myself and my husband living here. I bought this product as it advertised pet, child and water proof. We have many family members that visit over the summer months with pets and children. I would not recommend this product. Would rate less then a 1.

  77. Avatar

    Have only had my new coretec vinyl plank floors for about a month. I’m finding it hard to get them clean. It’s almost like they are porous. I’ve noticed that when I mop them, some spots shine and the rest is dull. Dog footprints, drops of dried water, etc do not come off when I use a damp mop. I got down on my hands and knees and rubbed with a terry cloth towel and plain water, the stains still did not go away.

    I chose vinyl plank because my laminate was shinier and showed dog prints more easily. So far this shows dog foot prints just as easily and then you can’t get rid of them.

    I have not used any harsh cleaners, only water and wet mop. I swear the floors are missing the top layer of protection.

    Not happy with my purchase.

      1. Avatar

        I am thinking about this same product but am concerned after seeing the reviews. What was your experience with it? Are you happy or do you have regrets?

        1. Avatar

          I would not recommend this flooring. We did a remodel ,came out looking good with color choice. Cleaning is non stop and even then some. The floor shows even the smallest speck and is a real pain to clean. My friend put Wal-Mart laminate in her mobile home twenty years ago that looks great and never had a problem. I am almost 70 and its very hard to keep the floors looking halfway good. I would never ever want anyone to waste money like I did. Sometimes reviews just cancel each other out. The bad ones sém to be more in agreement , than a year ago when I did mine.

    1. Avatar

      I am having the same exact thing. Recommended by a flooring specialist and installed earlier this year. I can’t imagine why it is so popular and recommended. I am so disappointed because can’t afford to replace it. The guy who sold it is coming to take a look and we’ll see what he says.

  78. Avatar

    The company LIFEPROOF sold at the home depot is the worst product I ever came across. It says scratch resistant, it scratches so bad. Home depot does not stand behind the product. It is garbage. The company does not stand behind it as well. Save yourself some money and don’t buy it.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *