fbpx

Pergo Flooring Review: 2022 Buying Guide

By Fortino Rosas / May 24, 2022 / 87 Comments

Connect With A Flooring Pro

Let us help by connecting with one our certified Floor Critics Experts!


    **Name is required


    ** Email must be a valid email


    **Phone Number is required




    By submitting this form, you are giving your consent to be contacted by Floor Critics or their partners at the email or phone number you inputted. Contacting you is for the purpose of answering your flooring questions submitted.

    X

    Your submission has been successfully sent!

    Thank you for filling out our form someone will reach out to you soon regarding your inquiry.

    Pergo Flooring Review

    When it comes to those big, important purchases such as your flooring, we often choose to go with a well-known name such as Pergo flooring, as brand recognition often means trust. 

    Pergo is one of the biggest names in the flooring industry, and they produce laminate, hardwood floors, and luxury vinyl plank flooring. So, something for everyone. But are they really a good brand?

    Check out our comprehensive Pergo flooring review across 9 criteria to help you decide whether this flooring brand is the right one for your needs!

    Our Overall Rating of Pergo Flooring

    Here are our ratings for Pergo flooring across 9 criteria:

    Pros and Cons of Pergo Flooring

    ProsCons
    – Wide array of styles and colors to choose from
    – They offer laminate, LVP, and engineered hardwood options
    – Offer options that are ideal either for DIY or professional installation
    – Simple cleaning and maintenance instructions
    – Options that are steam mopping-approved are available
    – Innovative technologies for enhanced waterproofing capabilities and durability
    – Only sold mainly at Home Depot and Lowe’s
    – Independent retailers sell Pergo too but with limited Pergo lines
    – Not all have an attached underlayment
    – Confusing warranty terms depending on where you are going to buy from
    – Mixed reviews from customers

    Pergo Overview

    Pergo was established in 1977 when they invented the first laminate flooring as a new application for high-pressure laminate. Since then, Pergo has grown into a comprehensive flooring company, producing laminate, solid wood and engineered hardwood flooring, and luxury vinyl plank (LVP) flooring.

    Pergo is owned by Mohawk, the world’s largest flooring company, which has operations in North America, Europe, Asia, and Australia. All of Pergo’s products are produced by Unilin BV, which is based in Belgium.

    The Complete Pergo Flooring Buyer’s Guide

    1. Selection: Pergo Flooring Colors & Styles

    Floor Critics Rating: 5.0

    Pergo offers over 300 styles, textures, and colors that are available in various classic, modern textures with gorgeous finishes. This is great as not all flooring brands can offer this wide variety that can complement any style of shade.

    The age-old question of laminate or hardwood is eliminated by Pergo’s set of offerings. There’s a wide variety of each option for your flooring needs.

    Pergo offers laminate, luxury vinyl, and hardwood planks in wood, tile, and stone look options that are available in a ton of colors including various gray Pergo flooring and oak Pergo flooring styles. These come in 10 product lines and 9 collections that you can find in different finishes such as satin, matte, gloss, semi-gloss, and low-level gloss.

    Essentially, Pergo offers everything except the kitchen sink; they’re a flooring company after all. But while Pergo offers tons of flooring options, which one is right for you?

    A. Pergo Laminate Flooring

    Pergo Outlast Laminate Flooring in a Living Room

    Who do you think would do laminate flooring best? How about the people that literally invented laminate?

    Pergo invented the laminate floor over 35 years ago and still leads the industry in laminate flooring. They’re dedicated to creating quality products without the use of any toxic chemicals and pass a set of third-party tests to ensure quality.

    Laminate isn’t waterproof, but it comes pretty close. Pergo says their laminate is water-resistant, giving you a 30-minute window to clean up spills. If wood floors aren’t your thing, Pergo offers laminate flooring in stone and ceramic styles as well.

    Pergo laminates come in 7 lines and 5 collections:

    • Pergo XP Flooring
    • Pergo Outlast Flooring
    • Pergo Defense+
    • Pergo Elements (Legrand, Visionaire, Foundations, Epworth, and Accustoms Collections)
    • Pergo Portfolio
    • Pergo TimberCraft 
    • Pergo TimberCraft Elite

    Pergo Laminates come in matte, satin, gloss, and semi-gloss options. A few lines also use SpillProtect and WetProtect technologies and most of the lines are infused with anti-microbial top layers for inhibiting bacterial growth to give you safer flooring. 

    B. Pergo Hardwood Flooring

    Pergo Hardwood Flooring in a Bedroom

    Offering styles catering to the DIY handyman and professional installer, Pergo has you covered no matter what kind of hardwood you need. Currently, Pergo only offers two lines of engineered hardwood on their website in maple, oak, and hickory species:

    • Pergo WoodCraft
    • Pergo Defense+

    In case you’ve never heard of engineered hardwood, don’t fret, you’re not alone. Despite semi-popular belief, engineered hardwood isn’t the mutant cousin of the solid hardwood floor.

    Engineered hardwood is a layered hardwood floor that has a separate backing layer from the layer used to lock the flooring into place. Engineered hardwood is typically easier to install and has the same feel solid hardwood does on the feet.

    The styles for hardwood aren’t as varied as they are for laminate; however, there are dozens of finishes for each style to choose from.

    Pergo’s engineered hardwood comes in matte and satin finishes and their Defense+ line is an antimicrobial-protected flooring. This is great for sensitive people and pets. They also use WetProtect and SpillProtect technologies for enhanced waterproofing features.

    C. Pergo Luxury Vinyl Flooring

    Pergo Luxury Vinyl Flooring in a Kitchen

    Pergo vinyl plank flooring comes in three selections:

    • Pergo Extreme Flooring
    • Pergo Defense+ Flooring
    • Pergo DuraCraft Flooring

    Their luxury vinyl Extreme line comes in Wood Originals, Wider Longer, Tile Options, and Wood Fundamentals collections. Selected lines only come in low-level gloss finishes. For those who want wider planks, Pergo offers wider options through their Wider Longer collection.

    Characterizing them as the next generation of LVP flooring, Pergo claims that their LVP products are 100% dent-proof, waterproof, kid-proof, and pet-proof. Some lines use SpillProtect and WetProtect technologies with enhanced visuals for more defined textures and anti-microbial features.

    So if you are looking for Pergo commercial flooring, their LVP lines would be your best option.

    Discontinued Pergo Laminate Flooring

    Pergo has stopped manufacturing a lot of Pergo lines that you won’t find on their website anymore. However, take note that Mohawk’s discontinued Pergo flooring products list doesn’t contain all of the products that they have stopped manufacturing.

    Some of the famous lines that Pergo doesn’t offer on their website anymore (but you might be able to find in other stores like Lowe’s) include Pergo’s three previous hardwood lines.

    So if you’re an engineered hardwood lover or you’re a sucker for solid, you might still be able to get ahold of the following:

    A. Pergo Max Flooring

    If you can’t fathom hiring someone else to do the job for you, Pergo Max should be your floor of choice. This engineered hardwood should click right together to ensure an easy installation process.

    B. Pergo Lifestyles

    If you’re confident in your abilities to install flooring that requires more elbow grease than clicking into place, your ideal flooring is Pergo Lifestyles. This is also an engineered hardwood but requires staples or glue to install.

    C. Pergo American Era

    Do not try this at home, kids. Pergo’s American Era collection is the top of their hardwood line, and its solid construction should not be installed by someone without prior flooring experience. Go ahead and hire someone—your wallet will thank you later.

    These solid hardwood and engineered hardwood lines are on the lower end of the price spectrum, ranging from about $2.80 to $5.00 per square foot. You’re getting a bargain considering that the average engineered hardwood is from about $4.00 to $7.00 per square foot, and the average solid hardwood is from about $4.00 to $10.00 per square foot.

    Where to Get Pergo Flooring Ideas

    Pergo has a trends page and an image gallery that doesn’t simply contain a collection of images.

    • The trends page offers inspiration for various flooring styles like New Nordic, Coastal, Classicism, Modern Rustic, and Hollywood Regency. Each style provides suggestions on what Pergo products you can choose from that can give you the look you want.
    • On the other hand, the image gallery can help you get design ideas by allowing you to choose the type of room, flooring type, floor look, floor color, and style. So whether you are looking for Pergo in bathrooms, Pergo kitchen flooring, Pergo bedroom flooring, and others, you’ll find what you’re looking for here.

    Another nice feature Pergo’s website has is its floor visualizer where you can upload your own room or choose an existing floor scene. You can then select your desired flooring type, line, and color to get an idea of what the product would look like when installed.

    2. Durability & Quality

    Floor Critics Rating: 4.5

    Pergo’s innovative waterproofing and durability enhancing technologies provide superior protection for your flooring up to the subfloor level. However, not all of their products are created the same and some may not offer the durability you are expecting.

    Pergo Flooring Durability and Quality

    Pergo is a highly affordable brand, and they offer a diverse range of flooring options, especially in laminate (they did invent the stuff after all), but their selection of hardwood and luxury vinyl plank is not to be sniffed at.

    However, it seems that not all of Pergo’s lines are created equal, and while some are fantastic, others leave a lot to be desired.

    Proprietary Technologies

    • WetProtect – An innovative technology that provides full-coverage waterproofing through a waterproof quarter round and finish as well as water-tight joints to prevent subfloor damage. Now, you can stop worrying about spills, splashes, and pet accidents.
    • SpillProtect – Water-repellent coating on the planks’ edges that can stand up to deep cleaning for extra protection against spills and accidents.
    • Uniclic Locking Technology– Installation mechanism with tight-locking plank joints to keep out liquids for up to 24 hours for spills and pet accidents that you might miss.
    • CleanProtect – Provides protection for the planks for life by inhibiting bacterial growth that causes product degradation, odors, and stains. This is built into the planks and won’t wear or wash off. However, take note that it is only limited to the planks’ top surface.
    • UltraDef technology – Recreates every detail for a more authentic look.
    • ScratchGuard Advanced Finish Technology – Offers surface protection to prevent dulling and resist stains, scuffs, and scratches by adding aluminum crystals into the planks’ top layer.

    Pergo Waterproof Flooring

    Pergo’s WetProtect, SpillProtect, and Uniclic Locking technologies help in creating waterproof flooring up to the subfloor level. These innovations help prevent liquid from permeating into the planks’ joints to protect your subfloor. This makes Pergo’s planks ideal for people with kids and pets as well as for installation in wet areas.

    What Is Pergo Flooring Made Of?

    Since Pergo Outlast+ is the most popular flooring, for sure you might want to know what it is made of. This line is made of four major layers:

    • Transparent, wear-resistant top layer designed with PermaMaxTM and ScratchGuard Advanced wear layer for superior scuff and scratch resistance
    • High-definition design layer
    • Premium high-density fiberboard (HDF) cores made of recycled materials for stability and dent-resistance
    • Balancing layer that prevents collapsing and bowing

    For Pergo vinyl flooring, their popular Extreme lines are constructed with four key layers:

    • Superior 20-mil wear layer with a urethane coating for extreme protection against damages
    • High-definition design layer with dramatic visuals
    • Rigid composite cores that are stronger than standard LVP
    • Attached cushion for enhanced stability and sound absorption

    As for Pergo’s hardwood products, we didn’t find any information as to what they are made of aside from having a durable protective finish and tight-locking joints for extra protection.

    Does Pergo Wear, Stain, & Fade Easily?

    Pergo offers wear, fade, and stain-proof options depending on the product line. Lines with the WetProtect technology have a patented coating that can resist everyday wear, fading, and stains.

    Does Pergo Flooring Scratch And Dent Easily?

    Depending on the line, Pergo floors can offer superior dent and scratch protection compared to ordinary laminate and vinyl flooring. They use innovative top coating for maximum durability that will guard your flooring against wear, scratches, and scuffs.

    But while Pergo is adamant about the durability of their floors, many customers have reported that their floors scuffed and scratched much faster than they had imagined. However, take note that not all Pergo flooring is the same.

    There are specific Pergo products that offer superior durability and some will be better than others. So before you buy, make sure that you read the specifications of the product you are interested in.

    Pergo Flooring Underlayment

    Glue-down Pergo floors won’t need an underlay. But for floating floors that require one, not all Pergo flooring comes with a built-in underlayment (like their hardwood floors) that should allow for easy installation. However, you can choose to buy Pergo gold underlayment which provides increased sound and thermal insulation as well as moisture protection.

    NOTE: The durability and longevity of Pergo planks will depend on the technology used on the products. Not all planks offer the same protection and some will be more appropriate for specific applications. So if you want to ensure the longevity of your flooring, follow the requirements specified by Pergo for your flooring type to avoid complaints regarding durability.

    3. Pergo Flooring Warranty, Returns, And Damage Policies

    Floor Critics Rating: 4.0

    Details on warranties are very obscure and differ greatly depending on the retailer you use and the product you choose. So, if you don’t want to encounter warranty issues like many people have complained about, make sure to clarify the details from where you are buying from.

    Pergo Flooring Warranty, Returns, and Damage Policies

    Be Aware of Pergo’s Different Warranty Terms

    Pergo’s warranties aren’t as clear cut as they claim they are on their website where they offer lifetime manufacturer warranties on most of their floors in residential installations. But in reality, depending on which product you buy and where you buy it, your warranty will be different.

    If you’re interested in purchasing a Pergo product, you’ll need to order from a big-box retailer rather than directly from their website. They’re found in most Lowe’s stores and Home Depots across the country, but some smaller retailers will carry their lines, too.

    • Home Depot and Lowe’s have different warranty levels for each of the products described above. Before buying any product from this company, I’d suggest doing your warranty research to make sure you’re getting the coverage you and your lifestyle will need.
    • If buying from another retailer, you’ll need to talk specifically with that retailer about their Pergo warranty. There’s no info on the website for any other companies’ warranties besides Home Depot and Lowe’s.

    Be acutely aware of what you’re buying and make sure you’re not making an investment this large without protecting yourself. You wouldn’t ride a motorcycle without a helmet, so don’t purchase flooring without a warranty.

    What’s Covered?

    Take note that Pergo offers different warranty parameters for their products, so policies will also differ and the validity will be affected greatly by how you will install your flooring.

    To give you an idea, below are a few warranties that Pergo may offer:

    • 6-month manufacturing warranty
    • Limited Lifetime Residential Warranty
    • 10-year light commercial warranty
    • Waterproof surface warranty and subfloor warranty for WetProtect lines
    • Scratch-resistance warranty

    What’s Not Covered?

    Pergo will not cover any damage caused by:

    • Improper installation
    • The use of cleaning methods not approved for their flooring
    • Flooding, appliance leaks, mechanical failure, leaking pipes, standing water, etc.
    • Water under your subfloor

    Also, Pergo won’t cover damage during installation or shipment as well as installing products with visible manufacturing defects and re-installing the flooring.

    Note: If you don’t want to void your warranty, make sure to always read specific installation and care and maintenance instructions for your product thoroughly. Pergo always specifies the warranty conditions for each product to make sure that you won’t have any problem with making claims in case any issue occurs.

    4. Pergo Flooring Prices

    Floor Critics Rating: 5.0

    Pergo snap lock flooring is priced the same and even a bit lower than the industry average flooring prices. If you choose carefully, you can get great flooring at an affordable price from Pergo. But exercise caution when making your selection.

    Pergo Flooring Prices

    Pergo Flooring Cost: How Much Is Pergo Flooring per Square Foot?

    • The price point for Pergo’s laminate lands in the $2.50 to $3.00 per square foot range. This puts their prices at right about the industry average which is $2.40 to $4.00 per square foot.
    • Pergo’s LVP flooring will set you back between $4.00 and $5.00 per square foot which is at the mid to low end of the market with average prices of $3.00 to $7.00 per square foot.
    • As for their hardwood floors, they range from $4-$6 per square foot which falls in the low-end to the mid-range cost of engineered wood floors which is $3-$10 per square foot.

    Cost of Pergo Flooring Installed

    Pergo flooring installation costs will vary depending on the type of flooring you are going to install as well as room size, contractor fees, and labor costs. However, the average cost is around $3 to $22 per square foot.

    5. Availability

    Floor Critics Rating: 4.5

    You can find Pergo floors mostly at Lowe’s and Home Depot. Although there are other independent stores that offer Pergo products, they only sell limited lines. Also, samples are not free.

    Pergo Flooring Availability

    Where Can You Buy Pergo Flooring?

    Pergo has a retailer finder on their website which is very convenient to use because you only need to enter your zip code and it will show you the stores near your area. Lowe’s and Home Depot are the major suppliers but you can also find independent stores but the lines they offer are limited.

    But what’s great about their retailer finder app is that they also specify which lines each store offers. So, you won’t be wasting your time going to a store just to find out that they don’t offer the Pergo flooring you want.

    Where to Buy Samples

    Though it’s not free, you can order samples through Pergo’s website at $5 per sample. There’s an Order Sample button under each product page.

    6. Installing Pergo Flooring

    Floor Critics Rating: 4.0

    Installing Pergo flooring is not as easy as the company says it is. A lot of customers have complained about how hard the planks are to install and how easily the grooves of some of their lines can break. They also have a lot of installation requirements which can be a hassle for many people. Thus, we recommend hiring a professional when installing Pergo flooring.

    Installing Pergo Flooring

    Pergo’s flooring has dual-locking installation systems which they claim allows DIYers to easily install the products in a living room-size floor in one day. But again, Pergo’s lines have their pros and cons and some lines can be DIY-friendly while others may not be.

    For instance, while a lot of DIYers loved the easy installation of Pergo Extreme and Hardwood products, the same can’t be said when installing Pergo laminate flooring. This may be because Pergo laminates still use the “old-school” four-sided locking system which even some professional installers are having a hard time installing.

    Also, many customers mentioned the grooves breaking easily and chipping when installing which resulted in wasted planks. So if you don’t want to take the risk of damaging your planks, better hire a professional.

    Where Can You Install Pergo Floors?

    You can install Pergo flooring over any flat and solid subfloor. However, do not install them in rooms with floor drains and sump pumps as well as in planes, boats, and motor homes.

    In addition, you can install some Pergo lines in areas that are not climate controlled but with proper precautions. But, Pergo’s engineered hardwood should only be installed in climate-controlled areas. Plus, hardwood and laminate varieties should only be installed indoors.

    Also, since Pergo’s engineered hardwood floors are waterproof, you can install them in moisture-prone areas like mudrooms, kitchens, or powder rooms. However, you need to use an appropriate foam backer rod or waterproof molding to ensure that your room is sealed to avoid voiding your warranty.

    As for subfloors, floating floors can be installed over wood, concrete, and most vinyl or ceramic tiles. Always check specific installation instructions for your product especially when installing in wet areas as the details may vary.

    How to Install Pergo Flooring

    Here are the general steps on how to lay Pergo flooring:

    1. Measure and calculate the area of your room. (Pergo provides a calculator for this.)
    2. Buy underlayment if your flooring needs one and follow the installation instructions that came with your chosen flooring. You can also download the specific instructions for each line from Pergo’s website.
    3. Prepare the needed tools such as the following:
    • Tapping block
    • ¼-inch spacers
    • Coordinating transitions
    • Vapor barrier
    • Moisture meter
    • Level
    • Circular saw
    • Utility knife
    • Safety items (gloves, safety glasses, knee pads, dust mask)
    1. Prepare the subfloor. It should be clean, dry, level, and flat as well as meet all local building codes.
    2. Acclimate the planks by stacking them up in the installation areas for at least 48 hours before installation. (Not all Pergo floors need acclimation. Follow the installation guide for your flooring.)
    3. Perform moisture testing.
    4. Install your flooring.

    In addition, below are some installation requirements you need to know:

    • Relative room humidity should be between 35 and 65% and temperature ranging from 60-85°F.
    • You can install Pergo with floor heating systems but take note that excessive heating will damage the planks.
    • Spacers are needed for proper expansion space.
    • All floating floors need underlayment.
    • Moisture readings should not exceed 12%.

    Below are videos from installers with pro tips that you might want to check out:

    How to Install Pergo Outlast Laminate Flooring
    How to Install Pergo Extreme Luxury Vinyl Planks

    For more information about proper Pergo laminate flooring installation in general, you can check out Home Depot’s guide.

    How to Install Pergo Flooring on Concrete

    Are you planning to install Pergo flooring in your basement which usually has a concrete base? Installing Pergo flooring (we’re talking about vinyl or laminate here) over a concrete subfloor is the same as how you would normally install it on other subfloors.

    The only difference is that you need to add a vapor barrier to protect your flooring from moisture coming from the porous concrete subfloor. 

    In addition, Pergo recommends installing their flooring over concrete only if moisture readings are below:

    How to Cut Pergo Flooring

    Here are tips from Pergo for cutting their flooring products:

    Pro Tips When Cutting Pergo Laminate and Hardwood Planks
    • Always wear gloves when cutting the planks.
    • When using a hand saw, make a short incision first before continuing and put the saw line as close as possible to the bearing surface.
    • When using a table saw, a jigsaw, or a plunge saw, use a fine-tooth blade for cleaner cuts and have the saw rolling before making your cut.
    • Use a jigsaw to cut boards into shapes.
    • Use a crosscut saw, table saw, or plunger saw to cut planks to fit slanted corners or walls.
    • For laminates, test the direction of the saw blade’s teeth first so you’ll know whether to cut up or down.
    Pro Tips When Cutting Pergo Vinyl Planks
    • Wear gloves and use a sharp concave knife to cut faster and safer. Never use a saw even when cutting shapes.
    • Just draw a line on where you are going to cut and firmly cut into the plank with its decor facing upward.
    • Make your knife as straight as possible.
    • Break the plank in two with the decor pointing away from you.
    • Use pliers for smaller cuts.

    For more detailed instructions, check out Pergo’s tutorial videos below:

    How to Cut Pergo Laminate Flooring
    How to Cut Pergo Luxury Vinyl Flooring
    How to Cut Pergo Hardwood Flooring

    Other Expert Installation Tips

    Here are other pro installation tips we can give you:

    • Follow the company’s installation guidelines including underlayment integrity, acclimation, and others to avoid voiding your warranty.
    • You might need finishing putty for blemishes and a 100% silicone sealant when installing in high-moisture areas.
    • The difference between the moisture readings for the subfloor and materials shouldn’t be more than 4-5%.
    • Do not install Pergo flooring that is not recommended for high-moisture areas as this will cause cupping and expansion.
    • It can be hard to click the first row to the second one when installing the planks so we suggest pulling your rows off of your wall and sticking 3-4 rows together first before pushing them back to your wall with the spacers.
    • Sometimes planks are made at different times so they will have different patterns so better open all boxes and lay them down to create randomness.

    You can find more installation tips from Pergo’s tutorial videos.

    7. Pergo Flooring Care & Maintenance

    Floor Critics Rating: 5.

    Cleaning and maintaining Pergo floors is pretty simple. Just make sure that you follow manufacturer instructions especially when it comes to floor cleaners to avoid voiding your warranty and damaging your flooring.

    Pergo Flooring Care and Maintenance

    How to Clean Pergo Flooring

    In addition to using a vacuum with a hard floor attachment or a dust mop to remove dust and dirt, here are general tips on how to clean Pergo’s flooring types:

    Cleaning Pergo Laminate Flooring– A damp cloth mop or cotton cloth and a non-abrasive floor cleaner will suffice for deep cleaning
    – Remove liquid spills and food using lukewarm water
    – Use denatured alcohol or acetone nail polish remover for tough stains

    The steps mentioned are also for those who are wondering how to clean Pergo Outlast flooring.
    Cleaning Pergo Hardwood Flooring– Dampen a cloth with a few drops of hydrogen peroxide to remove pet stains
    – Use a mop and a hardwood floor cleaner for deeper cleaning (Do NOT apply the cleaner directly on your floor, apply it on the mop)
    – You can use Shark Steam Cleaner on Pergo Defense+ and WoodCraft floors but make sure to follow specific care instructions
    Cleaning Pergo Luxury Vinyl Flooring– Avoid using soap, abrasive cleaners and cleaning agents, and cleaners containing waxes or oil
    – Remove persistent stains using vinyl cleaner
    – Use denatured alcohol or acetone nail polish remover for tough stains

    How to Maintain Pergo Flooring

    Follow the guidelines below to keep your Pergo flooring as good as new:

    • Place mats in doorways
    • Use rugs with a solid backing
    • Use felt covers and floor protectors as well as rubber wheels
    • List heavy objects when moving

    In addition, below are specific guidelines for maintaining Pergo’s flooring:

    Pergo Laminate Floors– Use Pergo Finishing Putty for dings and minor damages
    Pergo Hardwood Floors– Wipe up liquid messes quickly using a cotton cloth and remorse remaining residue using a damp cloth
    – Repair minor damage using a kit designed for wood flooring
    – Trim pet nails
    – Avoid spiked shoes or heels
    – Avoid excessive exposure to sunlight
    Pergo Luxury Vinyl Floors– Remove liquid and food spills immediately
    – Always remove aggressive substances like staining agents and sharp objects from your floor

    Pergo Floor Cleaners to Use

    For hardwood floors, use cleaners recommended for hardwood floors. For laminate and luxury vinyl, use non-abrasive cleaners like a mixture of the following:

    • 1 gallon of warm water and 1 cup of household vinegar
    • 1 gallon of warm water and ⅓ cup of ammonia

    For more information, follow Pergo’s detailed cleaning care and maintenance instructions here. You can also find special care and maintenance instructions that you need to strictly follow in the installation guideline for your product.

    8. Health & Environmental Safety

    Floor Critics Rating: 5.0

    Pergo uses renewable materials and energy for their manufacturing processes. Aside from complying with all health and environmental standards, they also work hard to achieve other high standards voluntarily.

    Pergo Health & Environmental Safety

    Pergo manufactures their products in-house where they can limit and control the VOC emissions of their products.

    Their wooden and laminate flooring options have a negligible formaldehyde (a common compound found in flooring products) emission. They are 10 times lower than the EU standards as Pergo says. As for their vinyl flooring, no formaldehyde has been detected.

    In fact, their products have achieved GREENGUARD certifications like GREENGUARD Indoor Air Quality Certified and GREENGUARD Children & Schools Certified. Pergo’s products have also achieved the following ratings and labels for having low VOC emissions:

    • A (wood)
    • A+ (vinyl and laminate)
    • M1 (vinyl and laminate)

    When it comes to sustainability, Pergo has been using renewable materials and do their best in making the most out of them as well as using green manufacturing processes:

    • Using entirely recovered wood
    • Slow-growing wood species like oak are only used in the top layers
    • The use of fast-growing wood species or high-density fiberboard are core layers
    • Creating long-lasting vinyl floors to not avoid wasting non-renewable raw materials
    • Using renewable energy

    In addition, Pergo also has Nordic Ecolabel, EU Ecolable, EPD, and PEFC certifications.

    9. Pergo Vs. The Competition – LifeProof, NuCore, Shaw, and QuickStep

    Floor Critics Rating: 4.5

    While Pergo flooring is better when it comes to style variety compared to most of the competition, other brands can offer better warranties. Also, while most brands come with pre-attached underlayments, not all Pergo flooring has these.

    Pergo Vs. The Competition – LifeProof, NuCore, Shaw, and QuickStep

    Pergo vs. LifeProof

    • LifeProof has far fewer options but they do offer three wear layer options compared to Pergo’s 20-mil vinyl planks only
    • LifeProof can only be bought at Home Depot stores, unlike Pergo that is also available at Lowe’s and other independent stores
    • LifeProof is slightly cheaper than Pergo
    • LifeProof planks come with pre-attached underlayments while not all Pergo’s planks have one

    Pergo vs. NuCore

    • Pergo has a more impressive collection of textures and has a wider range of styles and colors
    • Although Pergo and NuCore are almost the same when it comes to durability and quality, Pergo would be your best pick when it comes to the availability of stocks since NuCore seems to change designs more frequently

    Pergo vs. Shaw

    • Shaw has a larger selection of styles and colors but is more expensive
    • Shaw offers various warranty lengths including 3-year, 10-year, and 25-year warranties compared to Pergo’s 10-year commercial warranty only
    • Shaw has its own flooring stores where you can buy their products while Pergo mainly sells at Home Depot and Lowe’s
    • Shaw might be better but if you are looking for something that is more budget- and DIY-friendly, Pergo is better

    Pergo vs. QuickStep

    • Pergo offers water protection while only a few QuickStep models have these features
    • QuickStep has better warranties
    • Pergo products have a better design versatility and texture
    • QuickStep is more DIY-friendly
    • QuickStep might be better than some of Pergo products when it comes to damage resistance
    • QuickStep is compatible with any underlayment while Pergo has restrictions when it comes to underlayment

    Pergo Flooring Reviews

    With a company with as long of a history as Pergo, you’re bound to find reviews that are both “print out and put on your fridge” worthy and “report the user as spam to make the review disappear” worthy.

    Here’s what some Pergo customers had to say about the products they purchased:

    The Good

    Some of Pergo’s customers are over the moon with their purchases, such as these customers:

    “Bullet Proof Flooring. Okay, I didn’t actually shoot at my floor. We installed some Pergo American Cottage from Lowe’s 10 years ago. This floor looks exactly the same as the day it was finished.” – Customer from California

    “My mom has had Pergo laminate in the main areas of her house for 10+ years. It has stood up to a 125-lb Rottweiler and a 65-lb pit mix. No scratches, no chips, no peeling edges.” – Kris of North Carolina

    In addition, Pergo’s customer service seemed to satisfy customers:

    “The customer service was wonderful. Very helpful… The customer service will help you find out what you’re looking for within your budget and what works best for your home to ensure it lasts.” – Justine of California

    Also, Pergo laminate flooring reviews (specifically Pergo Outlast Laminate) earned positive reviews in general from installers when it comes to scratch and water resistance.

    The Bad

    Unfortunately, there are overwhelmingly more unsettling reviews than there are positive ones. Here are what some customers said about Pergo flooring on ConsumerAffairs’s website:

    “I purchased $6000 worth of Pergo Max hardwood flooring from Lowe’s. It was professionally installed. After 1 month, the floor is so scratched that the installer recommends replacing the entire floor – the scratches cannot be fixed. No help from Pergo on this matter.” – Jane of the Woodlands

    “Our Pergo Max flooring is less than 4 months old and looks like it’s years old. It has fine scratches apparently from sweeping it with a broom. When I mop it with a damp cloth and water only, it leaves streaks and smears and dulls.” – Marilynn of Lincoln

    Also, a lot of users are complaining about how hard it is to install Pergo laminate floors including Pergo Outlast like this customer:

    “It is absolutely a nightmare to work with. It does not lock together easily nor stay locked. Seriously considering ripping off all the tongues and grooves and just gluing it down.” – Dee of Minnesota

    And here’s what a flooring installer from Ohio eloquently said about Pergo’s wood floors:

    “Garbage in a box.”

    One Thing to Note…

    It’s hard to generalize reviews about Pergo’s flooring because they offer different products. Some lines will give you exceptional performance while others might make you regret buying them. Each type of product will always have its pros and cons.

    However, take note that installation also plays a big role in the overall durability and quality of your flooring. So before you purchase anything, make sure that you do your research and follow installation guidelines.

    FAQs

    Is Pergo Laminate Or Luxury Vinyl?

    Pergo is a flooring brand, but the brand name is often used as a byword for laminate flooring, as the company invented laminate flooring back in 1977 and brought the technology to the United States in the early 1990s.

    However, Pergo in fact produces both laminate and vinyl flooring as well as a variety of solid wood and engineered hardwood flooring options.


    What’s the Difference Between Pergo and Laminate Flooring?

    Since Pergo was the one who introduced laminate flooring, the term “laminate” was often associated with them. However, Pergo doesn’t have any difference from laminate flooring because Pergo flooring IS laminate. Well, they pioneered laminate but they also offer other flooring types.

    But is Pergo better than other laminates? Pergo’s laminate flooring is comparable with other laminate flooring options on the market in terms of cost, the range of styles available, durability, scratch resistance, and water resistance.


    Is Pergo Flooring Good?

    Pergo’s long history in producing laminate flooring used to give them an edge in the market, but new technological developments have leveled the playing field. Today, Pergo is a mid-range laminate flooring option both in terms of price and quality.

    The quality of Pergo’s flooring is best described as variable. While some customers are very happy with the quality of the flooring, others complain that it started to look worn much sooner than expensive floors, and that warranty support was limited at best.

    They receive an average of 2.5 stars on most review sites. Laminate flooring seems to score worse than Pergo’s other flooring lines and should be purchased with caution.


    Is Pergo Flooring Waterproof?

    This depends on the type of product you will buy. Although Pergo laminates offer waterproof options, we recommend going for their vinyl flooring options like their Pergo Extreme if you want an entirely waterproof flooring.

    Also, take note that proper installation is important to ensure that you get waterproof floors. Pergo has specified specific installation instructions including recommended sealants to guarantee that you’ll get waterproof floors. Make sure to always read their installation requirements carefully to avoid any problems.


    Does Pergo Flooring Scratch Easily?

    All hardwood floors scratch, but laminate and vinyl plank flooring are meant to be more durable. It is described as scratch-resistant, though there is no such thing as scratch-proof. While Pergo advertises its products to offer superior scratch resistance, not all customers can say the same.

    Pergo’s vinyl floors seem to be more durable than their laminate options. Customers who have bought Pergo’s laminate flooring have also complained that the locking edges that keep the planks in place are also easily damaged.

    However, take note that this will depend on the type of Pergo product you are buying. For instance, customers and installers alike have praised the scratch-resistance of certain Pergo lines like Outlast.


    Is Pergo Flooring Expensive?

    Pergo flooring is affordable and sits at the mid to low end of the market in its pricing.

    Pergo’s laminate flooring costs between $2.50 and $3.00 per square foot. Its engineered hardwood floors cost between $2.80 and $5.00 per square foot. Their vinyl flooring lines cost between $4.00 and $5.00 per square foot.

    As for the cost to install Pergo flooring, it will run at about $3 to $22 per square foot depending on the Pergo flooring type, labor costs, room size, and contractor fees.


    How Long Does Pergo Laminate Flooring Last?

    When cared for properly, Pergo laminate flooring should last between 15 and 25 years.

    Pergo offers a limited lifetime residential warranty on their laminate flooring, and a 10-year light commercial warranty. This warranty guarantees the floor will not wear through, fade, stain, or become water damaged by wet mopping or standard spills, and that the joints will remain secure under normal use.


    Do You Need Underlayment for Pergo?

    Pergo states that all of their floors require an underlayment to facilitate installation and sound dampening as well as provide thermal and moisture protection. They recommend using their own Pergo Gold underlayment option.


    Is Pergo Laminate Better Than Hardwood?

    Hardwood flooring is still one of the most desirable flooring options on the market in terms of its aesthetics and lifespan, and as such it does a lot to add value to your home. Laminate is a more affordable alternative. But more than that, it is a better choice for some environments.

    Laminate tends to be more scratch-resistant and stands up better to moisture than solid wood floors. As such, laminate is often recommended for bathrooms, basements, and high-traffic areas.

    Final Thoughts

    Pergo is a big-name flooring brand that produces a broad range of laminate, vinyl, and solid wood and engineered hardwood flooring. Their prices are reasonable at the mid to low range of the market, but the quality of their flooring varies.

    While Pergo receives some glowing reviews online, negative experiences seem to outweigh the positive, and on most review sites they have an average star rating of 2.5 stars.

    This certainly doesn’t mean you shouldn’t take advantage of Pergo’s flooring options, just that you should purchase with care. Order samples from Pergo’s website and put them to the test. Also, search online for reviews of the specific flooring you’re interested in.

    Have you purchased and installed a Pergo product in the past? Comment below and let us know what you think about Pergo.

    About Fortino Rosas

    Chief Floor Critic, 32 years of experience in flooring installation and sales

    Fortino Rosas is an independent flooring contractor with 32 years of experience in residential and commercial flooring installation and sales. He joined the Floor Critics team to share his expertise with our readers. Fortino has acquired vast knowledge and skills in the areas of product selection, space planning, and installation. He has installed flooring in residential, government, and commercial office projects in the Midwest. Visit Website.

    Back to Top

    87 thoughts on “Pergo Flooring Review: 2022 Buying Guide”

    1. Many years ago I installed Pergo in my kitchen. At that time, the tongue & groove connections were required to be glued. (I used PERGO GLUE). The joints have stayed tight throughout the years.

      Years later, I installed Pergo flooring in my living room and bedroom. My understanding was that glue was NOT required for this flooring. So, I did not use glue. As the years passed, this flooring began to develop gaps along the “length-wise” direction of the boards. (Gaps did not develop along the “width-wise” direction of the boards). I would not have expected the gaps because glue was supposedly not required for this installation. Note: The kitchen installation using the PERGO glue still has no gaps.

      So, I am planning on going back and gluing the living room flooring.
      Should I do this? Is this a common problem with these “no glue required” installations?

    2. STAY AWAY FROM THIS FLOORING! I purchased few years ago, spent a fortune on the XP 10MM. Now needing to take a wall down, need additional flooring, not only has the company discontinued the floor (Pergo Alexandria Walnut XP) but has NOTHING that comes close to matching it. HORRIBLE waste of thousands of dollars.

      1. That’s all flooring I own a flooring store and they change about every 6 months basically if you order always by just in case extra for later

    3. Just had Prego Extreme installed ,they still have rounds an transitional pieces to do. I pray it does well. Was installed professionally so it looks pretty tight except one piece which I hope it will settle better also don’t like an end piece that just stand out in pattern. Installer says they would have to uninstall I/4 back to change it out but transitional piece will cover about 2 inches of it I so I hope it is less noticeable once they do that. Will give another review in 3 months or soon how we are liking it.

    4. Bought a full house full of Malaysian Kempas Pergo and 8 years later it started to fade and definitely is not holding up to the “no scratch or ding” situation that was promised by the salesperson. Filed a complaint and the supervisor at Pergo stated that he would only take care of the room with fading and nothing else. I feel that if I paid $8000 in flooring and installation that it should last longer than 8 years.

    5. I own apartments and my guys and I have literally installed over 50000 sq feet of the old Asheville Hickory. Loved it and with some knowledge and practice, we cut out the bottom of the door frames, slide Pergo under them laying flat, and then with some tapping or pulling would always get it to lay flat, lock well, and look good. Can’t do that with the new locking system. And the old was tough and difficult to scratch. Why when you have a good product would you SCREW IT UP by discontinuing and changing the locking system is beyond me. Guess I’ll look for a new brand, even though most basically lock the same way now.

      1. Irina Stelmakh

        Hi Rick, do you by any chance have one box of Asheville Hickory left over from the project? We are one box short and can’t find it anywhere. Home Depot and Lowes are out of stock. I would gladly buy from you if you have 1 box sitting around.

    6. What is the difference between the Timbercraft+ and the Portfolio+? I am not able to find any type of comparison. Also Lowes and Homedepot on carry a limited selection…with 100 differenent options between Outlast+, Timbercraft+ and Portfolio+ how can you see more the product besides those little 4×4 samples that really don’t help?

      1. Pergo has their own website where you can order a full width piece about 14 inches long for five dollars. No tax. Free shipping. Got to us in about a week.

      2. Has anyone given you a comparison because I’m looking for same thing , comparison of outlast, portfolio, timbercraft

    7. Beautiful pieces of laminate for sure. I’ve done several rooms in similar products, but this one looked the best, so I bought it. Unfortunately. the pieces simply do not lock. No matter how they are laid out, pressed down, tapped with a rubber tapping block, pushed, pulled or changed, they always slip out, leaving a wide space between the pieces. Pergo is selling an unusable product. I will have to just stop and go buy another brand.

      1. Laura with Pergo

        Hi Tom, I’m Laura with Pergo – I”m sorry to hear about your installation experience. Please consider calling our hard surfaces technical services team at 888-387-9881, option 3 – they may be able to assist you with installation advice. They’ll likely need to know the nature of your subfloor and which underlayment is being used. I apologize again for your experience.

        1. I’m renovating and definitely decided my flooring will be LVP, does anyone out there know the high quality brands? Who’s better, Pergo or Cortec premium plus

      2. Unfortunately I’ve had the exact same experience. Two wasted weekends, with nothing to show for it other than trying to put together a puzzle whose pieces don’t fit. Even just trying to lock three pieces together in the middle of the floor showed to me that a visible gap was inevitable. Maybe the tolerances for over 6’ long pieces means that any manufacturing imperfections are magnified. They do have a great look, but that doesn’t matter much when there’s this much gapping. It’ll be interesting to see if Lowe’s website will actually allow a negative review to be posted.

        1. Laura with Pergo

          Hi Patrick, I’m very sorry to hear about your experience installing your floors. If you would like to call our hard surfaces technical services team at 888-387-9881, option 3, they could assist you with installation advice. They’ll need to know the details of your subfloor and which underlayment is being used. I’m very sorry again for your experience. Laura with Pergo

      3. You must be doing something wrong with you installation technique. I instalked approximately 350 sq. ft and it went very well. I have installed approx. over 2000 sq.ft. In other areas of my home with other brands of laminate flooring – all high end products and Pergo is by far the easiest to install.

        1. After 22 years we finally got new Pergo Max flooring in our foyer. After a week it was scratched by our 10 pound cat and was informed by Pergo that pet claw scratches and wear in high traffic areas are not covered by the warranty. WHAT??? What a sorry product. I see a class action lawsuit on the horizon. Selling inferior flooring?? Lowe’s needs to let potential customers know about this.

          1. Laura with Pergo

            Hello Joyce, I’m Laura with Pergo. I’m very sorry to hear about your experience with your floors. Pergo floors are scratch resistant but not scratch proof. Scratches are not covered under the warranty for Pergo Max Hardwood (if you need a copy of the Pergo Max Hardwood warranty, you can find it on the Pergo website). If scratches occur, you may be able to cover them with Scratch Away or Old English Scratch Cover. These products are available at most grocery stores or online. Apply the product only to the scratch itself, using a clean, dry cloth. I apologize again for your experience.

            1. This is a sad response and pushed me away from your product which I was considering before reading this post …. The original commenter already said they understood the warranty so why would you offer to send it to them? That is talking down to the customer and not a good sign of customer service.

            2. The rep is trying to point out that the warranty doesn’t just “not cover” scratches, but it apparently specifically “excludes” them. That’s fair. I’m willing to bet 95% of buyers don’t know what is in the warranty until they have a problem. Read the warranty BEFORE you buy! If the OP wanted a scratch-proof product, they were warned this is not the product to buy (via the warranty that they did not read). BTW, if the warranty specifically excludes scratches, good luck getting a class-action suit.

    8. 100% true and honest review!
      Installed Pergo Portfolio. Wet Protect Technology. Waterproof Natural Park Hickory Laminate in my living room. 250 sq. ft.,
      Pros:
      1: After preparing my floor, installation was easy (I am a skilled trades worker just to note) and finished in 1 work day. Did the project alone …
      2: Not 1 damaged plank in any of the boxes i ordered. 15 in total.
      3: Felt pads under all feet of furniture and tables.
      80 lbs. Pit Bull and no scratches as of yet with no area rugs.
      4: Left a few cut pieces outside in the rain for 2 days (just to see what would happen. because I do live in a state wit all 4 seasons) and it hasn’t warped or bubbled til now.

      Cons:
      1: Floor occasionally creaked (just from settling i’m sure, but not from walking across it) after install.
      Conclusion:
      Loving the look of the floor (wish we could post Pics here)!
      I will try to update this review after 6 months…

      1. we loved our pergo floors, but 3 years ago we installed a new one and hate that one, it is not very resistive to water, or its defective on several boards, not much water lands and its usually dried right away it was very dissapointing. The last floor lasted us over a decade. Agree how it stands up to scratches from most anything like dogs and furniture. We found it makes a poor choice for any room near water at all or entry doors so we are redoing the floor and not with Pergo. We tried calling them and they have one on terminal hold with no chat or email, options, that is bad business. Glad you were happy, we are done with them.

        1. Laura with Pergo

          Hi Anie, I’m Laura with Pergo – I’m very sorry to hear about your experience with your floors. If you need to file a claim on your flooring, you can do this through your retailer – the retailer is the party who files the claim with Pergo on your behalf. I’m very sorry again for your experience.

          1. Hi Laura,
            My husband installed our pergo flooring purchased from Lowes. The install went well and the floor looks beautiful. My oroblem is the smell that it is giving off. It has been over a month and it still has a very chemical smell. It is a bedroom that my grandkids use and I’m afraid to have them overnight.
            Does it go away and is it garmful?

        2. Hi, two wildly different experiences. Replaced slightly more than half the floors in my house 3 years ago using Pergo Max Nashville Oak. Very easy DIY install, still looks great even with our two large dogs on it every day. No complaints!

          Fast forward to right now – Pergo Max is apparently discontinued (or at least the Nashville Oak was) so we were directed to Pergo Timbercraft Valley Grove Oak – bought 11 boxes and it was noticeably more expensive than the Max was. Total garbage! Pieces don’t fit together or lock together worth a d, and when you try to tap them together using a plastic block and mallet the top is chipping off everywhere! Very noticeable gaps between many of the boards – and it has been a serious struggle to get them to look as good as they do. Effing garbage product – working on returning it to Lowes now.

          1. Laura with Pergo

            Hello David, I’m Laura with Pergo. I’m very sorry to hear about your experience with your recent flooring purchase. I understand from your comments that you are or have returned your flooring to the retailer; if you would still like assistance, please feel free to contact the Mohawk hard surfaces technical services team at 888-387-9881, option 3, with any installation-related concerns. I apologize again for your experience.

        3. Same thing happened here. Installed earlier generation of Pergo in another home with glue installation and it’s held up beautifully for 20 years. This newer generation lock technology isn’t as durable. It doesn’t handle spills as well. I have several places bubbling and an area where planks that don’t interlock well. It’s beautiful but always has a film on it, even with cleaning with just water and a drop of dish soap.

    9. Pergo outlast + has a lifetime warranty, but on the website, it says the lifespan of laminate is 5-10 years? That doesn’t sound very durable?

      1. Hi Emily, I’m afraid I don’t know all the claims that this specific website makes about laminate, as this site is unaffiliated with Pergo, but all Pergo flooring (laminate, hardwoods and LVT) carries a limited lifetime residential warranty. All warranty documents and product information are available on the Pergo website. I hope this helps clarify!

        1. Has anyone had a problem with a chemical smell that comes from pergo flooring. I have had it in my spare bedroom for a month and it still smells . I dont feel like I should let anyone use this room. Is it toxic?

        2. It doesn’t, what does “limited lifetime warranty mean”? What is a lifetime according to Pergo? Answer an actual question instead of referring us elsewhere. I was on the verge of ordering Pergo and you, Laura, are turning me off but quick!

    10. The timercraft so called waterproof Pergo is a rsiky install…..if you look at their warranty guide it says for spills or pet accidents not sitting there for more than 30 minutes……if your dog pees on the floor overnight and it bubbles you are screwed and the warranty wont cover it…..be careful. I think im going to use smartcore pro instead to make sure no problems with pet accidents.

      1. Laura with Pergo

        Hi Dave, I’m Laura and I work for Pergo – there are two types of TimberCraft, one that is waterproof (called “TimberCraft with WetProtect”), and one that is not waterproof (just “TimberCraft”). TimberCraft with WetProtect, the waterproof version, has a limited lifetime warranty to resist damage from moisture due to wet mopping or household spills. Please feel free to check the TimberCraft with WetProtect warranty on the Pergo website. For the non-waterproof version, spills should be cleaned up promptly. I hope this helps clarify the difference between these two lines of flooring.

          1. Laura with Pergo

            Hi Arielle, there is not a specified time limit by which water needs to be cleaned up off our waterproof laminates (for our non-waterproof laminates, 30 minutes is the time limit given in the warranty). However, the warranties for our waterproof laminates do not cover damage from excessively wet maintenance, flooding or standing water. The flooring is warranted for resistance to damage due to occasional wet mopping and household splashes and spills. I hope this helps – thanks for your question!

    11. Listen—You CANNOT install (easily) following instructions without tapping block – it will take forever. I learned this the hard way. Purchase a tapping block, install long sides first, press down forcefully so that they “click” then tap (hammer) in so that the short sides connect. This will save you a ton of time.

    12. We have DIY installed Pergo Timbercraft 12mm Brookdale Hickory in two rooms. It is kind of a pain getting it to lineup right and you have to go slow. It gets a little easier after you figure it out. If it isn’t tapping in place easily, stop and realign the joint otherwise you’ll crush the locking edge beyond hope. I found that by inserting the locking tab of each new piece into the last one at about a 45-degree angle and tapping lightly across it with a rubber mallet they line up and lock together easier. The new piece won’t be completely flat to the floor until you tap it the rest of the way in with a tapping block and/or puller.

      We have had it in two rooms for 6 to 8 months and it’s holding up well so far, but it’s a slow process doing it yourself if it’s your first. So, we are paying somebody to finish the rest of the house. So far pretty happy though.

      Both rooms get pretty regular traffic, no dogs though (2 cats and a messy kid). I have dropped some miscellaneous hard or metal things on the floor that made me cringe, but it hasn’t seemed to damage it at all.

    13. I’ve purchased 1200 sq feet of Pergo Max Hickory From Lowe’s. I have installers with 20 years experience, and they say WTF! This stuff is total JUNK.

      The end joints don’t fit. Great price for a low income rental.

      1. Totally agree. Locking mechanism s…s…sTINKS if you know what I mean. Many are bowed by about 1/16, but that’s enough to throw it off. I will never ever ever buy Pergo anything again.

    14. I purchased pergo laminate flooring 1 year ago for my new home, thinking I was getting the best. The transition strips kept breaking. I ordered them three times. There was a little bit of a spill, I cleaned it up ASAP.. Still it bubbled… this was the worst decision I’ve ever made. I will never ever go back to Pergo, they will not honor any warranty. They sent out one person to review he said it was faulty… they sent another person out and he said there’s moisture? There’s no moisture… they will work to get out of their #Warranty any way they can and they just told me it’s just the way it is… too bad. A nightmare. This review also went on for months before they said “too bad, the way it is.” Bad pergo!!!

    15. The negative comments seem somewhat suspicious and almost not believable. I can only speak to the Pergo XP. I have installed 1300sq ft of Riverbend Oak and 950sq ft of Warm Grey Oak in two properties. I cut small pieces of each and soaked them in water for three days, just out of curiosity-no issues of swelling or delaminating. In addition I have two 60lb plus Labs and have seen zero wear or scratches in the past 20 months. I would advise to do your own testing before just accepting some of the reviews.

    16. I purchased Pergo flooring when it was first imported and sold only by Color Tile stores in our area. The floor I installed in my kitchen used a special Pergo glue. It has held up extremely well and still looks very good. I have no swelling or edge curling, even though a lot of liquids have been spilled on it. This floor was expensive, over $5.00 a foot when purchased in the early 90’s. Since then I have installed it in several other rooms. I do believe the Pergo you buy today may not be as good as the first Pergo I purchased. I think they have a price point to keep to so they can compete with all the other Pergo copycats some of which told me that laminates would never be accepted by the American consumer.

    17. Better off with anything else you can buy. I’ve installed a lot of different laminates and some of them were cheaper ones because that’s what other people wanted to pay. Never have I seen a laminate flooring that doesn’t stay when you snap it together. That’s the whole idea behind the flooring that you don’t have to nail or glue is when you snap the joints together it stays in. This doesn’t. It’s very frustrating when you have to get across the room and then realize that halfway across the room it’s coming forward on you and you have to tear everything up and redo it. Absolute garbage.

      1. I’m really sorry that I did not read your review before I purchased Pergo TimberCraft. The flooring itself looks very nice and my expectation was that installation would not be an issue as I have installed other laminate products without problems. It really should be illegal for Pergo to sell this junk as I consider it to be a fraud for them to state that this stuff snaps together. It does not and it does not stay. It is by far the worst flooring product for installation you can get.

    18. I have had Pergo Outlast for two years in the Auburn Scraped Oak. It’s beautiful and really doesn’t show dirt or smudges. If you drip water it is hard to find sometimes. This is due to the dark color and low sheen finish.

      I brought home around 25 samples and the ones I liked best, I smudged, dropped dirt and made footprints on to see how it would hold up. This one is amazing. It doesn’t scratch. In fact, I dripped paint on it and used a screwdriver and knife to scrape the stuff that dried into the texture. I used nail polish remover to get some off of the texture. It worked and you can’t even tell.

      The only damage is from a glass bowl that got knocked off and scratched the floor. It wasn’t noticeable but later my cat spilled water overnight on it and it swelled only in that spot. We have had spills left overnight before and never had any problems. We are shopping for the same flooring for our new house. We might even use the same color. (It does show dust.)

      1. Howard Kornblum

        Thank you for this review as I am about to order pergos outlast applewood color. I just love the texture and the finish and will be ordering a pallet…480sqft.

        Howard

    19. I had Pergo Maple installed in 201 it is beautiful. It is not as beautiful as it was when it was first installed. But it has held up nicely.

      My dishwasher overflowed on it and I used every towel in my house to mop up the water and make the floor dry quickly. No buckling or anything. This happened 2 times. I was sure it would warp but it did not.

      I still love the floor. It is a laminate, so I use laminate floor cleaner on it. I do not use wood cleaner on it. USE one LAMINATE cleaner. Even if you have a Swiffer use only Laminate cleaner on Laminate. If you do not you ruin the shine and dull the finish right off.

      I had a lab that slid through the kitchen and thought it was a slide, he loved it and it never ever showed a scratch. I have dropped tools, a hammer and pans on the floor and not a mark. If you drop glass dishes on the floor kiss them goodbye. They break but don’t scratch or cut the floor. I had Pergo Atlantic Maple installed in my upstairs 3 bedrooms 5 closets and a L shaped hallway in May of 2016. So far, it shines like a diamond and no chips or warps on any of it. Easy to clean. It does have a very high shine on it so it is slippery if you are wearing socks on it with no shoes on.

      I love the super light color. I bought it from a picture as there was no sample of it at the Lowes and was worried about the shine as we are over 70 and did not want to fall on it, but no problems so far. Super easy to dust mop and wet mop with Laminate floor cleaner. I spray it on and don’t have a lot of water on the floor that way.

      I would love to put it in my kitchen as it is so shiny but my old Pergo still is nice so can’t justify replacing it. I say use it but I would not put any laminate in a bathroom as I think it could be a problem if your wax ring or pipe would break and no one would be home at the time. I was retired so when my kitchen dishwasher overflowed I was right there to clean up the water. I would not use it in a room over concrete because it would be too cold and would need a lot of leveling of the concrete to make it level enough to lay it over.

      Laminate will not install well over floors that are unlevel. Thank heavens I do not have any squeaking floors due to the fact that we made sure all of the squeaks were taken care of when we removed the carpet before the installer installed the Pergo. If I were to use a Laminate I would only install Pergo.

    20. Terrible product! I am a diy and installed various types of laminate flooring in other homes that we have owned. Currently installing 22 boxes of Pergo Outlast Antique Cherry and it is advertised as “lock and click”…no way! The manufacturer’s written instructions and website videos were useless, the edges do not lock together. I had to develop my own 5 step process to install the floor, including special tapping blocks, temporary shins under flooring to get them to lock in etc. The base material is actually pressed cardboard! Junk… do not buy this product!

    21. I cannot find any reviews on Pergo timbercraft. Please!! Has any one had it down for a while? Any opinions about scratching, fading etc?

    22. Installed Pergo XP in two houses. Would not recommend to another customer, ever. Any water gets on it and seeps into the edges and you will have delamination problems. The edges will curl up. Your customers will not be happy when they spend 4k and have problems in two months – just because they spilled a glass of water on it, or ran a damp mop over it.

      Replacing one board is a serious pain. The really only true repair solution is to pull it all up. Absolutely do not install this in bathrooms or kitchen – beware of front door entrances too. Any moisture will ruin the flooring. It takes a lot of work to trim and cut this flooring to go around all the areas in a house. It is really about as durable as cheap particleboard furniture. You’ll regret doing all that work. Can’t believe they sell this cheap cardboard flooring without a class action lawsuit already. Lost lots of money on this.

      1. Vickie Helpingstine

        Guess we must be talking about a different product :😉, cuz we not only have had this in our bathroom for 3+ yrs & love it! But upon loving the bathroom, we did whole house & not one single issue yet. It’s been about a year, but we’re very careful – bought expensive area rugs and all – think the key is it’s only as good as the care you put into it. Saying you spill & wipe up just as soon as you see (then yes, you will have a mess). My dog peed on floor (sorry, she was in process of dying), I mean it was all over. I dove in there and got it cleaned, dried and used an oil on top after the cleaning. And it did excellent.

    23. I had Pergo installed in my house 27 years ago, and it is still good. I had a kid and two dogs. My kid used to roller blade in our living room and the dogs would skid on it all the time. My cleaning lady has mopped those floors for the past 15 years with a wet (but not dripping) mop. Over time, the corners and edges have become more prominent but not anything that would make the floor replaceable. The only time I had problems with my Pergo floors was during hurricane Katrina that ripped parts of my roof, and allowed some water to pool under the floor via a corner wall.

      I am changing the floors now because I am tired of the color and want to go for the gray shades. I hope the new Pergo floors are of the same quality as the original ones I got 27 years ago. If they are not, I will be mourning because I love laminate flooring. Nothing looks as clean in a modernistic and busy household.

    24. This article and review was so refreshingly helpful! It didn’t help me decide, but it gave me a lot more things to consider!

        1. George Pilvelis

          Installed miles of it, beautiful product, as a professional alot of these reviews in my opinion are due to inexperienced installer or sub floor issues, I do have issue with companies touting diy when to get the best satisfaction a professional is recommended

    25. I had 104 boxes of Pergo XP installed. 60 boxes for living room, family room and 2 hallways. About 6 months later another 44 boxes installed in bedrooms. My 93 year old mother was then required to use a walker and oxygen. Within a month of her using a rollator walker with rubber wheels she was seeing marks.

      I could not feel anything so I assumed they were scuffs and called Pergo for some help. I tried their suggestions with no luck and finally they sent out inspector. With a magnifying glass he says they are ‘micro abrasions’. Pergo then denied the claim saying scratches are not covered.

      They advertise with a Great Dane on their website which implies that it is durable. Yet when you read the warranty all it says is ‘trim pet nails frequently, replace metal and plastic wheels or casters with rubber, put felt or rubber pads under furniture, and put rugs by entry ways’. Well the rollator walker has rubber wheels! Their warranty is worthless and will never buy again. Their customer service is equally terrible.

    26. We’re thinking of installing laminate flooring, instead of wood. We have a yellow lab. It’s a busy household. We looked at many different brands and have narrowed it to Shaw Pinnacle Port in Sable Hickory, Pergo Outlast, and the Frontier by Eternity. Looking to see if there are any reviews about which floor is the better choice.

    27. JuIy, 2016 – purchased from Lowe’s, Pergo MAX Premier San Marco Oak Embossed Wood Plank Laminate Flooring ( MAX Premier) – featuring Premium PermaMax® wear layer with ScratchGuard Advanced surface protection for superior durability, scratch – and scuff-resistance. 12mm thickness for maximum stability and a natural wood-floor sound. AC 4 Rating – Limited lifetime warranty; installed by a professional installer who did a great job with it.

      It still looks beautiful in spite of infrequent cleaning with Microfiber-Chenille mop, don’t wax or buff (I am 82 years old and not a very good housekeeper). My visitors are in awe at the way my floor looks and commented that it makes my place look bigger than their unit (same floor area as mine).

      I have spilled liquid on it but cleaned up as quickly as possible and no damage done. I roll my desk chair casters back and forth on it while working on my computer at my desk and do not see any damage to my floor. I am very happy with my Pergo floor to date, July, 2018. Terry O’

    28. I am a professional flooring installer working exclusively for Lowes, and I only install floating floors. My opinion is worth what you paid for it, but here goes….

      Flooring is similar to anything else you buy. You’re not going to have the same experience buying a Kia as you would a Mercedes. And even then, some people have terrible experiences with more expensive brands, and vice versa. The thing to remember is generally a person who gets online and writes a review is generally the unhappy person. The people who are content with their new floors just don’t take the time to write reviews.

      Personally I would steer clear of ANY engineered hardwood product. The veneers are so thin, and they’re usually no way to fix dents or scratches. Laminate floors are great, if you get the right kind. The biggest factor that sets a laminate floor apart is a beveled edge. Non beveled products look cheaper and show moisture swelling far worse than beveled edge.
      That’s my 2 cents… Thanks for reading!

      1. Is the bevelled edge product from Pergo sealed in a different way? What makes it show moisture damage less?

        Thanks.

        1. I have a cottage on a river making it prone to dampness. I leave the heat on in the winter at a very low level. It can be as low as 7 C. ( 48 F ) in the winter when I arrive. Can I put down laminate flooring in this situation?

      2. Seth- dude- what kind would YOU recommend then? I would appreciate your input. 3 kids, 1 husband, & 1 lab. Thanks!

      3. Yes, what brand would you recommend? I have my grandma my husband a toddler, 4 dogs, 2 cats all in my house. 2 of the dogs frequently pee on the floor because grandma doesn’t let them out like she should. Looking at new flooring and need something that will actually stand up to life. We wear our shoes in the house too.

    29. Pergo TimberCraft Wet Protect is a great looking floor. We just finished up about 2500 sq ft of it. Cons when installing: edges are sharp, we were having issues with mil thickness being inconsistent. We also noticed at the headjoints where the boards tap together on the short end were not meeting up correctly. This wasn’t everywhere but did have some issues. The floor also has a creak effect. We were sure to clean, sweep and vacuum. This floor also scratches easy. I’m excited to see how everything holds up. I wouldn’t recommend this to new customers. I hope this helps!

      1. Can you exchange the board of a different thickness? Thanks…considering for our kitchen and dining room. gail

    30. Mary Linn Courtney

      I’m ready to purchase the Pergo Timbercraft from Lowes. But am a bit afraid after this article. It looks beautiful & I have my quote… readying to set up their install, yet now may do more research on the Timbercraft product.

    31. Elizabeth Stephens

      We had Pergo Outlast installed in our home a year ago. I have two German Shepherds. After a year I have to say this stuff is bullet proof. We live in Oregon where it rains alot, so the dogs can get pretty rowdy after being couped up. The floors do not show any scratches from them tearing around. The wet they track in mops up easily. I’m glad we did not try to install it ourselves. The floor is beautiful and durable. We love it!

      1. Hi Elizabeth, which flooring color did you go with? I was in Lowe’s today looking at the Outlast. I have a German Shepherd and I’m terribly worried about scratches but so far so good for you?

    32. Crystal D Brunson

      I see no mention of Pergo’s waterproof flooring on this website but they have a product called Timbercraft that they are marketing as “waterproof laminate”.

      1. I understand that this is a brand new line of flooring. Perhaps that’s why it is not mentioned . When I checked at Lowes 2 weeks ago, they were not selling it yet. Hopefully it is there now as I am interested in it!

    33. After calling my friend in Ohio that had put Pergo down about 15 yrs ago and her saying she still loved it and it look great, we decided to install it here. We bought it all and had it in the living room, which they said to do, for a few days before installing it. My husband broke his hip and here were all these boxes, I called and ask my brother-in- law to cut it and I would install it ( to which he and my husband both kinda laughed). I watched all the video’s I could to learn and with my brother-in-laws help I installed it. The click and lock that it does is really easy. That was about 7 yrs ago and it is still as beautiful and I love the easy care. If you are going to DIY, take the trim off or get the oscillating tool which I used. If I could do this at 65 then anyone can do it.

    34. I’ve had bad Pergo and I’ve had fantastic Pergo. The stuff we put down was defective and Pergo made good on the warranty by installing their most durable line at the time (12 years ago). We have a very high traffic home, pets, kids, you name it and we are not careful. That stuff was like armor! I have to replace it due to a major flood. Of course, I want an equally durable product, so I’ve been reading every review I can find. Excluding the cheapest and unheard of brands, it doesn’t appear that price is a reliable indicator at all. Consumer reports gives Pergo Outlast a 96 and nothing else comes close. I’d lay my bets on the Outlast BUT, I really like the look of the Timbercraft wet project Brier Creek Oak. It’s 12mm thick and has a 10 light commercial warranty, but it’s so new, there are NO reviews. None. My contractor had me looking at more expensive brands, but they all had terrible reviews. What to do… what to do?

      1. Happy to read your review. We are finishing our basement and leaning towards pergo timbercraft plus wet protect. Did youy end up using it? If so, what do you think of it so far?
        Congrats installing it yourself!!!

      2. What did you go with? I read the CR also. And have read reviews on Mannington, Shaw etc… And a product of Abbey, manufactured by CSF.

      3. Did you go with Pergo Timbercraft Brier Creek Oak? I ordered 90 boxes and it’s pending pickup and install. There are very few pictures online other than Pergo’s photos. I’m trying to see photos from consumers who have the product installed in their home.

    35. Pergo XP Asheville Hickory is a beautiful floor. So far it has been a pain to install. If you look at the end joints you wonder how they could possibly fit together. We have put down 4 boxes and I would love to return the stuff, and may do just that.

    Leave a Comment

    Your email address will not be published.